We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel la Rotonda

Hotel la Rotonda
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel la Rotonda
Ranked #66 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“outstanding experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

Hotel Rotonda is centrally located in GDL and has an exceptional staff willing to assist in whatever way possible to make the experience most inviting. The room was on the street side and had a small balcony. Bathrooms well equiped and spacious. I liked very much the comfort of the room and its cleanliness when I arrived. Daily service to prepare the room was completed without delay. I enjoyed the street view but if you are looking for quiet, perhaps another hotel would be best suited for you.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CowboyJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    28
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
14
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

I have stayed at La Rotonda two times over the past year or two. It is very comfortable and well located downtown, but in a very busy area. The front desk is always ready to help and very friendly and professional. The lobby is really non existent, with a small sofa and a couple chairs. The rest of the pretty lobby is not very well used, sometimes for larger business groups and for a nice buffet breakfast (although not all mornings of the week).
The building is old and elegant, with small courtyards near the rooms as you proceed back past the dining/lobby area. Some of the courtyards have tables and chairs, nice and comfortable places to relax after the mayhem outside the front doors. The room was very pleasant and clean. Overall, the hotel is an excellenet bargain. I'm sure I will stay there again soon!

  • Liked — style
  • Disliked — lobby set-up
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SouthCarolinaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calexico, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

The location is great. Moved to another hotel due to noise from the lobby. First night it was at 1:30 AM in the morning the second at 11:30 PM in the evening.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The noise and the old 2 hole type of outlets.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fromlagarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympia, washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

Spent five nights here last week and highly recommend. Good location, fair rates, and helpful staff. It's a well-run three star hotel with clean rooms and cable tv. We stayed in a streetside room with a balcony, and while a bit noisy, enjoyed the evening breezes. Ceiling fan was all that was needed. They have a restaurant on site and provide friendly service whether for a bucket of ice or a half-dozen limes.

You can spend a lot more at the Mendoza, but this is an excellent choice for the money.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tamale56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melaque ,jalisco,mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2008

we were suppused to pay 860 pesos for 2 days we ended up paying 860 per day,
had a room facing the dining room very noisy

as i could see all the inside rooms are noisy
I complained to desk clerk and he did not even lower his radio
would not stay there again

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank art1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

My wife and I spent 3 nights at La Rotonda a couple of weeks ago. Overall it was a good experience.
This hotel is located two blocks from the Cathedral, right next to the Regional Museum; perfect for sightseeing. It is located in an old house that was a school, that was a convent, etc. The hotel actualy goes through the whole block, from one side to the other. It has many inner courtyards that are usually very quiet and clean. The rooms look out onto one of these many courtyards. As we found out, this can be a disadvantage as one guest in our courtyard either didn't know or didn't care about the laws of acoustics! Needless to say we had a bit of a sound-show one night.
The first courtyard is used for a daily breakfast buffet. This is not part of the room fee and we did not try it.
Our room was pretty plain. It had a desk, king-size bed, and tv. Nice updated bathroom and good sized closet.
The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. There is free parking in a garage 1-block away and safe-deposit type safes in the lobby. At $M640 we'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Historic charm
  • Disliked — Plain rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank SAzcuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2004

In June 2004, I booked a room in this hotel over the phone, one month before arriving at Guadalajara. The lady who handled my reservation (evening shift) gave me the worst room in the whole hotel : Room 28. By 5:00 in the morning, cleaners start coming in. They congregate in front of my room to talk loud, laugh, call each other, and start a boiler which makes hellish noises. My first two days were horrible. I complained to a Mexican teacher, a friend of mine who, years ago, studied in Caracas with me. He is good friend with one of the managers. He talked to him. And for the next six days I stayed in that hotel, I was assigned a much better room: Room 34. I had the first restful night of my stay only on the third day. I was very frustrated to have gotten a decent room only because of whom I know, not because of the money I had to pay to these people. Nevertheless, I know this hotel enough now to be able to obtain a good room in it. Beware of this evening lady attendant. She is useless. Make all your reservation during the day. Thank you for the opportunity you gave me to vent my frustration. God bless you. Sincerely yours, V.J.C.

Helpful?
18 Thank Vjusteconstant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frances
Hotel Frances
#64 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#50 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#33 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fenix Hotel
Fenix Hotel
#95 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Rotonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Rotonda

Property: Hotel la Rotonda
Address: Calle Liceo # 130 | Zona Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel la Rotonda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel la Rotonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rotonda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing