We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in Cuernavaca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An oasis in Cuernavaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Superb accommodations on this beautifully renovated and maintained property. Our multi-level, junior suite was dramatically appointed, very comfortable and with good amenities like bathrobes and slippers. A terrace overlooking the extensive gardens is a wonderful plus, and be sure to try the buffet breakfast, a feast of native fare and some gringo favorites. One of us had an expert massage at the adjoining spa, much enjoyed. Excellent service, excellent value—we would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahtsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaCortes, Propietario at Hotel Hacienda de Cortes, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped, le agradecemos por el tiempo que se tomo por escribir su comentario, le comento que día con día trabajamos para que Hotel & Spa Hacienda de Cortés sea un lugar servicios exclusivos y sobretodo un lugar confortable para nuestros huéspedes. Esperamos su pronta visita a la Hacienda y nuevamente gracias por sus valiosas opiniones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    32
    17
    10
    15
See reviews for
45
52
1
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rottweil, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

It s a nice hotel with beautiful rooms. I
liked the atmosphere the hotel has. The
Breakfast is very good as well. Everything is clean and nice equipped. We took the bus to the city centre and it took us about 30 minutes. With the cab it takes 15.
A wonderful place to relax and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ines G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaCortes, Propietario at Hotel Hacienda de Cortes, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos que se tome el tiempo para darnos sus comentarios, nos complace que haya disfrutado de su estadía, siempre ponemos especial énfasis en cuidar que nuestros clientes
vivan una experiencia de relajación con un toque de historia. . Esperamos su pronta visita a la Hacienda y nuevamente gracias por sus valiosas opiniones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed in one of the Junior Suites in the old part of the hotel. The room was magnificant with lots of rustic charm. The restaurant had wonderful meals throughout the day (breakfast, lunch & dinner). I enjoyed walking through the gardens and looking at the original portions from the days of Cortes. I recommend this location to anyone staying in Cuernavaca. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Historian1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaCortes, Propietario at Hotel Hacienda de Cortes, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios. Para nosotros es importante compartir una parte de la historia de nuestro país. Nuestras instalaciones datan del siglo XVI, la hacienda fue fundada por Hernán Cortés en 1530. Es un lugar rico en leyendas donde hemos procurado preservar la magia del corazón de la época Colonial Mexicana con un toque moderno. . Esperamos su pronta visita a la Hacienda y nuevamente gracias por sus valiosas opiniones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We went to Hacienda Cortes for 3 days, for a wedding. Our room was very good, but I would reccomend the ones in the "old" wing. They are more charming.
Service was excellent at all ocasions. Our little daughter had a wonderful time in the gardens and the pool was perfect for her. The wedding was a huge success, in part due to the magnificent location.

Room Tip: Rooms at garden level have beatiful private patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I attended a small conference in this hotel in July 2012 and found it an exciting experience. The hotel is built around the ruins of the estate house or hacienda built by Cortes, the conqueror of Mexico in the mid 16 century. It was the centre of the earliest sugar industry in the country.There are many remaining walls and foundations which have been retained and built around to create modern facilities but always with an eye to the history of the place. The property also contains large trees many of whose huge roots are actually growing on walls. I have never seen such a strange and exotic hotel site. The restaurant is covered over by a canopy of leaves from branches and roots that are also growing on the walls. The swimming pool located in a lovely treed garden is built around two old pillars which have become part of its design. There are also beautiful gardens and many lovely walkways and huge bouquets of flowers are everywhere. The ambiance of the hotel is really extraordinary.

Within this historical space, the rooms are beautiful. In the new building they are large and very well appointed with great views of the surrounding area and its mountains. The older bulding also contains lovely rooms some with jacuzzi bathrooms. The service, on the whole was very good and there is excellent working wi-fi! I will not comment on the food since I am not a fan of Mexican cuisine but most of my colleagues thought it was very good.

I should also note that I was there in a slow period, no large groups or weddings so found the place very quiet.

I was told that this hotel has already been designated as a UNESCO world heritage site.

Room Tip: rooms on the 4 an 5 floor of the new building have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaCortes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Hacienda de Cortes, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear guest
It was a pleasure for us to know that your stay at the Hotel & Spa Hacienda de Cortes it was a pleasent one.
We appreciate your friendly comment about our property.
We hope to see you again here in Cuernavaca

Regards from the Hacienda staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

To Whom it may concern,
I have stayed with my wife at the Hacienda to attend a wedding of our friends that took place there as well. The Hacienda is great, the set up and athmosphere is fantastic. However our blackberry was stolen from our room and two friends of ours reported thefts of handbag and wallet as well. Please see the mail below that I sent to the Hacienda without receiving an answer. I hope the feedback is of use to folks thinking of going there.

"To the Manager,
we were guests in your house during the wedding of our friends D and C.

The Wedding was very nicely done and I have to admit that the Hacienda is a fantastic location.

However our overall experience with your hotel was not satisfiyng as my wife’s blackberry was stolen out of our room.
It happened on Saturday after we left the hotel to go to the church ceremony. Once we realized that the blackberry was missing we mentioned it to the receptionist.
He said that he would interrogate and let the manager know.
Additionally I refrained from immediately paying my bill stating that I would only pay once the blackberry issues has been solved. He accepted that and told me that they would stay in contact with me.
However I did not hear a word from you or any other responsible from your hotel. Furthermore the moment we left the hotel you charged my credit card although as mentioned above the receptionist agreed for me not paying before the blackberry issue has been resolved.
Not only are there thefts happening in your hotel (as you know our incident was not the only that night) but also are your employees lying to your customer which is unacceptable.

I ask you to provide a solution to that problem within one week otherwise I see no alternative as to share my bad experience with hotel/vacation forums and guidebooks such as the Lonely Planet.
I am looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards"

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank joplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
1,498 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

I've never stayed in a room here but have been dining at the restaurant for 30 years. The atmosphere and ambiance are wonderful, a beautiful setting. Food quality has been steadily improving over the years, very good Mexican continental style. One of my favorite restaurants in Cuernavaca.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank axs666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuernavaca hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
#4 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Anticavilla Restaurant, Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cuernavaca
Holiday Inn Cuernavaca
#16 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Camino Real Sumiya
Camino Real Sumiya
#21 of 64 in Cuernavaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Las Casas B+B Hotel
Las Casas B+B Hotel
#2 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
#19 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda de Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda de Cortes

Property: Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
Address: Plaza Kennedy No. 90 | Col. Atlacomulco, Cuernavaca 62560-430, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda de Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hacienda de Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing