We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-budget Option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Ranked #89 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here for three nights in late November. It is an older hotel, and the rooms show their age. However, they are clean, and the hot water worked well. The hotel is near all the downtown sights. The location is off the main streets, so is relatively quiet in the evenings, but can be a bit dodgy if one is uncomfortable at night in dimly lighted streets. Not all rooms have views, my room's window looked out at the adjacent car park, five feet away. Other rooms looking out on the street likely will cost more. Most of the clientele were Mexican middle class families and small-business people. The restaurant was busy for breakfast, but quiet in the evenings. I got a good deal from Expedia, so was pleased with my stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestcoastPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights. We arrived at 8 am and they let us check in and have a room. Room was decent but bathroom needed an update. Hot water never came through on one of the mornings. Shower faucet kept dripping. Fixtures were worn with brass showing through. Wi fi kept fading in and out

Public areas were nice.

Would try to find something a little better next time

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank twah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

First of all, I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because of the Building (mostly), and the location, but this property has serious problems, and this beautiful building deserves to get some attention by the ownership.

As I said, this is a beautiful romantic old building, I don't really know if it was built to be a hotel or if it was a mansion or some other building before, what I know for sure is that most people who call this a "Colonial Building" are terribly wrong, this property must be built in the late 19th century or even in the early 20th century, i know this for my personal knowledge of Mexican Architecture, this is NOT a from the Spanish Viceroyalty era. The property 1 block from there i is though, Hotel Morales.

Still this is a charming building, very well kept and groomed, at least in the exterior and Public Spaces. It has several interior gardens or patios, very high ceilings, even in guest rooms, problably 15 or 16ft tall. There are Spanish era-style fountains in the patios, including the outdoors dining area in the Restaurant. If this is what you want for your vacation or getaway, this is the place, considering the very but very affordable prices.

I think the staff is polite and friendly, all of them, I don't understand why some people here say the opposite.

I disagree with people who say the Breakfast buffet is great, it is not even good, it is OK, too greasy for my taste. But once again, the area is beautiful.

The main problem here are the guest rooms. This hotel needs a serious renovation ASAP!. The hotel draperies don't have blackout, so there's plenty of light coming thru the drapes all the time, not only during daytime, but also during nighttime since the aisles' lights are on all night long. (see my pictures).

Both drapery & bedding are outdated; they could do wonderful things with new bedding & new drapes adding blackout of course; furniture is fine and appropiate for this hotel. The bed (mattress and box spring) is too short, not what you find in a hotel room now. This could be too expensive, but they should consider this. Their linens are terrible too. They have an old box TV horrible mounted to the wall with IKEA style wall brackets, also, they gave me a run down remote with the batteries hanging with tape. Most of the times, didn't work.

The worst feature and probably the most expensive to fix is the bathroom, it has a heavy sewage smell, not all the time though, but sometimes, it can be terrible, those 1980's doors should go too, a regular shower curtain would look way nicer, and the cheap 1970's ceramic tiles are awful and run down too. Maybe the smell is because of how old the building is but they should try to find a solution. I am not saying this hotel is dirty and unsanitary, it is actually very clean, including the guest rooms. So, no worries about this.

The other problem is the noise. I don't mind it at all, by the way, but some people might consider it unbearable, and once again, it would be difficult to fix, it would be way too expensive, and unncessary. The hotel has ceramic tiles in the corridors, so, when people are checking in or out in the middle of the night, you will hear the noise super loud, a carpet would help, of course, but the tiles look way more appropiate for this property. Also, you can hear the cars outside, and everything else. The A/C unit has an annoying noise from time to time also.

Still, hard to believe, but we really loved this property, I believe the ownership should get a loan to update this charming property's guest rooms and they could raise a star and raise the prices of rooms. This property deserves it.

I would stay here again, I didn't try to be mean, but honest, the price is a GREAT deal, look for it in Expedia or Priceline and you will see what I am talking about.

So, if you are on a budget, if you want to be in Guadalajara Historic Center and you don't mind a little noise and light in your room, and the smelly bathroom, you should stay here. Because this is a great value in a charming historic building.

Room Tip: If you get a balcony, try to get a room facing the interior of the building not the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoFito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here for part of trip while vacationing in Guadalajara. The location was great and it was easy to walk to all the major historical attractions. The price was good at about 35 bucks a night and the breakfast buffet was about 7.50 bucks and it filled me up till dinner time. The staff were helpful, I stayed for 4 nights and was going to extend but was told the price went up---so I changed hotels and went to Hotel Dali. The room was very basic but clean, it's not a fancy, schmancy hotel but it did the trick for me since I don't like paying crazy amounts of money for a hotel. I liked the colonial style architecture and the open courtyard. Also there was Wi-fi, I would stay here again. If you are looking for Hilton style hotel this is NOT your place, but if you wanna cheap, safe hotel with good breakfast food right downstairs then this may be what you are looking for. Also, there is this cool little gay bar across the street with this cool juke box and HOT bartender!

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabberjawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very nice hotel. Rooms are large and clean, with aircon, tv. Very close to center, historical sights. Restaurant downstairs is good for breakfast. Wi-fi is a bit spotty in the rooms but is usually okay in the lobby. Many birds in cages near the fountain in the lobby, seem to be well cared for.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs and away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aneles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I've stayed the Hotel San Francisco Plaza, as a recommendation from someone who lives in Guadajalara, and it was the best recommendation. The room was spacious and clean. I love the tall rooms! It is an old building, but they do a great job of keeping it clean. The parking is a bit tricky, but if you don't mind parking a block away, it is a pretty safe walk. You are just minutes from the Teatro Degollado and the Cathedral. Honestly, it can't get better for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great hotel if you want to be near the center of town. Very reasonably priced, the only problem i encountered was the air conditioning not cooling. we were promptly moved to another room. would definitly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRIDA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#64 of 130 in Guadalajara
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#49 of 130 in Guadalajara
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santiago De Compostela
Santiago De Compostela
#57 of 130 in Guadalajara
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nueva Galicia
Hotel Nueva Galicia
#125 of 130 in Guadalajara
16 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Hotel and Suites
Country Hotel and Suites
#40 of 130 in Guadalajara
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#12 of 130 in Guadalajara
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Address: Calle Degollado 267, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range: £22 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Francisco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Plaza Guadalajara
San Francisco Plaza Hotel
Hotel San Francisco Plaza Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing