We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here for cheap, but super-tasty tacos!”
Review of La Gringa

La Gringa
Ranked #58 of 347 Restaurants in Cuernavaca
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Come here for cheap, but super-tasty tacos!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Some of the best tacos you'll have is in this unassuming place. While the Al Pastor is definitely their mainstay, tacos de arrechera (marinated beef) takes the prize for me. It is over twice the price, but the tacos are so cheap, you're still only paying a couple of bucks U.S. Go ahead...spend those 2 dollars and splurge!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad-Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Find it, go there”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were strolling around the north end of Cuernavaca and came across this place. We had done our TripAdvisor research, but still just stumbled onto it. Though it was mid-afternoon, we sat down for a few al pastor tacos. Delicious and just 75 cents. Went back with fellow tourists. Had the La Gringa taco, which is a mound of al pastor meat with melted cheese on top. Went back again the other day -- I had 3, my wife had 2 al pastors. The kid at the next table had 3 plus some grilled tripe; his mom had 2. It's that kind of place. Go, eat the al pastor and explore the rest of the menu. It's homey, clean, and delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“the best tacos of the world "La gringa 3"”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Al pastor is a dish developed in Central Mexico, likely as a result of the adoption of the shawarma spit-grilled meat brought by Lebanese immigrants to Mexico.Being derived from shawarma, it is also similar to the Turkish doner kebab and the Greek gyros. Whereas shawarma is usually lamb-based, gyros and tacos al pastor in Mexico are made from pork.
Pork is marinated over one or two days in a combination of dried chiles and achiote, and then slowly cooked with a gas flame on a vertical rotisserie called a trompo, very similar to how shawarma is cooked, with a piece of fresh onion and a pineapple on top.The juice from the pineapple contains bromelain, an enzyme that breaks down protein and thus makes meat tender.
Warning !! Not place for Vegetarians,Vegans or Alcoholics...sorry no cerveza :) but instead you can get a refreshing Agua de Horchata (is a milky white,sweet beverage that was introduced to Spain by the Moors, pulverized rice is used in Mexico & cinnamon on top)
24/7 open guys !!
With family,friends or solo...you have to stop here.
After party or for hangover are so good....salsa verde is my favorite !!
Been eating tacos al pastor in Oaxaca,Chiapas & Yucatan Peninsula but doesn't have same taste than Central Mexico...CAUTION: few taquerias sell fake tacos al pastor(spoiled meat)
La Gringa 3 >Av Avila Camacho,Colonia Pradera
Buen provecho...miss you so much :(

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank betour11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt sterling ky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“addictive tacos al pastor”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

visited on 2 trips this year. April 22 and 24th. The tacos are the best I have ever had. The service is friendly and quick. Been traveling to Cuernavaca since 1984 and just found this jewel. Thanks to friends who live in Cuernavaca. You may have to wait a minute or two for a table but it is well worth it. Just order one or two at a time because the service is so fast. The sauces are really good with a level of heat sure to please everyone. If you like tacos you will love these. When you leave you can honestly say you have been to a Mexican restautant. Don't expect fancy surroundings only great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank randycMtSterlingKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Price and Servings”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

La Gringa is my favorite late night restaurant after an evening of entertaining my visiting clients. It is the perfect ending to the evening. While it is often crowded at 2 or 3 a.m., the sound level is perfect for carrying on conversations with table mates.

The food is fresh but fast, large servings and we always leave full and happy for the experience.

However, you don't have to wait until the wee hours of the morning to enjoy La Gringa as they are open for both lunch and dinner.

It is a perfect location for couples, family, friends, a casual business meeting or just sit near the street by yourself and enjoy the view.

Excellent!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicAdventurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gringa also viewed

Cuernavaca, Morelos
Cuernavaca, Morelos
 
Cuernavaca, Morelos
Cuernavaca, Morelos
 

Been to La Gringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing