We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World class dining option in Cuernavaca”
Review of Tamuz

Tamuz
Reserve with OpenTable
Tamuz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 336 Restaurants in Cuernavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$2
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Av. Teopanzolco / Av. San Diego
Description: Chef Eran Scheflan Casual and sophisticated, Tamuz is a restaurant of International Cuisine with a Mediterranean touch. De estilo casual y sofisticado, Tamuz es un Restaurante de cocina Internacional con acento Mediterraneo.
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“World class dining option in Cuernavaca”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

What a great find! The setting is relaxing and beautiful, the food is thoughtfully prepared; the Caesar's Salad was hand made at table side slowly and thoughtfully. the fish was moist and properly undercooked (difficult to get it this way in Mexico generally), and the strudel for desert was both wonderful and a work of art. The owner made a point of visiting with the patrons, getting feedback and sharing his life experiences. Truly five star!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globalguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    56
    26
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Different!”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to try Tamuz, despite our rule about going to "new" restaurants that have just opened. Most of the time, the experience never measures up to the hype of those that are experiencing some "new" and "different."

Tamuz was just that, "new" and "different" but not in a good way. The service was severely lacking and other diners within our earshot were complaining about the lack of service or the nonchalant attitude of the servers.

The restaurant was not that busy, yet we were forced to wait for 20 minutes to receive our first drinks to the table. Another 15 minutes before they took the order. We could certainly understand if the service staff had been bristling, but for the most part, they were standing around engaging in conversations with one another.

The menu was engaging and well written, a sure sign as seldom does the cuisine match the descriptions on the menu. A good copywriter can make Chipped Beef on Toast sound like a gourmet treat. Another sign was the fact that was noticed from the menu is that the restaurant has yet to decide exactly what type of food they want to serve - perhaps it is best to call it International - as there is a bit of everything for everybody on the menu. Personally, we prefer a restaurant that does one type of fare well than a dozen poorly. It is indeed difficult to be all things to everybody - as we found at Tamuz.

The decor is sparse and cold, like a McDonalds, with better seats. There is even a playground for children where they are left unattended only to run back for forth though the restaurant as you are attempting to enjoy your meal or conversation.

The food was - well - very much like the decor. Almost as sadly lacking in taste and temperature, perhaps from sittting on the serving shelf awaiting the servers to finish their latest tales of bravado from the night before party or what ever they were discussing.

Perhaps as the restaurant ages, the owner (who is not Mexican) will make the changes necessary to upgrade the ambiance and present a better experience in a city well-known for some very great, world-class dining experiences.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank NomadicAdventurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The menu proposed at Tamuz is quite interesting. Most dishes are well executed and the service is precise. It lacks the -wow- factor but is, definitely a good choice

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank miberu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
197 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“I couldn't wait to do this review”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Just got back to the hotel after a really great dinner at Tamuz, which we would never have known about except for Trip Advisor. If you're staying anywhere near the centro, you have to take a cab to get there, but it's well worth it -- not just because the restaurant was terrific, but also because it's in a very nice part of town that is worth seeing (and is dramatically different than the bustling centro area). The garden setting was lovely, our waitress was wonderful, and the food was phenomenal. I ordered the seafood pasta , with a bit of trepidation since Cuernavaca doesn't seem the ideal place for an Italian seafood dish. It was about the best I've had. Nice big shrimp, very fresh mussels, a zippy sauce -- really excellent. I strongly recommend this restaurant, and so does my wife.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennisfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice place, service could be better!!1”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We had the opportunity of having lunch today Saturday 21, everything was very nice, the food, service etc. but then we asked for dessert coffee in the nice not too big garden the restaurant has and what a bad surprise we had, service was completely different, nobody cared of us and the waiters just forgot we were there, so an advice you better stay in the restaurant area if you want to have good service, I really don´t know if i will go back.....

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eleniux2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamuz also viewed

Cuernavaca, Morelos
 

Been to Tamuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing