We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical enchanting place with wonderful hosts!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Cinco Sentidos
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Magical enchanting place with wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I have stayed at many wonderful places throughout our short but industrious travels. . .and we have never had such a wonderful experience as the one we had here!..... just read the TA reviews .. .you cannot find one bad review (usually you find some common theme but not here!)

We came during off-season and had the whole place to ourselves and in fact where upgraded to the top suite!

If you want to relax and re-connect come here . .. this place is for couples or honeymooners.. . ..we stayed here for a week and did not want to leave.

The place, public spaces, and rooms are meticulously maintained and the views and sunsets are to die for!

The owners/hosts of Cinco Sentidos, Araceli & Heiko, are true "hosts" as they welcome you with their wonderfully big arms!

You have a wonderful creative breakfast every morning and there always is the excitement of what beautiful creation Heiko will create in the AM.

You can also enjoy the wonderful hummingbird feeder and the infinity pool or take a short walk to the nearby beach.

The only "con" and not really big deal is there is no food available after the breakfast but you can either go to the nearby restaurants or take a cab to the nearest supermarket and stock up on food/snacks/drinks as your host encourage it and are ok with you bringing in stuff (we did both in terms of going to nearby restaurants and buying food at the supermarket) and found it wasnt a big deal


We cant wait till we return again as we know we will return. .. . this was an unbelievable experience . .. very tranquil and a beautiful way to "re-charge" our batteries in the most beautiful setting with wonderful hosts. Thank you very much Araceli and Heiko!


Sincerely,
Carlos and Mary

Room Tip: Take cab to nearby supermarket as we walked there and although it is walkable my knowledge in excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    8
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
204
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here for my wife's 50th birthday and I can't say enough good things. The views are amazing and the food they make for breakfast is beautiful and delicious. I give it my highest recommendation

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for a week and had a most relaxing, peaceful and thoroughly enjoyable time here. The place itself and the views are beautiful. I thought since we weren't right next to the ocean, we wouldn't be able to hear it, but the sound travels upward and adds to the peacefulness of the place. You are surrounded by beauty, butterfly and hummingbirds. The owners and hosts of Cinco Sentidos are the best you could hope to find. Gracious, beautiful, generous, accommodating...The rooms are all well appointed. We did switch from the top floor #5 to just underneath it, room #4. Being from Arizona we are used to a/c and the top floor has it only in the bedroom. When we arrived we were greeted immediately, checked in, and provided with some tasty chips and guacamole. We didn't have to worry about drinking water because bottled water was provided to us every day. In addition, we had a different gourmet breakfast every morning. The dishes were incredible to look at as well as to eat. You are not in the middle of town, so the atmosphere is quiet and relaxing, even by the beach. The beach is a short but steep walk, so we got our exercise every day as well. Plenty of restaurants to walk to or take a quick cab ride to. We used our private pool on our balcony as well as the large infinity pool. We would like to think that we made some good friends in our hosts as well. Thank you so much for such a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica_Cloud_Burgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I spent several nights here in the Grand Suite. What a beautiful place. We loved the personal infinity pool on our terrace and we enjoyed our complete privacy. The air-conditioned bedroom was very comfortable and we enjoyed the outdoor living area. Our host, the owner, was perfect: instantly available if needed, but completely unobtrusive. We loved everything!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJW2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you're looking for a hotel in Zihuatanejo, this property should be at the top of your list. My wife and I stayed at Cinco Sentidos for seven nights late July-early August. This was our first trip to Mexico and we chose this hotel based on the spectacular pictures and stellar reviews. We were not disappointed on either account!

From the moment of our arrival, we were greeted by staff to help us with our luggage and the owner, Araceli, gave us a tour of the property and our suite. Our room (Suite #3) featured adjustable air conditioning, a king bed, a sitting area, a large bathroom/shower/closet, and a private deck complete with lounge chairs, hammock, and our own plunge pool, all overlooking Zihuatanejo Bay! Steps from our door we could access a larger infinity pool and patio. The room was clean/comfortable and Araceli even stocked the mini-fridge with several complimentary beers, sodas, and an appetizer plate to welcome us on our first day! Throughout our stay, we used the hotel as a clean and relaxing "home base" from which to launch day trips in the area - exploring the town of Zihuatanejo, Ixtapa Island, a guided tour of the countryside with awesome tour guide Mauricio (highly recommended), snorkling, Playa Los Gatos, etc.

Breakfasts at Cinco Sentidos were a particularly enjoyable and memorable aspect of our trip. Every morning, Heiko (owner/chef), prepared a small coffee service for us to start the morning on our private deck. After that, we'd make our way to the patio and lingo over the best breakfasts I've ever enjoyed. Breakfasts would start with a fruit course complete with a variety of locally grown fruits, juice, yogurt, homemade granola, toast, jam, pastries, and (more) coffee. Araceli would serve us with expert professionalism - explaining each item on our plate and then hanging back to allow us to enjoy. Whenever we had a need or a question, Araceli would be there with a funny story or expert advice. Following the fruit course, Heiko would prepare a gourmet main dish that changed every day. Particularly memorable breakfasts included: breakfast tacos with shrimp, fluffy pancakes with homemade fruit syrup, perfectly seasoned eggs and beef hash with fresh tortillas, huevos rancheros, etc. We savored every bite and were usually didn't need to eat again until early evening. These delicious meals helped us get every day of our vacation off to a luxurious and relaxing start.

We wanted a hotel that added to and enhanced our vacation and Cinco Sentidos exceeded our expectations. Araceli's professionalism and Heiko's quirky humor and exceptional cooking combined to make sure our every need was met. The small size of this property and the jungle hillside location add great value to the experience - the pool and patio are literally steps from your door, there are funny little geckos scampering about, hummingbirds constantly hover around the feeder, and the grounds are beautifully maintained/manicured. Playa la Ropa beach is a short (albeit hilly) walk from the front door and town is a short cab ride away. Zihuatanejo is a beautiful, special place and we are extremely happy we chose Cinco Sentidos to help us get the most out of our vacation.

Room Tip: We loved Suite #3 and would gladly stay there again for its combination of vicinity (to the pool) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TODD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

You must must must go here! It is simply heaven!
We went in June for a romantic and relaxing getaway. It was so perfect words cannot describe.
It's only 5 rooms, but they are huge beautiful suites. The verandas have cool plunge pools that were perfect for those hot days. We stayed in room #3. We actually were the only ones at the hotel that week (june is off season since its so hot, but we thought it was perfect). since we were the only ones, they offered us the grand suite at the same price. we wouldve jumped at it, but because the whole suite is outside except the bedroom, we found it too hot so we went with suite #3. it was perfect!! we thought it was better than #4. the inside is bigger. we also requested a hammock be put on the veranda and they were so obliging. The maid, Judith, was so sweet and left wonderful flower creations on our bed everyday. Araceli is the quintessential hostess and Haiko is an amazing chef! We were daily awed by his food! The beach is just a little walk down a hill but totally fine. Coming back uphill on a hot afternoon makes you count the steps to your plunge pool :)
Take mosquito repellant if you're prone to getting bitten. Theres wifi, but Its very slow. Take a cab to the grocery store and get snacks and drinks. the little fridge is big enough. The hanging bed over the pool is so wonderful!
We stayed here 8 days and each day was better than the previous. I was so sad to leave.

Room Tip: We loved suite #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDgirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We spent 11 nights in the Grand Suite and 1 night in Room #4 at the end of April. We extended our stay at the last minute and the Grand Suite was already booked for our final night but we ended up liking being able to try out another room.

We had our wedding at another hotel in Zihua and decided to splurge on the Grand Suite for our honeymoon...and we were not disappointed! We arrived tired and hungover Sunday afternoon. As we got out of our cab, the front door was opened and we were greeted by Araceli, the owner. She didn't have us carry a thing up the stairs - not even my purse. While she gave us a brief tour of the grounds and our room, Daniel quickly and efficiently brought up all of our bags - 6 to be exact plus my crumpled wedding dress and flowers from the wedding. We were so thankful for the drinks and snacks left in our fridge. That coupled with our dip in the plunge pool and our hangovers magically started to disappear.

Everything other reviewers have said about this hotel is true and the view is incredible. However, I don't think you can ever look at enough pictures to get the true feel until you walk inside the front door to this small, hillside paradise. You are instantly smiling, happy and relaxed. The grounds are lush and beautifully manicured. The hotel is charming with unique touches throughout - I personally loved the swinging bed over the pool. We spent most of our time in our room when we were at the hotel b/c our plunge pool was quite large, my husband loved laying in the hammock for hours and when we got a little hot, we cooled off with the bedroom A/C. We loved the feel of the open room concept - it was slightly like staying in a really nice tree fort. Room #4 was beautiful also and we would recommend it if the Grand Suite is not in your budget.

Araceli has a knack for top notch service - she just gets how much or how little to chat with you, her presence is felt and she is always available but yet she never is overly talkative or in your space. She has also trained her staff well from cleaning your room during breakfast, to carrying your groceries unpacking them for you, to always checking if you need a cab when you're leaving the hotel. We needed laundry done during our stay and were prepared to lug it into town. Araceli took care of it for us and had it back the next morning all neatly folded. I loved Judith's daily flower creations on the bed. It was all of those little touches that really made Cinco Sentidos stand out.

We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast each morning and usually got up eager to see what would be served. The presentation was fun and beautiful and the food always one of our favorite meals of every day. Even when we got tired of Mexican food towards the end of our trip, we always looked forward to breakfast. We especially enjoyed the fresh juices, shrimp tacos, green chile enchiladas and the local meal (can't remember the name - pork in sauce - ask for it).

We weren't sure how we'd feel about staying in one hotel for almost 2 weeks and if we'd get bored but we really enjoyed not feeling guilty when we spent the day lounging around in our room reading, napping and dipping in the plunge pool. It was decadent and perfect for a honeymoon.

Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better experience and are already planning our return trip - hopefully next year. If you're considering Cinco Sentidos, just do it. You will not regret your decision. Araceli, Daniel and Judith - thank you for taking such good care of us and for making our stay so very special. We couldn't have been happier. -Scott and Brittany

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#21 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Cuitlateca
Casa Cuitlateca
#25 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
#46 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#37 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#60 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cinco Sentidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cinco Sentidos

Property: Hotel Cinco Sentidos
Address: Calle 8 | Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40895, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside by la Ropa beach overlooking the very center of Zihuatanejo bay, Cinco Sentidos is a small boutique hotel ideal for those seeking tranquility. The private terraces of the suites feature infinity mini-pools, perfect for soaking up the spectacular vista. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cinco Sentidos Hotel
Cinco Sentidos Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing