We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID IT !!”
Review of Hotel Frances

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Frances
Ranked #63 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“AVOID IT !!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Old run down, dirty bathroom, cockroach, noisy on top of discoteque ... need I say more?? Just go somewhere else !
No parking space and next to impossible to park in the front. Had to stop traffic to get luggage out of the car.

Room Tip: No good room here, just go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    86
    51
    23
    38
See reviews for
57
66
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san miguel de allende
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Finding myself stuck in Guadalajara after missing a bus connection, I stayed here overnight. The location couldn't be better, in the midst of the centro historico and the ancient building has many charms. Vast hallways hung with old photographs, high ceilings and an antique elevator delighted me. The front desk was efficient and my wake up call came as ordered. The rooms are fairly run down and my bed was lumpier than most Mexican budget hotels I've frequented. The door locks were pretty flimsy and the French doors leading to the balcony didn't really close. I had a single room which was pretty small and not a great value for the money. In reading the reviews of others, it sounds like the bigger rooms are a better deal. Like many hotels in Mexico, it's loud and light sleepers will benefit from earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by our recent two night stay at Hotel Frances. For a reasonable price and with an ideal location, we enjoyed our weekend away. Friday and Saturday night featured amazing Mariachi in the atrium that we will be back for. The rooms felt clean and they even allowed our small dog to stay with us without a fuss. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a moderate place to stay in Guadalajara.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrossetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Waukomis, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The historic Hotel Frances, established 1610, was recommended by friends. We arrived, by car, early on a weekday eve. We had no reservation, but were offered a king-bed "suite" with jacuzzi tub room 105, on the 2nd floor. Price $819 pesos, or about $68 USD at the current exchange rate. Charming and quaint, with 12-ft ceilings, antique furnishings, and Romeo/Juliet balconies off both the bedroom and the bathroom, facing the back side of the Guadalajara Presidencia Municipal across the street. It was cool to watch the changing of the guards, as well as the "for-hire" horse-drawn carriages along our cobblestone street.

The main floor of the hotel houses the small reception area, the restaurant, and a large center atrium area with seating groupings around a center fountain. The upper floors of the hotel house the rooms, built in a mezzanine style, overlooking the center bar area. There is wifi in the center lounge/bar area, and sporadically in the room.

We enjoyed before-dinner cocktails in the center lounge/bar area, served by an efficient and friendly bartender. Although the hotel liquor selection didn't offer our brands of choice, we substituted and settled for other.

Sipping our drinks, immersed in the beautiful wood, marble, and stained glass workmanship in an over 400-year old hotel, we were appalled to watch a man disrespectfully dump his drink into the fountain!

As our hotel restaurant closed at 8pm, we wandered the nearby quadrant in search of a nice restaurant; unfortunately there's not much variety in the area, so, again, we settled for something less.

Now...here are some of the unpleasant issues we encountered:
Parking is valet parking, with a loading area in front of the hotel. The bellman merely watched us unload our car and load our belongings onto the bell cart ourselves, with no assistance from him, but then he offered to pull the cart to our room for a tip.
The jacuzzi tub is situated so that shower water soaked the bathroom floor.
Small skinny towels, no washcloths or hand towels.
Minimal electrical outlets needed to revive our electronics, although there is wifi.
No hair dryer.
There is no a/c, but there is a ceiling fan.
The bedroom was quite stuffy, so we left the unscreened balcony doors open to the street.
The horse-drawn carriages operate until late at night, periodically clopping along the cobblestone street.
The corner restaurant played loud music until 10:30.
Mosquitoes and "no-see-ums" feasted on us thru-out the night.
Theft at valet parking.

With no time to explore the area during daylight hours, we left early the next morning, having waited 15-20 minutes for our car. We tipped the valet, again loaded our car ourselves, and took off in the midst of Guadalajara rush-hour. Shortly after leaving the hotel, we were very disappointed to note that our car had been emptied of everything we had left in it the night before ....a roll of paper towels, a package of white terry cloth work towels, and a few small pesos!

We would stay here again, under different circumstances.

Room Tip: This hotel would be interesting and intriguing to travelers planning a few days/nights in the heart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is an historical gem! The Spanish colonial architecture is authentic - the hotel dates to 1600s! The dark wood, historic photos, iron work, fountain in the center of the atrium, rooms surrounding it, tile floors (sparklong clean) all created the feeling that Pancho Villa might walk into the bar at any moment, spurs jingling! Right in the city centre, the Teatro Degollado, cathedral, three plazas, the museos are all nearby as are many cafes and restaurants. We really felt that we had arrived in Mexico! We'll return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnvale,CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My family and I stayed at the historic hotel Frances during Mexican Independence Day. Just around the corner, El Grito took place by the governor of Jalisco at the palace. The hotel Frances is in the middle of it all. For example, Teatro Degollado and a cathedral are just one block away, along with many stores and restaurants.
The hotel itself, if I recall was built in the 16th century and many of the rooms have been updated. Although, the penthouse I rented did not seem to be remodeled, but it was convenient for my family of 5. It had 2 bedrooms and in each room there were 2 full beds, an average size closet and a dresser drawer, along with a tv in each room.This suite also had 2 bathrooms and a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, and sink. The living area is very spacious.
For entertainment, this hotel provides a mariachi band on Saturday night at no cost. There is also a bar in the lobby which was manned by a nice gentleman nicknamed,"El Capitan."
Personally, I didnt ask for much when I stayed at this hotel. At the least, i want a very clean living environment with kind and helpful employees. I feel the hotel Frances met my expectations.
A warning about the one elevator;you must have patience. It is very slow, but once inside, you will find pictures of Charles Bronson on one wall(a scene from one of his movies was filmed at this hotel). I wanted to add that there is so much auto traffic in this area. I suggest taking a taxi to the hotel Frances. There are so many things to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin TX
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Ok let's be frank. There is not a single hotel like this in the USA. Nada. Something like this is NOT going to be like a starchy Holiday Inn back home so if you are looking for everything from the floor to the towels to be washed in bleach then don't go here. On the other hand if you want to stay in a hotel that was used for a 1983 CIA mystery murder movie - The Evil that Men do - then this is your place. Only the rotary dial phones have changed. Book a second (aka 3rd in US) floor room. It's quieter. Write and ask for jacuzzi from their website. I think you need a junior suite for that. Valet parking is free. If you don't like this place then you have no sense of adventure and you should stay home and check into the local Motel 6 for the weekend. The neiborhood is great too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterPakChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
#93 of 128 in Guadalajara
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#27 of 128 in Guadalajara
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#25 of 128 in Guadalajara
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#50 of 128 in Guadalajara
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#10 of 128 in Guadalajara
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frances

Property: Hotel Frances
Address: Calle Maestranza No. 35, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Frances 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in the long history of Guadalajara, the Francés, was founded in 1610 as “El Mesón de San José” to provide shelter for short to traveling merchants.El más antiguo hotel en la larga historia de Guadalajara, el Francés, fue fundado en 1610 como “El Mesón de San José” para dar albergue por temporadas cortas a comerciantes viajeros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Frances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frances Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing