We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Explosion of Color and Harmony”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mancha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cuernavaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Mancha
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Cuernavaca
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Explosion of Color and Harmony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed with a friend at La Mancha during May of 2014 for about one week. Stepping behind the gates of the hotel is akin to entering a warm and hospitable art gallery! From the moment we arrived, hospitality was everywhere; from the food to the inviting decor to the cheery greetings from the hotel owner and staff! We enjoyed a wonderful Mexican breakfast every morning; locally-grown fruit, fresh juice and eggs a-la-many-Mexican styles!
The hotel is like a special oasis, but outside the walls, and under the direction of the owner, Carol Hopkins, we were able to tour the city, learn of it's history, visit the enormous "farmer's market", see important points of art and stop for lunch, at her suggestion, at significant and classic restaurants. Eating under the tree root-lined roof where Cortez once lived and dining where famous artists and dignitaries once were....was a special treat! There is much to see and do in Cuernavaca....so I will return again to the secure confines of La Mancha and pursue my adventures in Cuernacaca....A satisfied traveler!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are decorated with a different and colorful Mexican motif....all unique and private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88wink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolhopkins, Owner at La Mancha, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your Fabulous review. You were wonderful guests and I enjoyed Every moment of hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

La Mancha was a real treat! From the comfort of large well appointed rooms to the delicious authentic mexican food this place is a must! Carol, the owner, was generous in giving us everything we needed and making our stay perfect! I highly recommend this colorful, artistic and gracious hotel/B&B!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolhopkins, Owner at La Mancha, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you Teresa. Having you and Edward as honored guests was a delight! I look forward to next year; Victoria will work up some new recipes to entice Edward to seconds. Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agat, Guam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was fortunate to have a friend recommend this charming hotel/B&B in Cuernavaca in the Mexican state of Morelos. I visited in early May 2014 and stayed for nearly a week. The entire week was extremely enjoyable. The La Mancha property itself is across the street from a beautiful park with many trees. La Mancha is a stone-walled and iron-fenced property that is lush with vegetation and fruit trees, a swimming pool, a hot tub, exercise room, and the three-level home structure itself. My bedroom, on the upper level, was very spacious with a large bed, large closet, and comfortable furniture. It also had a private bathroom with full tub and shower. The bedroom overlooked the rear yard and pool area.

Carol Hopkins, the American proprietor, has been restoring and rebuilding this property for nearly 20 years. She lives on the property along with her three dogs, a cat and Petunia, a friendly burro. Carol is an icon within this very close and friendly neighborhood. She has furnished the house with many pieces of art, Mexican furniture and rugs. The house feels like a home. Carol is very familiar with most popular attractions in Cuernavaca, as well as the surrounding area of Morelos State. Be sure and ask her about the many nearby areas of very interesting archeological ruins and about the nearby quaint Mexican towns and villages. For the early risers, Popocatepetl, the famous, active volcano outside of Mexico City can be viewed with the rising sun behind it from the street in front of La Mancha.

An excellent breakfast typically included eggs, prepared in various Mexican styles, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, and bread. The breakfast was prepared by Victoria, a delightful Mexican lady from the neighborhood.

This property is highly recommended as a place for rest and relaxation, as well as a base for exploring Morelos.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolhopkins, Owner at La Mancha, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you Mike for your wonderful review. Your love of Mexico was palpable and it was delightful to share Cuernavaca and Morelos sites with you. Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I had the pleasure of spending a week at La Mancha in January, 2014. This unique B & B is a beautifully decorated home, full of vibrant colors and Mexican art and artifacts. The grounds are beautiful as well. The fabulous food is prepared with fresh, local ingredients by wonderful Victoria, who is a talented and competent chef. La Mancha is located across the street from the colonia square, which is surrounded by small local shops and businesses. The Sunday morning "mercado" is not to be missed. This lovely B & B is nestled in an authentic neighborhood, within walking distance of several larger resort hotels, which are fun to visit for a drink and appetizer.
(You won't want to miss a meal at La Mancha!). I look forward to my next visit to La Mancha and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolhopkins, Owner at La Mancha, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you Betsy and Barb for your wonderful review. We would love to have you return and experience even more of what Mexico and La Mancha have to offer.

Hasta la Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Carol and her wonderful staff were outstanding hosts for our stay at Cuernavaca in January. The weather was perfect, the room was perfect, and the food was divine. Staying at La Mancha is like staying in a cultural center. The stories that surround every piece of art and artifact in La Mancha paint a beautiful history of Mexico, and more specifically this wonderful area known as the city of eternal spring. I would highly recommend La Mancha for an authentic taste of Mexico.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank BDeMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolhopkins, Owner at La Mancha, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you Barb. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I've visited La Mancha numerous times. Every time I've been there I've been amazed by the beauty and their hospitality. This B&B is situated on the village square in the heart of a delightfully authentic Mexican village. Upon arrival you pass thru the iron gated entry thru the high walls that surround La Mancha and add to its intimacy.

Inside you will find a living piece of art. That is one of the things that makes staying at La Mancha unique. It is absolutely filled with wonderful pieces of indigenous Mexican art. While La Mancha's art is food for the soul, the meals they serve do wonders for the living spirit. I only wish Victoria (the cook) could feed me every day!

The entire living area of La Mancha opens to a large garden area. Surrounded by a gigantic privacy wall, it includes a hot tub, lap pool, fitness area, fish pond, parrot, frogs, and fruit trees. Just laying on a lounge chair put me at peace with the world!

Although Carol Hopkins, the innkeeper, is American, at an early age she realized that she was in love with Mexico and its people. Her local knowledge is exhaustive. In fact, she collaborates on a weekly column called “Charlie’s Digs” about the country for the The News, Mexico's largest English language newspaper. But. . . Carol is far more than an authority. She is a wonderful guide and delightful hostess.

Do yourself a treat. Try out La Mancha. And you, too, will keep coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VTBillJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolhopkins, Owner at La Mancha, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
WOW!!! Please come back and write another of your fabulous reviews. I looked at some of your reviews of European facilities and added them to my "wanna go" list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francis co
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

I visited this delightful B&B a last summer on the suggestion of a friend. The owner, A US citizen, has spent 20 years building a remarkably hospitable B and B filled with art from central Mexico. The grounds are lush and include a swimming pool and exercise room for those who want to stay fit while on vacation.

My friend and I spent a week relaxing, touring the countryside and socializing with our hostess, the staff, and other guests. Carol Hopkins, the owner, met us at the Mexico City Airport ( there is an extra charge for this service) and spent the next 6 days advising us about local attractions and arranging two day long tours of the local countryside. She also helped us with details on local transportation that visitors would otherwise have to spend a lot of effort to work out.

Breakfast was Eggs as you like them, local fruit, cereal, coffee, tea, juice and several types of bread from the local bakery. Lunch and dinner are available for an extra charge

Curenavaca is one of the quitest areas of the country and we never worried about our safety.

One of the charms of La Mancha is Petunia, the local burro who sleeps on the front porch and spends her days cropping grass around town.

The website has more detailed information. http://www.lamanchasur.com/lamanchahomepage.html

Enjoy

John Kelly

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank avacadovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolhopkins, Owner at La Mancha, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I'm sorry to have taken so long to reply to your great review. I'm still learning how this works. :-)
In the meantime, I hope you'll come back; you were a delightful guest. Thank you for taking the time to put a review up. It was the impetus for me to work on my Trip Advisor page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuernavaca
2.2 mi away
Anticavilla Restaurant, Hotel & Spa
30.3 mi away
Pennsylvania Suites
Pennsylvania Suites
#58 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
30.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
#4 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
30.5 mi away
Filadelfia Suites Hotel Boutique
Filadelfia Suites Hotel Boutique
#153 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
#19 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mancha

Property: La Mancha
Address: Parque Martires de la Revolucion | Colonia Parres, Cuernavaca, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mancha is a small boutique hotel beautifully appointed with Mexican and Latin American art. Located on a lovely quiet park in a small pueblo on the outskirts of Cuernavaca guests will enjoy the real Mexico. Chef/Manager Victoria Lara's cooking is superb. You'll love her unique recipes for chile rellenos, chilaquiles. Breakfast is included with room, dinners and drinks are extra. For recreation enjoy La Mancha's pool, jacuzzi, gym, billiards, pingpong or satellite TV. Each room has an iPod docking station. There is also WiFi, a guest computer, printer, and US phone line. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing