We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mision Guadalajara Carlton
Ranked #54 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Reviewed 25 July 2007

Came in early to GDL from Morelia and tried to find a place to lay our tried heads. We ended up at Carlton after a 30 min search for hotels near the center of town. This hotel is not near the center nor any attractions so you must have a car. Our biggest problem was that the hotel is dated. The sheets smelled like mildew and the pillows did as well. The carpets were utterly dirty and the bathroom was DIRTY and smelly. We checked in at 5 am at a rate of 117.00 US dollars and checked out at 9am and never used the bathroom.
I would not recommend this place to anyone not even the locals. We travel in Mexico every year and this hotel was the worst. Luckily when my wife checked us out the hotel gave us a credit of 56.00 dollars.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank MexVacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2007

As part of a packaged tour we stayed at the Mision Carlton. Disappointed that the hotel was located in the auto dealership area of town with a Super Walmart across the street -- No restaurants visable in the area within walking distance. No sightseeing in the area nor anywhere to walk for leisure outside of the hotel.

The room was adequate. Clean, large, but sparse in furnishings. The rooms on the upper floors were considered a higher grade room than the standard rooms on the lower floors.

The service from the bellman, doorman, and front desk was good and they were helpful in answering any of our questions.

We only ate breakfast at the restaurant, which was included in our tour. Nice buffet selections and an atmosphere with a nice view.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alongfortheride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

Stay in this hotel for 2 nights, the only problem was the bed, the mattress had a foul odor, I had to sleep on top of the comforter, that reduced the smell. They also advertise roorms with A/C but there is no thermostate and only the flow of stale air comes out, fortunately, it was raining and cool outside, you can't open the windows either.

Wouldn;t stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherkam47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Alma, Michigan
23
Reviewed 23 May 2006

I stayed here for about a week and did not seem to have the problems of other people who reviewed this hotel. Yes, the decor was outdated and needed some improvements and renovations. However, my room was clean, linens and towels were changed daily. The hotel does not have much for on site entertainment so plan to spend your time elsewhere. If you want a place to sleep and a shower in the morning this is a good hotel and given the price ($69/night) you aren't paying for the Ritz-Carlton. The staff was friendly and the valets were willing to help and answered questions. The location was out of the way for most sites but even to downtown area the walk isn't terrible and busses and taxis pass regularly. Overall, I would stay again should I need a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
USA
11
Reviewed 16 May 2006

Mision Carlton - a room with

1. stained carpet
2. air smelling like a sewage
3. hair all over the unwashed bedsheet
4. torn comforter
5. bed bugs

We moved to three different rooms within the first hour and were hesitant to move again,
because each of the room had an unique problem of its own.

The Staff were friendly, but not the rooms.

We were desparate to get out of this place, walked 5 miles to Mexicana airlines office to get our air-tickets pre-poned, but to our bad luck, the fligth was booked for the next two days. We felt cheated, never felt this terrible ever.

We would prefer staying at a Motel 6 or something cheaper than stay at Mision Carlton - they should tear down this place and in-fact build a Motel 6.

PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE.

Some web-sites, rate this palce as 3-star .. a big LIE.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte,NC.
23
Reviewed 2 December 2005

The initial impression is favourable but I think the receptionist was a trainee and the only English speaker was the doorman.
The rooms needed a major upgrade of furniture and decor.
The TV had only button controls and the channel changer button was missing.
I decided to miss out on a shower in the morning, as the bath and shower curtain had not been cleaned in years. I kept my socks on while in the room.
The bar consisted of a table in the lobby with 4 assorted bottles.....atmosphere zero.
Our group of 4 business travellers decided to cut short our 4 night stay, to one night, as it was late.
We will never stay there again.
Next day,we found a superb hotel in Tlaquepaque for the same price and we are keeping it a secret.

  • Stayed: November 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
25
Reviewed 20 July 2005

NEVER will I ever stay at this hotel. When I got there there was no soap or shampoo. The room smelled like cigarettes and the alarm was not reset, so the next morning the alarm woke me up at 7 in the morning (this after a whole day on a bus to get there). The bed had springs poking me in the upper back area. The best part of this hotel, besides leaving, was the free internet access. Even then they still had problems. One of the two computers was not working. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Las Torres
0.8 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#21 of 130 in Guadalajara
227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
#6 of 130 in Guadalajara
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Eco Hotel Guadalajara Expo
Eco Hotel Guadalajara Expo
#59 of 130 in Guadalajara
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Perla Central Hotel
Perla Central Hotel
#45 of 130 in Guadalajara
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro
One Guadalajara Centro
#28 of 130 in Guadalajara
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Guadalajara Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Guadalajara Carlton

Address: Ave Ninos Heroes 125 | Col Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range: £32 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision Guadalajara Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our hotel in Guadalajara stay at our first class facilities with the rate indicated for you. Great for leisure or work because of a strategic location in the center of Guadalajara, near the main government offices, transport facilities and attractions Guadalajara. Our Hotel in Guadalajara has 207 fully equipped rooms. In addition we offer more than 10 spaces with capacity from 10 to 1200 people with everything needed to perform their social and business events. We have a prime location in the heart of the city just 20 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Expo Guadalajara, a few blocks from the historic center and near museums like the Regional Museum of Guadalajara or the Crafts Institute of Jalisco. Our hotel in Guadalajara is perfect for quality time as we have a restaurant, bar, pool, landscaping, shop, boutique, beauty and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mision Guadalajara Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mision Carlton Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Mision Carlton Hotel Guadalajara
Guadalajara Mision Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing