We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cinco Sentidos
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at Cinco Sentidos for 3 nights at the beginning of April. We had high expectations due to the multiple good reviews about this place. We had booked the grand suite (suite #5). Upon arrival (by car), we were immediately greeted by the staff who helped us park the car in the garage and take our luggage to the room (not sure why one of the reviewers had to walk with their luggage up the stairs but this service seemed to be standard). Stairs are by no means an issue; takes you less than a minute to get to the Grand Suite.

The place is simply amazing, well maintained from entrance, garden, swimming pool, terraces, etc. The largest surprise was our suite. Its an open air suite with stunning view over the bay (5 min walk) and has a private plunge pool. We are active travelers and have seen many boutique hotels around the world in Asia, Europe and Americas, but this was definitely one of the best suites we have ever stayed.

Araceli, the owner speaks fluent English and shows she has put her soul into the design and atmosphere of Cinco Sentidos. She was very friendly, gracious and her knowledge about Zihuatanejo is extensive which was very helpful picking places to visit and eat.

I typically don't leave reviews on Tripadvisor, but in this case Araceli and her husband deserve (another) 5 star rating and we hope many people have the chance to come and visit them at their special place in Zihuatanejo.

Room Tip: Grand Suite (#5). The other rooms looked very good too, but if available and you can afford the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurensvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed in the Grand Suite which affords more privacy and a better view outlook than the other rooms. The private plunge pool was probably the most enjoyable part of the suite, however, this hotel is situated within a residential neighborhood which means you also get some road noise, barking dogs, along with backyard views of the immediate neighborhood.

The breakfast was delightfully presented but sometimes we felt awkward until conversations were started between other guests at nearby tables. One should note that to get to the breakfast area, you have to use about 80 stairsteps to and from the suite. On a nice, cool day this is fine; on a hot day, you will work up a sweat getting back to your room. Stair steps to the suite from the entry exceeds 100 -- with luggage, you will remember this part of your vacation!

Air conditioning is only in the bedroom area, not the remainder of the suite. This was not an issue with us as it was not very hot during our stay. The suite is decorated tastefully and the nighttime lighting is thoughtfully romantic.

It is a hilly trek to the beach and to restaurants from the hotel. We discovered our favorite restaurant to be El Suspiro located at Pacifica Grand, a short taxi ride up the street from Cinco with great food, service, and a most enjoyable view of the bay and mountains.

Zihua is a delightful place to vacation -- safe and culturally authentic with friendly locals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobber-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed in room #4. Beautiful, very private with air conditioning, a king size bed,living room with wrap around couch and a bath room with a separate toilet.The deck has a palapa roof,great plunge pool with a beautiful view of Zihuatanejo Bay.There is a main pool with a great covered swing bed,and a small table with under water seats for you to sit enjoy the margaritas. Breakfast which is included with the room cost & is amazing.It filled us for most of the day.All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful.Just a five minute walk to the beach.The town is a short cab ride away,or for the energetic a 30 minute walk.We made friends with Jose one of the cabbies who took very good care of us.He gave us his phone # (044)755-113-00-32 and we just called him to pick us up where ever we were and he came and picked us up night or day.He also gave us his email which we used the day before we lef,t asking him to pick us up at the hotel and take us to the airport.He is very reliable.This was the best two week vacation we have ever had and will return again in a flash.W&W

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A1tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is one of the most relaxing, beautiful hotels we've ever stayed in (and certainly the best small hotel). We stay in very good hotels when we travel, several times a year out of the US. Araceli, the owner, was gracious, fun, knowledgeable about places to see and eat, and extremely helpful when we had to deal with the rental car company after our car had a flat tire. She and her attentive, friendly staff went out of the way to make us feel welcome. Our room was lovely, with interesting art and canopy over our bed, balcony with infinity pool, comfortable lounge chairs and views of the bay. Looking at the current website, it's not clear that there is a also a much larger community pool, with a two person futon hanging just above the water. Bliss! Also, the breakfasts are sensational, both delicious and beautifully presented. Thank you and all your staff ...we're still relaxed having been home for two weeks!
At the risk of our never being able to stay here again due to the quality/reasonable price. Yes, the hotel is three blocks from the beach, and two of them are reasonably steep, but my wife and I are in our mid-60's, not in the best shape, but we walked down to the beach and back up to the hotel several evenings. It was fun! And there are many taxis--just off the La Playa beach with its beautiful sunsets and delicious margaritas--waiting to take you the short trip up to the hotel. There are first class restaurants close to the hotel and several reasonably priced featuring fresh sea food on the beach: dinner with your feet in the sand. Better Ideas? J and L San Francisco

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwfrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said? But even after reading all that has been written we were quite unprepared for the reality...the stunning views, the wonderful background sound of the waves, the peace and sense of tranquility and the wonderful standard of the rooms and grounds.

Spending two weeks in one place was a new experience for us and we were slightly apprehensive that we would be bored but, at Cinco Sentidos, we discovered that it was perfectly possible to spend most of the day sitting in the shade on our terrace, dipping in and out of our plunge pool and enjoying it all enormously.

Araceli was on hand to answer our questions, point out shortcuts to walk into town, direct us to the bus station and to the supermarket where we bought drinks and snacks to store in the generous fridge space in the room. She also oversees the fabulous breakfasts served on the terrace with equally fabulous views over the bay and the opportunity to meet and talk with the other guests. We enjoyed our walks into town (either getting a taxi or a bus back - an interesting experience), our water taxi to Los Gatos although it is possible to walk there over a fairly rocky path from Playa La Ropa, and our visit by bus to Ixtapa - if only to make us glad that we were staying in Zihaut at Cinco Sentidos and not in one of the many large hotels there.

Cinco Sentidos far exceeded our expectations and our thanks go to Anna Maria, Salvador, Moses and Judith who helped to achieve this, but mainly to Araceli who, in spite of her worries about Heiko, remained an impeccable hostess.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cilgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Araceli runs a wonderful hotel. We absolutely adored it. She was extremely helpful and kind. Her staff, especially the maid and the groundskeeper are fantastic workers and even better people. Araceli speaks great English. The other 2 workers don't but they will do everything they can to help out. The breakfasts were delicious and very filling. My wife and I often didn't eat again until 2 or 3. You can take the bus I to Zihua for 6.5 pesos. People have complained about the steep hills to climb up and they are certainly there. We're in our mid-20s but the hills were fine for us. Plus it allowed us to get exercise while on vacation. While staying there, definitely go to La Bocana. The Pozole and terrific, as well as the chicken breast and tostadas. We would love to come back soon and we definitely refer everyone to Araceli.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was our 8th trip to Zihuat, but our first stay at Cinco Sentidos. We have stayed at 3 other hotels in Zihuat, and Cinco was by far the best place to stay. We stayed in the Suite (#5) So much fun to have the huge plunge pool to relax in, day or night. The staff was first rate, always friendly and helpful. Our breakfast's were amazing, the fruit amazing....need i say more??? We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#22 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
145 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Carolina Hotel
Villa Carolina Hotel
#26 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Don Francisco
Hotel Casa Don Francisco
#42 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa Luz
La Villa Luz
#30 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cinco Sentidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cinco Sentidos

Address: Calle 8 | Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40895, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: £148 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside by la Ropa beach overlooking the very center of Zihuatanejo bay, Cinco Sentidos is a small boutique hotel ideal for those seeking tranquility. The private terraces of the suites feature infinity mini-pools, perfect for soaking up the spectacular vista. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cinco Sentidos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinco Sentidos Hotel
Cinco Sentidos Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing