We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Courtyard”
Review of Hotel Don Bruno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Don Bruno
Calgary
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Courtyard”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

First, this place should be listed on the Angangueo page. We almost didn't find it until my friend noticed it on a site promoting the monarch butterflies.

We knew in advance that it could be cold in the rooms, so we paid extra for a room with a fireplace. We had to climb the stairs to the fourth floor, but it was worth it. We had a small heater as well as the fireplace and were toasty warm. A man came each evening to start the fire.

The menu in the restaurant is limited but tasty, and the staff were welcoming. My friend fell in love with the cinnamon-flavored coffee. (It was her first experience with this delicious drink.)

We had arranged through the hotel ahead of time for a driver to pick us at the Toluca airport, drive us to both the hotel and butterfly sanctuary, and to return us to the airport. It was a bit pricey but saved us a night in a hotel. We paid him separately and also paid the highway tolls.

Very few of the people we dealt with, including the driver, the hotel staff, and our butterfly guide, spoke English, so my Spanish got a good workout.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aquamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

There are about five other hotels/motels surrounding Hotel Don Bruno. This is by far the nicest and safest looking one. The hotel has a restaurant on site which is very convenient, although we didn't actually eat there. We instead walked up the street and found a nice little family owned restaurant with great value for what you pay. The room was spacious and clean. The sheets were thin but we had an extra bed in the room and could have pulled the blankets off to keep warmer. We didn't need them, however, because we paid about $10 more to have a fireplace. It comes with a bushel of wood that lasted us about 3 hours. The room got more than toasty and we were fine for the rest of the night but if you need more, you can buy more wood by the bunch for $5. The staff barely spoke English but they were very accommodating and made a great effort to communicate. We were nervous about this location because we read a few very bad reviews but ended up being pleasantly surprised. In stark contrast from another reviewer that had no hot water, we had the hottest water of all the hotels we stayed at, including a high end Holiday Inn in Mexico city. Getting a taxi to El Rosario was a little complicated because you then had to call one to pick you up again. For a few dollars more than a regular two way fare, the hotel arranged for one of their employees to take us to the butterfly sanctuary and wait for us until we were done. In comparison to the cheap prices for everything else in Mexico, the hotel was expensive but it's reasonable for what we would pay back home. We would stay here again. Getting out of this safe and charming town is easy as buses are going to Zitacuaro about every 30 minutes or so. They take you to the main station there where you can purchase tickets to get to Mexico City or wherever else you need to go. The buses stop in front of the hotel which saved us a taxi up to the main station in town.

If you've come to see the butterflies, go at around 2. By then they will have warmed up and you will have the full experience of being surrounded by them. We also went to Sierra Chincua at about 11am and were very disappointed because the butterflies are still huddles in pods.

Room Tip: We recommend a room with a fireplace as the nights get cold, otherwise ask for extra blankets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

This place was very underwhelming. We planned to stay at a different place, but it was recommended by the previous B&B owner we stayed with. The hotel and courtyard are well kept at first sight, however, we found our room to be freezing and there was no heating. Since we were the only guests at the hotel, there was no hot water unless we specifically asked them (each day) to turn it on. Very inconvenient. For 650 pesos a night it was very overpriced except for two amenities: fast Internet (at night) and safe parking.

I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedamame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Yes, the rooms can be cold, but we just got a room with a chimney, enjoyed the open fire and then went to sleep under some extra layers of blankets. The hotel is very very pretty with an amazing garden filled with clementine trees and cala lilies. The restaurant is wonderful, the staff sooooo sweet and attentive (if you don't see them when you arrive, just yell and they will hear you).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I would reccomend that people do not stay here. Rooms are very cold, the staff is unfriendly, it seems they don't want you to stay there, no hot water! you have to wait about an hour and you only get warm almost cold water.

They also offer shuttle service to the butterflies sanctuary for a high price compared to others you could get in Angangueo or in a nearby town called Ocampo. In Angangueo there is nothing to do and theres no places to eat (except a small tacos stand).

The room rates are in average $100 USD, very expensive! I booked a room with a fireplace, but although the room was freezing cold, the fireplace was lit just after 8:30 p.m. and only for a couple of hours, cus the wood is not enough.

To visit the butterflies the best option (i guess) is to get a room in Tlalpujahua, 40 minutes (35 km) from Angangueo

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RubenPichardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Central Mexico and Gulf Coast hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed here in Jan 2012. Similar to the other reviews I would reccomend that people do not stay here, We had no hot water, when I say no hot water nothing came out of the tap. the rooms smelt fusty and there was mould on the walls. The room had clearly not been cleaned to any standard for a period of time and even a decent vacuum of the carpet would have helped. The sheets and towels were dirty and we asked for them to be changed. The restaurant was shut but judging by the cleanliness of the room I'm not sure I would have wanted to eat in there anyway. The pricing for the room is ludicrous, for the same money you could stay in a 3/4 star hotel in Mexico city that is heated, clean and has staff who would help. Avoid like the plague!
If you do stay in Angangueo be warned that eating options are very limited. The only positive was the 'MiCafe' with a very accomodating and helpful lady.
don't believe the Lonely Planet description of the town as 'cute'

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CeriHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We arrived to find that the rooms were OK - slightly better than expected. The restuarant was closed and we were advised that ther were some places in the main square - supposedly a 5 minute walk - that would be open until 8pm. It took 20 minutes and nothing was open. Back to the Don Bruno where they made us some fairly dry and tatseless scrambled eggs. The manager was surprised taht we wanted to have breakkfast the following morning - it was provided - more scrambled eggs with refried beans. Ther was no hot water and again this came a s a surprise to the management - it was switched on and we were able to shoaer after about an hour. We had rooms with fireplaces, which was just as well as it gets very cold from about 4 pm. The fire though is only lit at 8pm and they provide only enough wood for about an hour and a half. So you have to go to bed at 9.30. The hotel would be fine if the restuarant was open, the water was hot and the rooms warm. As this was not the case we were glad to leave. It is worth it to see the butterflies but try to work it so you only have to stay one night. Angangueo is not worth looking at. It may be better to do the butterflies in a longish day trip from Morelia.

Room Tip: Have a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WelltravelledSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
0.7 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Monterrey Norte
3.0 mi away
Le-Gar
Le-Gar
#62 of 98 in Monterrey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Monterrey Norte
Holiday Inn Monterrey Norte
#39 of 98 in Monterrey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Monterrey Norte
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado
4.0 mi away
iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bruno

Property: Hotel Don Bruno
Address: Morelos No. 92, Angangueo | Michoacan, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,316 of 1,701 Hotels in Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Bruno Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing