We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warmth from the villas to the owners to the climate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Bellavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Bellavista
Ukiah, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warmth from the villas to the owners to the climate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We've been returning to Las Villas for years, and each time we go back it's harder to leave. The second generation owners, Bob and Cristina, live on the property and maintain it, and their guests, like the ideal family -- warm, friendly, available, but not intrusive. Cuernavca is a little gem. A walk from the villas will take you to a variety of shops and wonderful restaurants and mercados. Public transportation is handy -- both buses and taxis. The city has its own lovely culture of museums and galleries and archaeological sites, and it's less than an hour from Mexico City. An ideal spot for just the two of us, or on occasion when we've rented more than one villa and invited family and friends to come (the prices are reasonable enough for us to do that.) It all comes down to the charm of the villas, the city, and the owners, a combination that's hard to beat anywhere!

Room Tip: Our favorite is Villa Taxco. It's very private and utterly charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    12
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
17
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed in the Villas for nearly a week on a business trip with a colleague. The rooms were very clean, quiet, safe and comfortable. Bob and Cristina were incredibly friendly and lent us a local phone. They were also always ready to answer a question or offer advice. We stayed in El Nido, which had great windows looking out onto trees.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at the Villas for a week in July 2013...its very clean, quiet, safe, full of character and cozy. The Bob and Christina as well the other guests (some long-term residents) were a delight, which was particularly welcome for our group of 10. Very close to everything. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobblette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We are a 3 generation family that stayed just two nights in a Villa in Feb. 2013, doing some sightseeing in Cuernavaca. The villa was clean and fairly comfortable. There was a nice courtyard and short walk to the pool. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed but we only ate in for breakfast -- I can't comment about actually cooking meals there. Wi-fi was weak and actually turned off completely one night, but since we weren't there for work, it was more of a nuisance than a real problem. The villa was about a 5-10 minute car ride to the zocolo so if you have a car, it is very easy. Short work to a supermarket. Quiet street. Lots of flowers.

A couple of complaints. There was an army of ants in one of the bathrooms (which doesn't necessarily gross me out but had I known, i would have kept my toothbrush under cover -- good thing the Superama was close by for a replacement). Another complaint was that we had paid for one night stay in advance and when we checked in with the owner's daughter, we were told the owner would catch up with us the next day for paying for the second night. However after 8 pm the first night, the owner knocked on our door coming to collect the second night rent. It was disruptful because it woke up my nephew, who had traveled to Mexico that day after a 17 hour flight and then a 2 hour car ride. And when we tried to pay with a credit card (which is how we paid the original deposit), the owner gave us some reason why he could only take cash, which we had to scramble to come up with. It was uncomfortable. The only other thing I'll mention is that when we were leaving, the owner approached our car at the gate for the purpose of asking if we had left a tip for the maid. Another uncomfortable moment.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Retiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chambista, Owner at Villas Bellavista, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
The management of Las Villas de Bellavista enjoyed having these guests and provided them with the larger 3 bed/3ba, 3,500 sq.ft. home at a discount from the normal daily rate to accomodate their need for 3 bedrooms although they inquired about the 2 bedroom initially .
When these guests initially made their reservation deposit, there was the option to pay with credit cards, but when they arrived, this option was no longer available due to new banking laws, unless they paid with Paypal or with cash. Direct redit card payments will be available again by June 2013.
The owner heard the guests talking in the dining/living room when he arrived from a road trip at 8 PM and tapped on the front door to meet these guests, as he always does for new arrivals, so he is very sorry if someone was awakened in an adjacent bedroom. The guests indicated at that time that they would pay the cash balance the next day, which was fine and often occurs, but the husband, good naturedly offered to pay at that moment since he had it on hand so we were unaware that anyone felt pressured.

We use a chalk here in Cuernavaca for ants that is non-toxic and had management been contacted we would have been happy to attend to our ubiquitous ant problem that the Cuernavaca expat community is always addressing on our blog!

A new router for Wifi has been installed.

We always mention to our guests as a suggestion that tips are not included in our rates, and this is published on our web pages and Hotel Regulation since many establishments include 5-15% as a "service fee". Management was not advised of their leaving and just happened to see them as they were driving off and asked if they had left a tip for the employee who cleaned their home daily and they said they had. No tip was left, however and hopefully our employee was not being punished for the sins of the owners!

These guests were a pleasure to have and we would be happy to have them stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Recently stayed in the Villa's for a week while attending my son's wedding. Bob and Christina were very nice and helpful as well as the grounds keeper. The villa was clean and beautiful. the pool relaxing and inviting. What ever we needed Bob and Christina accommodated us. The grounds were beautiful and very comfortable (affordable too) and the other guest were nice as well. Markets were a cab ride or walking distance. Shared the accommodations with my sister & her husband . We all had our private space. Great place to go with friends or share with other couples. We enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, B.C.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Villa Taxco for 7 weeks in Jan and Feb 2012. We were delighted with our experience. The Villa was clean, charming and well maintained. All necessary equipment was there including a great new refrigerator. The weekly houseboy who changed the linens, towels (very nice quality) and cleaned the floors and bathroom was an unexpected treat. The Villa is spacious and has a fireplace (wood provided) in the great room. We truly enjoyed the warm glow of the fire on one cool evening.

The Villa Taxco also had the most wonderful private attached terraza with lounges, a quiet spot to read, draw or just absorb the sunshine.and it overlooked a wooded area full of birds. There was also an outside covered dining area, and best of all this - a hammock! There are extensive mature gardens all maintained without the use of any pesticides or toxins. The swimming pool and area are sparkling clean and great areas for get-togethers with a bar area and BBQ.

Bob and Cristina are perfect hosts, suggesting best places to eat, shop or visit. They and their staff were always available, we felt their full support. We are looking forward to a return visit next winter.

Room Tip: There are several Villas to choose from, Some are closer to the entrance or pool and others are tuck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuernavaca hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
#4 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.8 mi away
Occidental Cuernavaca
Occidental Cuernavaca
#17 of 64 in Cuernavaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
#20 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Anticavilla Restaurant, Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Quinta del Gobernador
Quinta del Gobernador
#26 of 64 in Cuernavaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cuernavaca
Holiday Inn Cuernavaca
#15 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Bellavista

Property: Villas Bellavista
Address: Calle Tabachin # 133 | Col. Bellavista, Cuernavaca 62140, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Cuernavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Bellavista is centrally located Colonial style houses in the City of Eternal Spring, one hour from Mexico City in the Colonial Historical Highlands of Old Mexico. The houses have vaulted ceilings, antiques, folk art, hand painted tiles and all the amenities of home making this community of 8 villas with one-three bedrooms an ideal spot for Spanish Language students, executives, retirees, and vacationers exploring Colonial Mexico with its 16th-century churches, monasteries,World Heritage archeological sites, and fascinating museums and Historical Downtown. The Villas are centrally located within 2 blocks of banks, restaurants, galleries, bakeries, supermarkets, Starbucks, Domino`s, and local eateries. The historical downtown is only 5-8 minutes away and excursions to famous towns and sites are easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villas Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing