We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not satisfied...asked for a refund 5 as soon as I entered the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mision Guadalajara Carlton
Ranked #40 of 129 Hotels in Guadalajara
Mty, Nl
1 review
“Not satisfied...asked for a refund 5 as soon as I entered the room”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Smelly room, bathroom, and hallways, stained carpets, with cigarette burns.

They charge for parking, didn´t ,like that either.

Staff is very kind, and had no trouble giving me a refund so I could check in at a different hotel.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ivan577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    75
    65
    48
    52
See reviews for
89
42
11
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I was here for 7 nights. I agree with the other reviews that talked about the noisy street and hot, stuffy rooms. I tried to keep my door open when I could just to get some air into my room but I really needed a working air conditioner or windows that could open. Mattress was terrible and smelled of some really bad perfume. The internet was good most of the time. The toilet didn't flush well. Overall, the hotel is clean enough but the towels and bedding are very old. The carpet is worn and stained. The restaurant personnel were pleasant and the food was OK. The view outside of the room is a Wal-mart. You can walk to the historic district from here but it is several blocks away. I would definitely stay away from this hotel or make sure that you get a better room than the one that I had.

Room Tip: I would try for a higher floor (I was on the 5th floor). Some of my colleagues seemed to have rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision Guadalajara Carlton, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you in advance for your comments, we would like to inform you that the hotel had a change of administration by which we are improving our facilities to provide our customers an incredible and comfortable stay to cover all your expectations.
Best regards.
Federico Goyeneche S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

pacific northwest
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This place was ok. I didn't have black water in my toilet like one other reviewer, but the shower drain was slow. Basic, clean enough, the bed was fine, the decor is 80's. The internet was fast.

One key to what's up with this place is the 1.5" thick sound deadening panels that slide in front of the window to function as curtains.

It's loud outside. Wow. Guadalajara is like Mexico City 15 years ago, with the lines of belching buses a mere 7 stories below. It's really not in a horrible location in terms of walking into the centro, but you have to find the quiet side street that is one block beyond the main drag heading in.

I only stayed here two nights, I wasn't paying for the room and didn't choose the hotel, and don't have anything really to complain about. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here, and if I wanted specifically to hang in the centro historico, I'd definitely find a place nearer to it.

Room Tip: Maybe in the back somewhere on one of the topmost floors?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ektarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

It's filthy, smelly and horrible. Place hasn't had any maintenance in years. Mold is an issue. Water in the toilet is black. When I looked in the tank to see why it flushed with black water I realized that it's because they are using black water for the toilet. Disgusting.

The decor is a throwback to the 70s (because they haven't changed anything since that era) and if you are into orange you will love the place. Ha! Ha!

Don't get me going on the bed. I'm stuck here because of the Pan American Games. Help!!!

Room Tip: No such thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week. It was terrible! The location is bad, the street is very noisy.
The A/C didn't work and we couldn't open any windows.
All windows in every room are nailed down. You can't open them.
Towels and sheets looked old and had stains.
Room cleaning service does a terrible job also.
To get the remote for your tv you have to go to the front desk and then you have to bring it back when you're leaving, or they won't sign you out.
Breakfast doesn't taste very good.
The elevator is veeeeeery slow.
Don't stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusechkaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF bay area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Good location within walking/taxi distance of the historical sites, and Walmart across the street (best xcange rate under $50). Helpful and friendly English speaking valet drivers and staff. Spacious lobby, nice restaurant and large pool. Slightly understaffed at desk but professional. No ice machines and room service takes 45 minutes for anything. No microwave or refer in room and checkout long process to check mini bar. Took 2 hrs to get towels and about 5 hours to get second room although busy day. Clean no AC temp controls. Very good price since needed 2 rooms, was not expecting a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valuethriftguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.5 mi away
Perla Central Hotel
Perla Central Hotel
#44 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Las Torres
0.9 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#27 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Real Inn Guadalajara Centro
Real Inn Guadalajara Centro
#78 of 129 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Hotel and Suites
Country Hotel and Suites
#46 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#14 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Guadalajara Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Guadalajara Carlton

Property: Mision Guadalajara Carlton
Address: Ave Ninos Heroes 125 | Col Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 129 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision Guadalajara Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our hotel in Guadalajara stay at our first class facilities with the rate indicated for you. Great for leisure or work because of a strategic location in the center of Guadalajara, near the main government offices, transport facilities and attractions Guadalajara. Our Hotel in Guadalajara has 207 fully equipped rooms. In addition we offer more than 10 spaces with capacity from 10 to 1200 people with everything needed to perform their social and business events. We have a prime location in the heart of the city just 20 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Expo Guadalajara, a few blocks from the historic center and near museums like the Regional Museum of Guadalajara or the Crafts Institute of Jalisco. Our hotel in Guadalajara is perfect for quality time as we have a restaurant, bar, pool, landscaping, shop, boutique, beauty and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mision Guadalajara Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mision Carlton Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Mision Carlton Hotel Guadalajara
Guadalajara Mision Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing