We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food terrible service”
Review of Funicula

Funicula
Ranked #196 of 1,171 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Price range: US$8 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner
Quadalajara
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food terrible service”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I have been multiple times and every time the food was delicious but the service was awful. I have stopped going because the service has been so bad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town, excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I've been there dozens of times and it's still one of my favorite restaurants in Guadalajara. Their pizza and pasta is excellent as well as the prices they offer. The service is good and diligent and it surprises me how I still see mostly the same staff since they opened around 8-9 years ago which is a good indicator of the environment they have managed to create. The location is also good, surrounded by bars, pubs, and other restaurants that you can visit during your stay. Their wine list is simple, affordable and well chosen.

By the way, carry cash with you since they don't take credit or debit cards.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Salvador_Espartaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing Italiano food AND atmospher!”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I travel all over the world and my favorite food is Italiano. Often times it isn't a good representation of Itialian food, well Funicula has it going on! Food is fresh, flavorful without being strong and the pizzas and calzones are full of flavor and taste. We ate on the 3rd floor overlooking the street...perfecto. Next time travel back I will eat 2 nights out of my 6-day work visits. Hopefully they update the address. Our can driver said it was 1906

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoubleAandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Saudade”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I lived in Guadalajara almost 10 years ago and as Italian I have to say this is one of the best pizza I have ever had outside of Italy The owner is an Italian guy from Toscany and chatting with him made my experience even better!
Going back there in 2013! :)
can't wait :)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SerenaMorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent pizzas!”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is a great place, is a little crowded, but the food is excellent, definitely a place to visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ChrisVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Funicula also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Zapopan, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Funicula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing