We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel boutique I have stayed at, but ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best hotel boutique I have stayed at, but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I am very particular with hotels and service but this small but beautiful hotel boutique is great, the price it's reasonable for the deco, service and area... 4 blocks away from the monuments down town, service it's great but some times slow, no hair dryer, only 2 pillows ,food good but pricey, bed it's comfortable, the deco it's great and really useful, the room has a nice size so you are not fighting for space , they aloud pets and basically you could have a nice and relaxing weekend or week. If you want to travel with a nice service and the luxe deco for a great price come to La Flor de MAYO . There are no kids which allows you to enjoy the hotel without noise, internet comes and go time to time and the pool it's not deep, it's about 1mts but you enjoy taking the sun and getting wet when it's too hot.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego G, Manager at Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
It was a pleasure to have you as a guest. We hope you can return soon and continue to enjoy the Flor de Mayo experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    37
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
69
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here with a wedding party. I think we took up about 10 of the rooms. All of the doors to the room face the courtyard. It was kind of like Melrose Place. It was pretty fun to look down and see if anyone was in the courtyard hanging out or looking up to the pool area to see if anyone was hanging out there. The roof top pool is very nice as well as the deck above, great views. It is in a good location, about a 5 minute straight walk to the markets and town center. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

The beds are a bit stiff. I stayed in room 17 and any of the rooms above probably would have heard the same thing. There is a metal ladder attached to that side of the building and when the wind blows, which happened to be all night the ladder rattles against the building. Unfortunately I am a light sleeper and this was a bit annoying.

Breakfast was included with our room. The chilaquiles were amazing especially after a night of drinking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lor13149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego G, Manager at Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for all your comments. We will be working on all the points you mention in order to provide the best service and the best possible quality for all our guests. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This would be a much more positive review if the price was about half what we paid for a weekend night ($200 USD). On the positive side: friendly & efficient English speaking staff; super clean; nice design elements; cool pool deck with a view; firm mattresses; great location about a 10-minute downhill walk to the Zócalo; good water pressure in the bathroom with plenty of hot water. The room rate included a decent continental breakfast. Unfortunately, some of the negative comments from a previous review still haven't been resolved. An outside door bell has been installed and remote controls for air conditioning are now available, but only one of the electric outlets worked so we wound up unplugging the TV set to charge phones, etc. Foam pillows were small and lumpy. Bathroom amenities are limited to soap; shampoo and conditioner are in glass (!) containers in the shower. I couldn't get either one to come out, so I wound up unscrewing the top with slippery hands, happy that I managed not to drop them. This is a new branch of the Design Hotel group, so if your taste runs to spare, contemporary-style hotels that remind me of an upscale Motel 6, then maybe Flor de Mayo is for you. At prices like this, I prefer more value.

Room Tip: Standard rooms with queen bed are plenty roomy but look over the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego G, Gerente at Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Sophie,

Thank you for your comments. Regarding to the electric outlets, all of the outlets in the room, including the bathroom, bed side tables and TV are protected for voltage variations, which are common in downtown Cuernavaca, so they shut down in order to protect any electric device plugged to the outlet, it can be turned back on just by pushing the reset button in the middle of the outlet, it is a protective measure for our guests' devices, we are sorry it caused you trouble. A vital part of Flor de Mayo is to support our local community, and that is why we offer organic amenities that are produced by an organization that employs women in need, and the containers are made of high temperature ceramics, also made by a local community, perfectly safe in any fall or drop it may occur, our guests' safety is very important to us. We will take care of the dispenser difficulty and the pillow quality ASAP.

All your comments help us improve day by day, thank you very much.

Best Regards,
Flor de Mayo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Cuernavaca is so pretty but always had a hard time finding a nice, hip place to stay at. Flor de Mayo is it! Been staying there everytime I go to Cuernavaca lately, and I keep going back! The prices are good, the location is right in town, no need of a car to stroll around beautiful Cuernavaca centre and you definitely don´t feel in town, but far away from any city when chilling on the terraza. Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego G, Manager at Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, it has been a pleasure receiving you. We hope to see you soon again in Flor de Mayo Hotel & Restaurant.

Best Regards from our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Don't let the austere facade give you a wrong impression of this awesome place.
The hotel opens to an interior garden and its design combines old cuernavaca with a city and modern attitude sometimes forgetten in Cuernavaca.
I have been twice in the last two months,, and have received a great service in both visits.
The Arriba bar is super cool with great views and confy chairs and hammocks.
The pool area is very chic and the food is great.
Best of all, its right in the center of Cuernavaca.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergioLeon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego G, Manager at Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Sergio,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you soon in Flor de Mayo.

Best Regards,
Flor de Mayo Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

In general we had a good experiece in this hotel. Although the first impression when going into the parking lot is not great they make up for it with the hotel design and space layout inside, which is original and modern, making the best out of the space they have.

Rooms are a bit on the small side, but mirrors minimize that effect, and the same happens with the bathroom. On this last one I expected more of the shower and amenities, the former is a regular shower head that either has too little or too much pressure, which will end of splashing everywhere.

The terrace and pool area is fantastic, we had a great time there.

Although the food was good (recommend the Chilaquiles with cecina for breakfast) and the staff pleasant, restaurant service was terrible in terms of speed and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with NO parking lot view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ad2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego G, Manager at Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We have been taking care of the details that you mentioned and working in improving our service day by day. We hope to see you soon again in Cuernavaca.

Best regards from our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel has a lot of potential - once it sorts out its long list of problems.

There is an adjoining parking lot which makes the hotel look more like a motel. The view of the rooms is off the parking lot - not really the quality of a "design hotel". The lift was not working and we were on the top floor. The first room we were in the safe did not work and the curtains did not close so we changed rooms. The second room, the air conditioning did not have a remote and the staff could not find it (it gets very hot in Cuernavaca) nor have a replacement the aircon to work. Also, the electricity points by the bed do not work - had to charge all electronic equipment from the toilet. Also, our group went out to dinner last night and arrived back at the hotel at 12am, not late, and everything was shut down. There was a locked big metal door where the entrance to the hotel was and with no door bell. I didn't appreciate having to knock on this door with my bare hands for 10 minutes before someone arrived to let me into my hotel that I paid over $200 a night for.

To be positive, the staff were very nice and apologetic when attempting to fix all the things that are wrong with the place. The interior terrace, pool and room has a nice layout.

We booked this hotel because it was accredited as a "design hotel" and had stayed in many other similiarly-accredited hotels so was a bit shocked by the long list of problems.

I am aware this hotel is a new hotel and there can be teething problems but why not charge an introductory rate until the facility is up to scratch?

Room Tip: It is too expensive for what it is. It's a new hotel but the design and construction of the plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paulogvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego G, Gerente at Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Paulo,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing Flor de Mayo on your visit to Cuernavaca and offer you our apologies for the discomfort me may have caused. Regarding to your feedback, we will be taking care ASAP of every detail you mention and your suggestions will be applied in brief. It would be very important to us that you prove by yourself our commitment with the improvement of every detail and will be a pleasure to have you once again in Flor de Mayo.

Thank you very much,
Flor de Mayo Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuernavaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Casas B+B Hotel
Las Casas B+B Hotel
#2 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
#4 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
#19 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anticavilla Restaurant, Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cuernavaca
Fiesta Inn Cuernavaca
#3 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Mananitas
Las Mananitas
#10 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Matamoros 603 antes 49 | Col. Centro, Cuernavaca 62000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flor de Mayo Hotel & Restaurant brings to Cuernavaca a new perspective on design and tourism, embracing the history and culture that characterize the city and adopting the main element that makes Cuernavaca the City of Eternal Spring, and that is the marvellous weather all year round. A fusion between an old historical building (19th C.), the rise of a new construction and the City of Eternal Spring give life to the hotel, benefiting from the kindness of the weather and flora of this city and developing a "floral exuberance" as the main factor in the architecture of the hotel like a contemporary adaptation of the French rococo to this Mexican city, where the vegetation invades the architecture and is a local traditional tree: "Flor de Mayo", what becomes the ambassador of this exuberance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing