We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tiny gem of a hotel tucked between town and playa ropa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Guadalupe Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Ranked #45 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A tiny gem of a hotel tucked between town and playa ropa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Guadalupe this past week. The staff, the setting, and the privacy of this property are amazing. I think we stayed in the least-fancy of the rooms - Maria de Lourdes - but the closest to the sea. The view from our room and our cozy private terrace was spectacular. A great personal terrace - though not all that private - provided our own space to be in the sun. And as there are only three rooms at the hotel, we had the shared pool to ourselves every afternoon, where we could look down on the bay and the town at sunset.

We spent our days walking down to Playa La Ropa (5 min), or into town for excursions and food (15 min). Spent the evenings drinking one of the superb margaritas from upstairs and watching the sun set from our terrace or alone from the shared pool.

My only feedback for improvement would be on breakfast (a bit of variation, especially on the types of fruit each day would be nice, though the coffee is excellent) and on the amenities in the rooms. The mattress, linens, towels, and toiletries are not up to par with the cost of the rooms or the expectation for a true five-star experience. And we did encounter some initial resistance to help us find a resource for snorkeling, or other daytime activities, so a computer was nice to do research on our own. Wireless in the rooms would be another easy and appreciated touch.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

My wife and I stayed a Villa Guadalupe for our honeymoon. We came across their website while looking for a boutique hotel in Zihuatanejo. It turned out to be the perfect place for us. It was so wonderful that we extended our stay to 10 days. August was a great month to go. With the exception of two days, we had the entire villa to ourselves. The tourists from the area were largely Mexican, particularly families because it was the week before school resumed. We saw very few foreign tourists and we enjoyed that.

The Staff:
The staff are by far the greatest asset to this hotel. We have never before had such knowledgeable, attentive and caring staff. Daniel, the hotel manager, went above and beyond his duties to ensure that we had the best experience possible. At one point, I got really sick and Daniel had some of the staff go to a supermarket to get us gatorade. He even went so far as to lend us his personal DVD player and some dvd's for a few days because the satellite TV was down. I doubt most hotel managers would do that for their guests.

The Room:
We stayed in the Lilia Candelaria suite, the biggest of the three suites. The room was breathtaking. When we first arrived, there were flower petals on the bed and table. The local art was beautiful. The terrace looked out over the bay and was very private. Butterflies would often visit us. We would sleep with only the screen doors closed so we could feel the breeze and hear the waves crashing on the rocks below. The washroom area was as big as the bedroom, with giant windows and a large dressing area. There's a very spacious shower with two showerheads as well. Another unique feature was the water feature in the washroom that was actually a part of the hillside. A grate was open to the sky so when it rained, it would create a mini waterfall in our room.

The Hotel:
The hotel is very beautiful with unique local art and architecture. There's a small but beautiful infinity pool that overlooks the bay. We would have breakfast every morning on that same terrace. The food was wonderful consisting of delicious fresh fruit, baked goods and yogurt with granola. On our first day we ordered a couples massage that was also on that terrace. If we had to pick one thing that we liked least, it was the quality of the massages.

The Location:
Villa Guadalupe is in a fantastic location. It's only a 10 minute walk to downtown and is only 5 minutes to Playa La Ropa and probably about 8 minutes to Playa La Madera.

Things to Do:
We had wonderful private meals at Espuma, located above the hotel, and its sister restaurant up the hill, Tentaciones. Both offered breathtaking sunset views and wonderful fusion fare. Try La Sirena Gorda by the dock for some wonderful fish soup and fish tacos. Definitely take a day trip to Las Gatas. It's only a short and inexpensive ferry ride away. Along Playa La Ropa, you can rent a hanging daybed for the day. It also allows you to make use of their pools and ping pong table. On Sundays there's a cultural festival in the town's main square with food vendors, performances, games and all sorts of stuff. There is also a large market where you can shop for a variety of things. We rented boogie boards to ride some waves at Playa La Ropa. We wanted to go parasailing but the conditions were too windy.

Villa Guadalupe had an agreement with another hotel, Las Palmas, on the coast, where we spent a night. That hotel was also beautiful and secluded with great service. We couldn't swim in the ocean because the tide was too strong but we did bike into a small town, where we had the best red snapper of our trip at a restaurant on the beach.

Conclusion:
Without a doubt, on of the best vacations we've ever been on. An ideal location for a honeymoon if you want to relax with your honey in a private place surrounded by beauty and an exceptional staff. Thanks to Daniel and the entire staff for giving us the most incredible honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

I waited 15 year, since the Shawshank Redemption profiled Zihuatanejo, to get there. Picked Villa Guadelupe from Trip Advisor comments, website, and friendliness of reservations staff. Was blown away. I can't say enough about the staff and their hospitality. Every wish of ours came true. Our room, the gem of the villa, was to die for - spacious, spotless, romantic, perfect. I spent hours during the day and night just lounging on the yellow cushioned chaise lounges on our terrace staring out at the bay. Breakfast coffee early in the morning was served on a terrace from which we watched the fishing fleet travel out to sea. After long and luxurious days at the beach or wandering the town, we would plunge into the infinity pool and stare at the surf. Espuma, the Latin Fusion restaurant was romantic and a treat for one night of our stay. I will go back there because I left a piece of my heart there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EveRuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Our stay in Villa Guadalupe was the first time in México. Friends have been in this beautiful cozy place and recomended to us.
They was short in their comments. This place is...fantastic!
Small and quiet property, intimate, enchanted decoration...ideal for couples in love!!
Our suite faces the ocean plenty!
The staff is friendly and always in care of us. Sofy, made our breakfast every morning..yummm! and refreshing the room..she is great..Daniel and all the other folks were so helpful!!
We are thinking in come for our anniversary!!

Dave and Sara.

We reccomend seriously

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank batman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

My wife and I traveled to Zihuatanejo for our honeymoon. We chose to stay at the Villa Guadalupe Hotel for a few reasons and thanks to its Tripadvisor comments. At first we were looking for a small boutique hotel.
With just three rooms Villa Guadalupe sounded like the ideal retreat. We also wanted to come and go as we pleased and the location was also important for us. From villa Guadalupe Playa la Ropa was no more than a five minutes walk. And it would take us about ten to fifteen minutes to walk into town.
The view from the hotel is also very nice. It faces Zihuatanejo bay's entrance atop a rocky point in the middle of the bay. It is a great observation point.
Of course we were also looking for a special place for our very special holiday we wanted to be sure to get a one in a lifetime experience. Villa Guadalupe was designed in a very local style with a great attention to details. Our Lilia Candelaria suite was amazing. It is really spacious has a private terrace for sunbathing and an incredible bathroom. We never expected to have such a large room. The suite is made in a very special way so one does not really feel being inside. Thanks to large windows and sliding doors it was more like sharing a moment with the Pacific Ocean and the fauna and flora from the bay.
Because of where it is built this hotel is divided in several levels. At the very bottom and closest to the sea are a couple of suites. Then the main area with a large terrace adjacent to the infinity pool is just above them. We had breakfast there every morning. It was so nice right after waking up to be able to enjoy your first meal of the day looking at the waves trying to see fishes or sea turtles. Going up there is another suite and on top of everything stands the restaurant Espuma.
It is a fusion restaurant designed in a more modern style with local influence. It gives the impression of being on a deck floating above the bay. The cuisine there is really good. We were surprised by the kind of experience the chef has and his ability to prepare dishes with very different flavors from far away places.
Our stay was really complete also thanks to the staff from Villa Guadalupe. We were overwhelmed by their kindness. They made us feel at home and were there when we needed a piece of advice. Our honeymoon was like a dream come true.

We felt very special while we were in Villa Guadalupe. This small hotel is nothing like a big resort. It offers an authentic charm from the region. It was even better than we thought it could be. It is perfect for couples. It could suit a larger party or a family if they booked the whole place.

I will also had Villa Guadalupe has a sister hotel just a couple of minutes away with a very good restaurant as well. It is set higher on the hillside. Also has a very interesting architecture and is a boutique hotel. We had dinner there a couple of times or we would just walk up for cocktails. The staff and chef are in the same vein as in Villa Guadalupe.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMPKNONO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stay in Zihua every year (this was our 9th trip and we have stayed at Villa Guadalupe for the last 4 years). The location is almost unbeatable. One of my favorite places in the world is in the corner of the infinity pool watching the bay with the crashing surf below. My favorite time of day is breakfast on the terrace. The service has always been great but especially this last year with Daniel and his team who were fantastic and the breakfast service is exceptional. This year they have built the new restaurant Espuma above the rooms. We were worried about possible noise but found nothing more than the ambient music from the restaurant floating down to us. (The restaurant was fabulous, by the way.) Some folks might not be able to handle the many stairs and the 10 minute walk down to the beach, but it's not really a problem. This year I shot a little video showcasing the new restaurant and views. You can find the video on YouTube by searching for "Villa Guadalupe Surprise". Here's the direct link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dnbwuFHU-uo

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZihuaMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We carefully selected a special place for our 10 year anniversary and Tentaciones delivered the rest. Every aspect of this hotel is impressive, and the hotel staff took extraordinary care to ensure our every want and need was met.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsrainingoutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Luz
Villa Luz
#34 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#18 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#30 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#36 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#10 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Guadalupe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Guadalupe Hotel

Property: Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Lote 100-B, Col. La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40894, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Guadalupe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this small cozy fishing village of Zihuatanejo is where you´ll find our quiet but unique panoramic hotel perched exactly above Zihuatanejo cliffs completly surrounded by the Mexican Pacific Ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Villa Guadalupe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing