We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center
Ranked #38 of 131 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel Roma is a decent 4 star hotel, location is allright just in downtown guadalajara, if you want to be close to the nightlife then this is not for you, at night everything is closed nearby. Rooms are ok, they are very clean with flat screen tvs, the only "bad" thing is the elevator its very old and it only has one, during my stay the elevator door wouldnt open and I had to manually open it to get out.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

the location is great, just a couple blocks off the main square. the rooms are very simple but are clean. Breakfast runs 90 pesos....a little high and you can do better by walking towards the cathederal and finding cheaper eats.
Staff was attentive and nice.
Book on line, you will save

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sidnye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The Hotel Roma is a midrange, budget property with an awesome location on the edge of Guadalajara's Central Historic district. The property is older and is very well worn in places, but otherwise mostly clean with adequate facilities. We chose the property for a combination of price and location. Checkin was quick and courteous, our room was spacious with a king bed and excellent AC. The bathroom was a bit small, but the shower was huge, taking up almost half the space; water pressure was great! The room's windows were thin and cheap, letting in lots of street noise - bring ear plugs! The mattress was very substandard, each morning we both awoke with backaches.

One of the nice perks of this property is that breakfast is supposedly included. I say supposedly because on our 3rd morning as we were ready to leave the table to start our day, the waiter brought us our check. All of the literature I read indicated a complimentary
breakfast is served, so why did we get a check? I picked up the bill and walked over to the front desk who explained that the breakfast we were offered was not the free breakfast mentioned in the literature. Huh? So what was the "Complimentary Breakfast" we should have eaten? In that rather frustrating conversation with the front desk it was never made clear to us what breakfast we should have partaken in. I showed them a printed copy of our confirmation, as well as the hotel's own description that clearly stated "Complimentary Breakfast". I also pointed out that no one mentioned anything about this, or brought us a
check, on our previous two mornings. They wouldn't budge and we had to pay. If you eat the "Complimentary Breakfast", be prepared to pay at some point. It felt like a "bait-and-switch", changing the rules in the middle of the game without any notification. If you exit the
hotel and take a right, just at the end of the block, there is a coffee shop called Chai. They're open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Their food is vastly superior and much cheaper than that of the Hotel Roma's.

That wasn't the only problem we had with the restaurant. On our first morning we filled our plates and found no place to sit. Half the tables were occupied and the other half were dirty and no one was cleaning them. All of the staff was hurriedly running around, but not
accomplishing anything whatsoever. After a few minutes of standing with our plates of food in hand, I motioned to a waiter that we needed a place to sit. He merely pushed the dirty dishes from the previous guests off to the other side of the table and motioned for us to sit
down. We waited for him to bring silverware, but he never did. We asked him for utensils, he brought none. Finally my partner had to walk back to the wait-station to acquire the utensils needed to eat our breakfast. We also had no beverages, the orange juice dispenser
was empty, as was the pitcher of water, not that there were any glasses to be had anyway. No one offered coffee, we finally had to ask before it was brought to us.

Our experiences with the restaurant, as well as the front desk's unwillingness to abide by their own policies really left a bad taste in our mouth (no pun intended) and definitely put us off from ever considering them in the future.

But with all of that said, we experienced what was arguably the best bellboy/concierge ever. He introduced himself as George, I'm sure it's probably Jorge. But regardless, his English is good and he has a wealth of information available regarding directions, restaurant
recommendations, etc. If it weren't for our experience with the restaurant I would give this property a glowing recommendation just on our experience with George. On our last evening we gave him a rather large tip for all of the help and information he gave us. George was
outstanding in an otherwise lackluster stay.

Bits and pieces: The front desk can book tours, including a tequila tour. Wi-Fi works best in the lobby, but is weak, spotty and drops frequently in the rooms. There are three computers for Internet access located adjacent to the front desk in a small room. If you're up early, before anyone else on your floor, the hot water takes forever to arrive, but once it does it is hot and plentiful. The elevator can be painfully slow, has a tendency to bump around and
doesn't always stop level with the floor. The property claims to be nonsmoking, but it is not enforced. Airport transfers can be arranged with the front desk for less than the cost of a taxi. The rooftop bar has been abandoned, and while the adjacent pool is nice, the water is
freezing.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the building, they're on a busy, noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RandyRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

A lot of hotels to choose from in the centro historico area. After checking into the Roma (at $54 per night), I saw better hotels priced just a bit more, but decided to stay on at the Roma anyway, as this was just a 2-night stay. Also because room, bed, sleep conditions comfortable in a city where street noise can be a problem. Not all rooms the same size and some in better nick. Second floor seemed newer. Cable TV limiited channels -- nothing in English. Free wifi signal was weak, barely passable in room 233. Breakfast included was basic. This is 3-star hostelry -- nothing more, nothing less. They have a problem with alarm clocks in rooms going off that they need to get right. (Note: This hotel appears to be in process of a name change.)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

The hotel we had reserved for our stay in Guadalajara was too hot (no A/C) and noisy, so we wandered around and found Hotel Roma. It was recommended in one of our guide books. We would definitely stay here again.

It's just a block from the historic center with the catedral and Teatro Degollado. Although it is centrally located, we had a very quiet room that faced a pedestrian walkway. We paid about $50 a night including tax for a room for two adults and one child. The room was pretty typical to a mid-scale US hotel. It had two double beds, phone, alarm clock, bathroom with shower and toiletries, A/C and a nice-sized closet. It didn't have as many TV stations as other places we've stayed, and they were all in Spanish. They did have free wifi in the rooms, but you have to go down the street to an Internet cafe (there are many) if you don't bring your computer.

We really enjoyed the roof-top pool (not heated, so I don't know if it would be comfortable in the winter). The lobby was very nice, and the people at the front desk were very helpful and accommodating for our requests. Alfredo spoke perfect English, but you'll want to have some Spanish if you talk with the other staff at the front desk.

The only thing we can't recommend is the breakfast on the rooftop. Much better alternatives are La Gorda and La Chata just a block or two away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: las camas King son confortables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 11eduardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana A, Manager at Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleCabreraMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana A, Manager at Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gran Hotel Centro Historico
0.2 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro
One Guadalajara Centro
#24 of 131 in Guadalajara
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#1 of 131 in Guadalajara
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#27 of 131 in Guadalajara
379 reviews
1.7 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#34 of 131 in Guadalajara
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
#94 of 131 in Guadalajara
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center

Address: Avenida Juarez 170, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 131 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range: £39 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing