We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting, functional and almost charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Antigua Posada
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting, functional and almost charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hotel looked much more stylish or perhaps "typical" than many of the hotels available which looked like out dated five star hotels that had strayed away from a beach that never existed in Cuernavaca. The hotel is mounted around a towering steep staircase which ends at a nice pool. Different levels have different rooms and every room has an outdoor terrace, which can be a good place to read or have breakfast. The rooms vary a lot, they can be very big as is the suite, or quite small, the prices adjust to the size of the rooms. Breakfast included is continental, and for mexican terms, quite scarce since breakfasts are large and hearty. But, you can ask for additional breakfast dishes such as huevos mexicanos for a small extra charge. Service is good, specially during the day. Only complicated thing is that by night the street becomes very lonely and dark, while the hotel is well located and close to boulevard juarez and main squares, a few blocks at night at the wrong moment can be complicated and can lead you to a scare. If you are going to go out by night, call a taxi de sitio, even if you are close.

Room Tip: The suite is huge and quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
13
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

The room was for two people. We had one small shampoo enough for one person with short hair, one small soap just enough for one person, the free advertised wifi in the room did not work, the chairs and the table on the terrace were dirty, we had to clean them. The breakfast was included but is poor and the coffee was more like water so we went to another place for breakfast. The fan was noisy and the medium or low speeds did not work. The bed is so-so. We did not care much for the homemade rustic look. Keys and faucets work more or less smoothly...etc. The location is excellent and is the only thing we enjoyed. There was no safety box in the room. We live and travel in Mexico and we are used to much better for the price. Not worth the money.

Room Tip: Next time we will book a diferent hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boursay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. It is located only two blocks from the zocalo and other major attractions in Cuernavaca. All the staff in the family-owned hotel are extremely friendly. Also, the owner of the hotel took us to Mexico City twice in his car at a very affordable rate. All the time, we felt extremely welcome and are therefore happy to recommend this hotel to future visitors.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otavalo, Ecuador
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

This is more than you expect coming from the busy street. Lovely building, good rooms, all with private terrace and no, no airconditioning but I think I remember a fan that we didn't need. The only thing I would recommend are softer beds, ours were really really hard.
The staff was very nice and friendly. The included breakfast is not a wise thing in Mexico, but the hotel does offer complentary breakfast, like great ranchero eggs! Enjoy it on the terrace by your room or on some of the other tables. Wifi available.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

OverallI found this hotel delightful--that was until i went to pack up and discovered that $200 I had hidden in my luggage in what I thought was a secure place had disappeared. Needless to say, when I brought this to the attention of the staff, the response was universal (most likely feigned) surprise, and of course, denial of any involvement. The chambermaid made a point of taking responsibility for cleaning the room--i suppose trying to say that cleaning the room and using the opportunity to make off with valuables within it were mutually exclusive. i then left my packed luggage under their vigilance while I went out briefly, to offer whoever might have stealthily removed the money to replace it where it had been, but alas that was a no go, The money was squirreled away in a bag, suggesting that cleaning or other staff made quite a thorough inspection of my belongings in some search of some booty. I realize I should not have left money in the room in the first place, but hotel staff should nevertheless not being rifling through guests belongings. I would recommend to all but the most charitable that they avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buthidaung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

I never got to stay at this hotel because I had to cancel a recent trip to Cuernavaca. But I wanted to comment on the professionalism, graciousness, and understanding on the part on the hotel staff particularly Vincente Gomez whom I had the pleasure of corresponding with on several occasions.
My cancellation technically fell within the 48 hour window but the hotel did not pursue a charge nor did they attempt to pressure me in any way. They simply said "No problem, we will see you when you pass this way again." And they understand something very primal and humane. If you treat people well, they will remember and they will want to be guests in the future. I look forward to my stay soon at the AntiguaPosada.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

I stayed in this hotel when other plans fell through, and I thought it was lovely. The room was small but clean and pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was good, on a quiet street an easy walk from the central square and shops. A friend of mine was staying with a host family in Cuernavaca, and the family felt that I was paying too much for the room, but I think most US Americans would be happy with the level of amenities and the price.

  • Liked — Cute little porches for each room
  • Stayed December 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuernavaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real del Sol
Hotel Real del Sol
#46 of 64 in Cuernavaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Canarios
Hotel Canarios
#43 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilebal
Hotel Ilebal
#28 of 64 in Cuernavaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
GS Cuernavaca Hotel
GS Cuernavaca Hotel
#45 of 64 in Cuernavaca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rinconada de Cortes
Rinconada de Cortes
#37 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quinta Las Flores
Quinta Las Flores
#10 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antigua Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antigua Posada

Property: Hotel Antigua Posada
Address: Galeana No. 69 | Col. Centro, Cuernavaca 62000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antigua Posada 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Antigua Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua Posada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing