We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff”
Review of Malibu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malibu Hotel
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
1 review
“Fantastic staff”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We travel often in Mexico and look for quality. Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. It's not a new hotel but they've remodeled and it looks great. Remember the city is huge but the staff will be glad to help you plan your stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCaliPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    75
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
80
27
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed in this hotel on two occaisions over a 10 day period. 2 days at either end of the duration. Staff is extremely friendly and maybe 25% speak English, which was fine. Upon arrival, I noticed the room we had, the front window and the window in the shower could not secured properly. The second room was exactly the same. There is nowhere you can actually walk. So many taxis are the norm. Their prices(taxis) are all over the map. Going to same place, numerous times, prices ranged from a low of 50 pesos to a high of 150. Traffic is nuts in Gaudalajara. Whatever you do, don't drive. Rooms are small, but very clean. Free buffet breakfast is supplied in the restaurant and is very good. The bar, Mon to Friday has a free happy hour from 7-8 p.m. Only Tequila, Vodka, and Rum mixed drinks are availabe for free. Cervaza was 35 pesos. It is across from a large flour mill, and it does have a hint of odour when loading huge trucks, but I have experienced much worse smells in many places in Mexico. Would I stay there again, NO, because I won't be in Gualdahara agian.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reggie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We went to Expo Antad 2011 in March and stayed at this hotel, standard room in the tower (less noise but not so big room) the room was always clean and everything in place each day we arrived from the expo, never had issues with the room or its services including air conditioning, the standard room is very good to be the lowest price available, it even includes a mini refrigerator which we loved :) the bar provided us with a jar of ice for free, cool, the gardens and pool looks clean and well maintained, it has a gym and the buffet each morning is very very nice, they have a musician to enjoy your breakfast better :)
The personel is very kind and always willing to help you
The location may look not good but it really is, you have the downtown at 15 min in taxi which are a bit expensive but not too much and the hotel can call for one, and the expo is at 10 min, also there is this Gran Plaza mall which have movie theater, and is very big lots of stores and food, if you need to go somewhere and there are plenty of people or big cargo you can ask for transportation in a van from the hotel and is not expensive.
The only thing I did not like is that there is a flour factory or something in front which at certain hours you can smell something that comes from there that smells bad but only when you are out of the hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

My family of four, (two teenagers), stayed here one night because we were under the mistaken impression that it was close to the American Consulate. I booked through Expedia, but the hotel would not honor the price and we ended up paying $40 more for the room, which made the price outrageous! DO NOT Book with EXPEDIA if you are traveling with children over 12, they will be considered adults and you will pay a lot more. In Mexico, book with the hotel directly for the best rate.

This hotel is only OK. What was billed as a suite, (the reason I was willing to pay this price at all), was just a hotel room with a tiny, tiny refrigerator, coffee maker with no coffee available, and a couch. It is a total waste of money to upgrade to a suite here.

The rooms are OK and there is a pool, but the pool water is filled with salt water. The location is awful! It is on a huge divided street with nothing but a big shopping mall next door. If you want to go to a foriegn country and spend time eating at McDonald's or Chili's, this may suit you.

BEWARE, the staff is the rudest that you will ever encounter.

Our first three nights in Guadalajara were wonderful in the historic center hotel called "Hotel Morales". We loved our visit and were enjoying Mexico, but after one night in this horror, I don't care to visit Guadalajara again.

  • Liked — There was a maybe 4' X 5' balcony.
  • Disliked — Price outrageous, wouldn't honor reservation price, rude staff, worst location ever.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcia_marcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamrock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2007

We live just south of Guad. in the little town of Chapala, MX. We get
into the city every 4-6 weeks for a few days just to enjoy the shopping, restaurants and overall "big city" life. Our driver recommended this hotel and it is one of our overall favorites.
Rooms vary from standard to suites. They are very clean (have yet to see even a dead bug), the room service is almost unbelievable in speed and efficiency. The grounds are beautiful and constantly maintained, shrubs & trees are artistically cut into various shapes of animals, etc. We spent every evening in the garden before heading out to eat.

Our room came with a full breakfast for both of us. Each morning there was live music in the restaurant, the breakfast bar was well stocked and the food was delicious. There is an "internet cafe" in the lobby with high speed access. Only 20 pesos per hour for guests.
The fact that it is next door to one of the best malls in Guad. is a definite "plus". Also, centrally located to many very good restaurants such as Santo Coyote,La Tequila, etc..This is a hotel we will frequent over & over again!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank Retired_in_MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2006

This hotel looked very nice, but in essence its only advantage is it is right next door to the big shopping centre in Guadalajara. Appart from this, the service was appauling, and I recall the night I returned from my weekend away, there was no lights, no electricity at all for that matter, and the staff were very rude to non-Spanish speaking guests. The pool is tiny and not very clean, BUT the room was acceptable and well presented. Again, the let-down with the room was the cleaners who would clean the room if and when they felt like... In the end I stayed Quinta Magna just up the road, it was cheaper and much better!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zippidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 March 2005

I stayed two nights at the Hotel Malibu recently, left for the coast over the weekend, and then came back to Guadalajara for business after the weekend. I did not return to the Hotel Malibu. I believe my room was around $90 US/night. I can not point to any one thing about the place that kept me from falling in love with the place, but it was a million little things that add up to a mediocre experience. I requested an iron and ironing board when I placed the reservation, and when I checked in not only was there no iron waiting for me (sure, that is a high expectation), but there was no record of my request, and all of the irons were in "lock down" until 8 the next morning (same time as my business meeting that brought me to town in the first place). Fortunately I had packed my shirt fairly well. One other example, I got a massage from their spa that afternoon. I am fairly certain that my masseuse had not only never given a massage before, I'm not sure she had ever even received one. It was the worst I've ever paid for. The pillows were terrible. But everything was clean and if I found it necessary to stay there again, I would not be upset...other than by the sense that there are better hotels to be had in GDL.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
#29 of 128 in Guadalajara
120 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aurea Hotel and Suites
Aurea Hotel and Suites
#26 of 128 in Guadalajara
206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
#11 of 128 in Guadalajara
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#25 of 128 in Guadalajara
367 reviews
1.2 mi away
European Life Style Suites
European Life Style Suites
#20 of 128 in Guadalajara
289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#7 of 128 in Guadalajara
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Hotel

Property: Malibu Hotel
Address: Avenida Vallarta 3993, Guadalajara 45049, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#14 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Malibu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During your next visit to Guadalajara do not hesitate to stay at Hotel Malibu, has a privileged location, close to the most important points of the city and next to the biggest shopping center. It also offers an excellent service which ensures your stay will be very pleasant and will exceed your expectations. The hotel has 170 comfortable and safe rooms with services tailored to suit your needs. Our rooms are equipped with LCD screen, tel., Mini split, mini bar, coffee maker, hairdryer, safe and ironing kit. For pleasure or business Hotel Malibu is your best choice because we have beautiful gardens that make you feel relaxed, as if he were out of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malibu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing