We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we were looking for”
Review of Malibu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malibu Hotel
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We spent the night there before my wife's U.S. visa interview. It was everything we wanted. Very nice staff, clean, safe parking and a great breakfast buffet included with the internet special. It is clear that the hotel is well run and trying hard. The furnishing in the rooms were newer and some very nice touches. The reason the review is four stars and not five is because the basic structure of the building like a 40 year old motel. We really enjoyed our trip to the mall next door to see "Ice Age" in 4D where the seats move like a roller coaster with the action, wind blows from all sides and even water squirts at you. If you are visiting Guadalajara as a tourist this is probably not the best location. If you want to be in this part of town it is a great stay.

Room Tip: Many rooms with two beds, be specific to request on with a king.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Malibu Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

I've been very fortunate to have stayed here twice on my visits to Guadalajara. This a very charming hotel, with an excellent, knowledgeable and friendly staff, second to none. It is very difficult to say what my favorite part of my stay was. All I can really say is that I will continue to stay at this hotel because the staff and the rooms made me feel right at home. I loved this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ignacio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

If you want to go shopping at Gran Plaza then this is the place, otherwise if you like uncomfortable beds, horrible pillows, trains waking you up all night and the stench of the factory across the street then this is the place for you. Price is way too high considering all of the negatives althoough they have remodeled and fixed a lot of the outdated rooms up. Staff is great, lots of nice people that have been working there a long time...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sipm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente de Ventas at Malibu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear guest:

Thank you in advance for your comments, I´m very sorry that the bed and the pillows were uncomfortable, we are trying so hard to improve the service you mentioned, we´re now giving the guest two options of pillows, (soft and hard). We´re also improving the quality of our service, I would like to invite you again to hotel malibu, so you can see by yourself the improvements we have made to the hotel. My e-mail is vmota@hotelmalibu.com.mx please contact me on your next visit to Guadalajara.

Have a nice day!

Violeta Mota
SALES MANAGER
HOTEL MALIBU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed here on my way back home. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are ok. It has a motel-like set up but it is certainly not a motel. It's right next to the Gran Plaza, where you can go walking. Restaurant is ok and the pool is a good option for a little relax time. Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Guadalajara!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamer8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente de Ventas at Malibu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013
Google Translation

Apreciable huésped:

Agradezco mucho el que recomiende los servicios que ofrecemos en Hotel Malibu. Lo invitamos a que nos visite nuevamente ya que va a encontrar cambios significativos en nuestras instalaciones.

Me reitero a sus órdenes.

Saludos cordiales,

Lic. Violeta Mota
Gerente de Ventas
HOTEL MALIBU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed here during the 2011 holidays, including "Noche Buena" and Christmas Day. We really enjoyed our stay. It's set up like a typical motel with a courtyard in centre and direct access to rooms from outside, but the rooms were very nice and were cleaned immaculately every day. The bed was comfortable. Shower pressure in our room could have been better.

I really liked the set up of the hotel. It was just off of a busy street and next to a large mall, and yet it felt very tranquil as soon as you stepped in from the road to the courtyard. There is a beauty salon and a small reasonably-priced convenience store on site. We did occasionally here noises that woke us at night due to the motel set up and cars outside the room.

The full breakfast buffet was excellent. We also appreciated the complimentary shuttle and used it to get to the historic downtown a few times.

Overall, our entire family really enjoyed the stay. We weren't looking to spend much time in our hotel, so for our needs, the value here was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My family uses this motel to stay in Guadalajara on our way to/from Puerto Vallarta. They have very good rates for the rooms, with a bountiful breakfast buffet that includes seasonal fruit, lots of hot dishes, and made to order eggs/omelettes/quesadillas/menudo. They have free wi-fi in all of the hotel buildings too, and are close to the Minerva fountain. Only downside: you can hear freight trains in the middle of the night as they honk their horns, but you ignore them after the first night. Love them!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaLoLebrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Malibu has a convenient location in the western half of the city, and in case you forget something, the hotel is located next to the Gran Plaza regional fashion mall which has two department stores, many fashion boutiques and several restaurants. On a positive note, the room was clean and the staff is polite. However, for the price, the rooms are very basic, very small, minimally furnished with very poor lighting. If you are here on business, do not expect to be able to do any work in your room. Parking is definitely inadequate if you have your own car. You probably can find a place, but it will be a test of your ability to wedge your car into whatever space might be available. This hotel has two parts, an older section that is a throwback to maybe the 1950s and the newer tower, which looks and feels like it is from the late 1980s or early 1990s. Guadalajara does not have a generous supply of hotel rooms, so if you end up here during a conference, you may find yourself at the Malibu because all the better places are taken.

Room Tip: Tower is somewhat quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank og84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
#30 of 128 in Guadalajara
121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
#11 of 128 in Guadalajara
1,012 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aurea Hotel and Suites
Aurea Hotel and Suites
#28 of 128 in Guadalajara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#9 of 128 in Guadalajara
933 reviews
1.2 mi away
European Life Style Suites
European Life Style Suites
#18 of 128 in Guadalajara
313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Suites Quinta Magna
Hotel & Suites Quinta Magna
#54 of 128 in Guadalajara
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Hotel

Address: Avenida Vallarta 3993, Guadalajara 45049, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#10 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#15 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range: £35 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malibu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During your next visit to Guadalajara do not hesitate to stay at Hotel Malibu, has a privileged location, close to the most important points of the city and next to the biggest shopping center. It also offers an excellent service which ensures your stay will be very pleasant and will exceed your expectations. The hotel has 170 comfortable and safe rooms with services tailored to suit your needs. Our rooms are equipped with LCD screen, tel., Mini split, mini bar, coffee maker, hairdryer, safe and ironing kit For pleasure or business Hotel Malibu is your best choice because we have beautiful gardens that make you feel relaxed, as if he were out of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Malibu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing