We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here, you will not sleep.”
Review of Hotel Frances

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Frances
Ranked #64 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Do not stay here, you will not sleep.”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

There is a good reason they want payment at check-in. While the hotel is clean and comfortable, even though it could use some refurbishment, the Disco in the basement of the Hotel booms throughout the rooms from 8:00 p.m. until 3:00 a.m., nightly so you will have difficulty sleeping. I am sure one night is enough for most people, hence wanting full payment at check-in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    83
    50
    23
    37
See reviews for
54
66
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in a very convenient location for first time visitors. Lots of shopping, restaurants, tour busses, museums and theatre. Hotel has lots of character and loved the atmosphere including the very old elevator which has a total character it's self. There is a lovely view from the roof and well worth climbing the stairs to the very top. Rooms are an average size except if you happen to have booked a suite. The only downside of our stay was the DISCO. The music was so loud and continued till approx 3am, and that was every night. Even earplugs didn't block out the sound and of course there was the vibration through the floor. Other than the not so good sleeping music we loved the hotel..and the price was great

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Architecture is wonderful. customer service- a dud. Front desk is only minimally helpful and not friendly. We were asked to leave on the 4th day of a five night stay without explanation just "get out"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

Mackenzie, B. C.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Why does a 17th century hotel have a disco booming away until 3:00 AM during the week? If they need the money, raise the room rates. Room was clean and spacious (and directly above the afore mentioned disco). Outside was a small playa, open to sky, marked No Smoking, where the staff regularly smoked and left buts on the floor. Much character in hotel, some of it good. Bar staff was excellent, front desk acceptable and the restaurant a little shop of horrors. Location spectacular.

Room Tip: Stay away from the @#%? disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigo O, Gerente at Hotel Frances, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, we will take the necessary measures so that this does not happen again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in Feb 2014 & will likely stay here again next time we're in town. It was pretty much what we expected based on all the reviews here, so if you read the positive and negative you'll have a good idea what you'll get. To summarize, dated but charming... not a modern, luxury hotel, but our experience was very good nonetheless.

I'd recommend asking for a room with a window or balcony, as these are brighter. And they've built some new rooms on the rooftop terrace that look to be fairly modern... the rest of the rooms are comfortable but very dated.

Here's a summary of our experience... first the positive:
- The location is fantastic. 1/2 block off one of the main plazas in the historical district, on a small, safe side street at the corner of a pedestrian shopping street. Good dining, cafes, shopping right out the door. We chose Hotel Frances over others nearby because when I looked at Google street view it looked like the streets were full of people, while streets around many of the other hotels looked dead in comparison. This did turn out to be the case... even walking back to the hotel around 11pm felt safe, since there were lots of other people about. That isn't the case for some of the other hotels just a few blocks away.
- Hotel service was very good. The staff were gracious and bent over backwards to help. It seemed like many spoke decent English, though I didn't need that myself.
- The rooftop terrace is a peaceful place for sunbathing or a late-night drink/conversation. (There's not a bar up there... strictly BYO).

The neutral:
-the elevator only has to go between 4 floors, so while it's slow, I wouldn't say we waited longer than at hotels with modern elevators. Our only snag was that It only works if the last user has closed the door properly, so I had to run up the stairs once to close the door on the 3rd floor and bring the elevator downstairs for my wife (she had a hurt leg and couldn't use the stairs). The hotel staff would likely do this for you if no one in your group was able/willing to use the stairs. And again, this only happened once in 4 days.
-the room was pleasant but old-fashioned. The furniture looked like what my grandmother had when I was a kid (i.e. already dated 35 years ago). The bed was comfortable, but certainly not a modern Posture-Pedic mattress.
-street noise was about what you'd expect for a bustling pedestrian area in Latin America -- people & music in the street in the daytime, not overwhelmingly loud. The disco next door would only be a problem if you're trying to sleep earlp... it was generally shutting down by the time we got back to our room (10 or 11pm). If you go to bed early that might be an issue depending on the location of your room -- If you mention that when you reserve, I'd imagine they'd they can probably give you a quieter room. The newer rooftop rooms might be a good option for peace.

The bad:
- We did see a few cockroaches in the bathroom. Fortunately they were of the small (1cm) variety, and none were seen outside the bathroom.
- I'd put the bathroom as a whole in the slightly negative category. It was poorly laid out, so one had to squeeze by the sink,toilet, etc even though it was a fairly large space. And the tub was deep, so one had to be somewhat agile to get in and take a shower.
- parking might be a problem if you've got a car... I'd recommend calling to find out if there's any available.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking for a room with a window or balcony, as these are brighter. And they'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigo O, Gerente at Hotel Frances, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We look forward to returning again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

History is not a Holiday Inn....the Hotel Frances is in the heart of the city, and its charm dates back to 1610, when it was built. People who are too impatient to wait a couple of minutes for the truly antique elevator to arrive are either in the wrong place or need to take the stairs and get some exercise! Our penthouse suite had 1 king and 1 double bed -- and a jacuzzi that was just perfect at the end of a long day. Previous complaints (on trip advisor) about the towels have obviously been addressed by management...they were lovely, nicely monogrammed and plenty fluffy. Humberto, the bartender in the gracious lobby bar, was charming and made a great margarita (or 2 or 3).

We were shown to the wrong room upon arrival (not the suite we had booked), but were quickly taken care of when the bellman called the front desk. As for parking -- they have valet service -- which worked well for us! As for noise, it all seemed relatively quiet to us...cities are never really quiet, and the music downstairs stopped at a reasonable hour.

If "modern" is not one of your requirements, enjoy the ambiance!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marynary2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Old run down, dirty bathroom, cockroach, noisy on top of discoteque ... need I say more?? Just go somewhere else !
No parking space and next to impossible to park in the front. Had to stop traffic to get luggage out of the car.

Room Tip: No good room here, just go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
#93 of 128 in Guadalajara
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#25 of 128 in Guadalajara
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#31 of 128 in Guadalajara
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#14 of 128 in Guadalajara
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#48 of 128 in Guadalajara
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frances

Property: Hotel Frances
Address: Calle Maestranza No. 35, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Frances 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in the long history of Guadalajara, the Francés, was founded in 1610 as “El Mesón de San José” to provide shelter for short to traveling merchants.El más antiguo hotel en la larga historia de Guadalajara, el Francés, fue fundado en 1610 como “El Mesón de San José” para dar albergue por temporadas cortas a comerciantes viajeros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Frances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frances Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing