We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mision del Sol Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Fiesta Inn Cuernavaca(Cuernavaca)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Cuernavaca(Cuernavaca)(Great Value!)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Casas B+B Hotel(Cuernavaca)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria Las Quintas Resort Spa(Cuernavaca)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Canarios(Cuernavaca)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Mananitas(Cuernavaca)
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
92
50
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
50
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsromantic weekendmexico citytennis courtsmeditationjacuzzitaxigroundswedding
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Escaped today from Mexico-City to enjoy a Day-SPA - it was awesome! SPA offers a huge varity of treatments, very professional, friendly staff, beautifut and quiet atmosphere, green gardens with small lakes with fish and also a turtle. Clean and very well cared instalations (Lockers, public areas, etc.) Highly recomendable to book the Temascal (ony weekends). Restaurant offers a wide offer of natural and healthy food, good quality and as mostly ususal in Mexico a friendly staff. To find the place driving by car is complicated...have fun, but is worth the challenge! For your second visit (and for sure you will have) it will be easier.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinoMexicoDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

After running all over Mexico City, it was great to end our trip with three nights at Mision del Sol. The hotel is actually about 20 minutes by taxi ($Mex 80) outside of Cuernavaca in Jiutepec, an upscale gated enclave.

The resort is very popular with Mexicans and we saw only a few from other countries. Most of the staff did not speak English, but there was always someone available to translate if needed.

The food was excellent and and patio dinning was a favorite of ours. We were there on New Years Eve and the pre-fixed party was reasonable and a lot of fun.

The rooms are not heated, but we were given space heaters to take a chill off at night. This worked fine. Hot water was slow to arrive at our Villa, but eventually it did.

Most notable were the beautiful grounds and the excellent spa treatments we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plrPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I would highly recommend this resort for anyone who wishes to relax enjoy great food wonderful massage in a beautiful setting. The grounds are spectacular with babbling streams runningtg. Throughout butterflies fluttering and hummingbirds buzzing around.
The room we stayed was a two bedroom villa very spacious and clean great water pressure in shower l occitane toiletries. Nice porch with chairs by babbling stream not fancy and not air conditioned it was quite warm. I know a c is not usually available in many hotels in mexico.There were fans which we used all in all a good sleep beds were firm.
The spa is very clean and everyone there is just lovely and very accommodating.i had an aruveyda massage with victor that was great. Prices were around 100 us for 50 min lots of services available on a large spa menu. Would recommend a visit.
The food fantastic. I even had vegetarian chiles Nogales which were divine. Food is a bit pricey but this is a wellness resort and you pay more for quality ingredients. The presentation was fabulous.too.rivals anywhere I have travelled.
We didn't use the gym or class schedule. The pool was very clean and peaceful no kids! I noticed many couples enjoying a romantic weekend.the sushi at the pool was good but not fabulous.
Definitely will return and recommend!

Room Tip: We loved the villa
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The problem with marketing your hotel as a "Space of Light" is that expectations are immediately set very high, and unfortunately for my wife and I on our most recent trip they were simply not met.

We escaped for a couple of nights lured by the promise of light and tranquility. A huge selling point for us was the Temazcal. The Temazcal is a pre-hispanic comunal steam bath that is supposed to be a cleansing experience for body and mind. The pictures looked wonderful, the website's review was enticing, and when we finally got to the hotel after our check-in we were incredibly disappointed to learn (only then) that it is only opened on weekends!

The advertisements were so misleading that I could not believe I had fallen for them. With the Temazcal closed, we decided to take a Tai-Chi class the following morning.

It was a disaster. The "professor" was more interested in engaging in very loud conversation with a couple of regulars than in doing his job. They were loud, rude, unprepared and completely uninteresting.

At some point we complained to the MOD and eventually when the owner of the place was privy to our horrendous experience she arranged for a REAL Tai-Chi instructor to give us a private lesson the following morning which was truly wonderful. The owner also sent us a plate of chocolate covered strawberries which were delicious.

Now on to the good:

The food is phenomenal. This is truly a wonderful example of haute Mexican cuisine. The dishes are inventive, consistently prepared (we repeated a few dishes through our stay) generous, surprising and truly bring out the excellence of the kitchen staff. The restaurant crew provides impeccable service and are always available to help. A+ for the restaurant.

The rooms are simple. No TV, small bathrooms but with very sexy dual showers. This is a place to unwind and unplug from the mundane. However there is one point that other reviews do not mention: The hotel is EXPENSIVE.

With rates north of 200/night for a weekday single room the expectations are high. Our room was adequate, but smelled like cigarette smoke ( in a wellness SPA!!!) and was also a bit musty. AC was a ductless model and incredibly loud and the showers while charming had hard-water calcium deposits in them and the streams were rather lacking.

THE SPA:

My wife had a pedicure done and we had a massage together later the same day. Her therapist was the same person who did the pedicure and my wife was hurt a bit during the massage. We chose the "holistic" massage which was supposed to be medium-to-soft and it was still painful. We had a reflexology (hands and feet) done the following morning and then it was MY turn to get hurt by the inexperienced therapist. The rates are high. Prices match those at any Four Seasons but the level of service and the quality of the therapists is simply not there.

While the gardens are impressively maintained and the property's upkeep has been a labor of constant attention in my opinion the hype about the place is just that: hype.

Perhaps management should do a better job of not setting the bar so high because the fall from grace becomes abismal when the lure of a "Space of LIght" becomes just another Cuernavaca "nice and kind" but unprofessional and expensive proposition.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alvaro_Fernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The hotel is not really fancy, yet it has it's charm. It's quiet, no kids allowed, plenty of areas to walk around, but don't expect to walk kilometers. The spa is nice, but not big. The jacuzzi is in an open area, so november and december can be chilly. The temaxcal is great, and the experience with the spiritual man that guides the experience makes the difference from other temazcals. The rooms are okay, nothing fancy. Mexican style tiles and bathrooms. Small bathrooms, No tV, which is good if you really expect to get away, but make sure you go with someone you can companionship from, or atleast good conversations.

Amazing vegeterian food. Sunday morning breakfast buffets are the best!!!

The pool is small, but nice, comfortable ambience. Do not expect much from the bar area.

They have other activities you can participate if you want to mingle and exercise.

Room Tip: The ones looking to the ponds and gardens in the bottom floor, because they have the outside sitting area to relax next to the garden, in privacy.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoodieChefDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketingMdS, Marketing at Mision del Sol Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Di C,

Thank you for your review and your input. We are glad that you had a great experience with the Temazcal and enjoyed the variety of dishes from our Restaurant. We thrive on offering our guests a complete wellness approach and appreciate guests who search for such an alternative. We hope to have you again as our guest in the near future.

All the best...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews