We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Alternative to Hotels or B&Bs in Guadalajara”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Rayon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalajara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Rayon
Ranked #15 of 61 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Guaymas, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Alternative to Hotels or B&Bs in Guadalajara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in this two bedroom ground floor flat for one week. It was a nice alternative to a hotel room or a bed and breakfast and cost us about $80 a night - comparable or less to the B&B's and hotels I looked at. The owners used to rent the two bedrooms separately but now they rent only the whole flat so it is very private. It's an old building that has been remodeled so it has all the modern conveniences but old world charm (18 foot ceilings). 2 couples or a family could easily stay here very comfortably and save a ton of money. We only used the 1 bedroom which was huge and had a bathroom with 2 sinks, shower and tub. The whole flat was very quiet. There is another bedroom and bath also. The kitchen included a full size refrigerator and all the dishes, pots and pans, etc. that one would need to prepare full means although we didn't do that. Wi-Fi coverage was excellent. The location is about a 15 minute leisurely walk to the Cathedral and all the historical sites around it. One could take the subway which is only about 3 blocks away. We used the subway to go to the Mercado Libertad and it was very handy and easy. My favorite thing about staying here was Templo Expiatorio and the adjoining plaza. It is only 3 very short blocks away and was fun to go to every evening. Sunday especially is filled with food stands, dancing lessons, stalls selling things and, of course, the 12 apostles coming out every hour from high up the facade of the church. We also loved the Oaxacan restaurant located on the corner of the plaza closest to our flat. Excellent food and you can sit on the 2nd or 3rd floor and watch all the activity in the plaza while eating. 65 pesos for the most expensive thing on the menu. Antonio was an excellent host (the owners live upstairs) and very helpful. All in all a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Electricoutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Casa Rayon will always have a special place in our hearts. It was the place we stayed while waiting to have our baby in Guadalajara! We loved the location, the functionality, the comfortability and the style of Casa Rayon, but most of all we loved the hosts. Antonio and Thomas were just plain amazing. They were always available, were exceptionally helpful and just made our time there perfect.

We can't imagine a better place to welcome our new baby boy, and our family members who visited us during our stay are all planning return trips to Casa Rayon. We cannot thank Antonio and Thomas enough for their hospitality during this monumental time in our lives!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Best location
Best hosts
Best price
Bet value
The cleanest place in town
I stayed at Casa Rayon twice this year and it stillnisnthe best value
Rent the entire floor and enjoy.

Room Tip: rent the entire first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert4704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We were blessed in finding Casa Rayon for our stay in Guadalajara. It is a beautifully restored old Mexican home - very attractive and comfortable. Our hosts, Antonio and Thomas couldn't have done more to make us feel at home. They made us feel like friends, rather than just renters. They truly went the extra mile - providing a second coffee maker and another refrigerator to accomodate our needs. They even shared their two adorable little dogs, Blanquita and Jane, with us. Since we took the privacy option, we had the entire ground floor to ourselves. The rates are very reasonable and an outstanding value.

Room Tip: The privacy option is well worth the additional cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaRayonOwner, Owner at Casa Rayon, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you so much for your comments, we really enjoyed meeting you and having you as our guests !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

My husband and children (ages 7 and 9) stayed here for 3 nights and it was remarkable. We loved every moment in this beautiful place. Thomas and Antonio were so helpful - exceeding all our expectations. They even helped us plan the next part of our trip. Our rooms were so spacious and comfortable - an oasis!

Thank you Thomas and Antonio for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We would recommend Casa Rayon for many reasons. We loved the house and the Mexican feel of the neighborhood. The owners, Thomas and Antonio, could not have been more helpful and were nice guys to get to know. We could walk to many sites of interest including the entire historic district within 20 to 30 minutes. Cable T.V. and free local and long distance phone calls were a real bonus. We used a secure underground parking lot 5 min from the house. There was a good supermarket within a 10 min walk. ALL conveniences were provided. If you like fine dining you will be pleased with the number and quality of restaurants in the immediate area. Many of these are in beautiful old restored buildings. Our stay was from Dec. 2010 to Apr. 2011. Would we return? You bet!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davesan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

Casa Rayon is a great hotel or short term apartment in Guadalajara, Mexico. It’s the best location in the city—safe, quiet, but just a few blocks from University of Guadalajara, IMAC and ICMNAJ language schools, great restaurants, and the Juarez subway station in Parque de la Revolucion. The historical Centro, the Cathedral, is only a 10 minute walk west. Going east, you stroll through lovely, uncrowded Colonia Americana with its many restaurants and stores. Music-filled Chapultepec Ave is a fun 15 minute walk away. Rooms at Casa Rayon are spacious, beautifully decorated, and full of light and color. The kitchen has every appliance you could need. The thick adobe walls keep everything cool, but there are fans and AC too. Everything is updated or new, and very comfortable. Large containers of bottled water are provided with the room, and the water coming into the plumbing lines is filtered. Great security, a washer/dryer, and markets and restaurants are close (try La Fonda del Noche and La Cafeteria). Wifi and phone service is included, including free international calls. This was a great advantage, as my Verizon cell service was iffy at best, despite having a plan that included Mexico. The owners live in a separate apartment upstairs and keep everything spotless, but they are never intrusive. They are fluent in English, Spanish and French, and they are fun. They know the transportation systems and all the great places to go in this fabulous city. Casa Rayon was our hotel/apartment for several months while working on a project at UdeG and the Antigua Hospital Civil. We found it to be an ideal location and a terrific value for a short or long stay. Staying downtown will be noisy and crowded—and staying on the west side is too far from the action. We highly recommend Casa Rayon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank good2go35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#12 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.7 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#22 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B
La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B
#1 of 61 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rayon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rayon

Property: Casa Rayon
Address: Colonia Americana, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Rayon is a secure and recently updated Casa Antigua from the Spanish colonial period located in the desirable Colonia Americana neighborhood of Guadalajara Jalisco. Casa Rayón consists of a private entrance, living room area, dining room, plus den with futon,fully equipped kitchen (washer dryer) and two private bedrooms, the Suite San Francisco and Room Los Angeles, as well as 2 bathrooms. The rooms can be rented together or separately. Walk to the sites in the Centro Histórico or take subway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing