We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Mendoza
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Frances(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Roma(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel la Rotonda(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Universo S.A.(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Los Reyes(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
141
176
55
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
176
55
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteatro degolladogreat locationtwo queen bedsquiet at nightrooftop patiosmall poolmain cathedralwalking distance to everythingquiet streetthe hotel staffhistoric areahotel restaurantcentral guadalajarasafe areawonderful hotelsitting areacleaning staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is old and charming and well maintained. The service is excellent. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is fabulous if you want the downtown historical district. Parking is
free........which is a great asset.We booked a "superior double room". It is rather average and plain, but immaculate. There were only queen size beds available for that room. Our package came with "breakfast". What was offered was a continental breakfast. We opted to upgrade to eggs and bacon for a small additional fee. The food is only adequate and none of the wait-staff spoke english. They were very cordial and understood our poor Spanish. We would return to the hotel again..but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chachaandsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Practically next door to Teatro Degollado and Plaza Liberacion with sparkling clean rooms, with outside terrazas, great bar and restaurant, Jacuzzi, pool, fitness center, underground valet parking included and the friendliest most helpful bilingual staff I have ever encountered. And all of this for about 65 USD per night including all taxes. Can't beat the value at this wonderful, updated historic hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakesideterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your comments about the service of the hotel.
Your comments are important for us.
I thank your preference and I expect to see you again in your next visit to Guadalajara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I spent three nights at "Hotel de Mendoza" in early August. The hotel is in the heart of the historical district. You can walk to many historical landmarks: churches, Teatro Degollado, squares, etc. The Tapatio tour bus leaves 3 blocks from the hotel and takes you on different circuits around Guadaljara, Zapopan, Tonalá and Tlaquepaque, which I found worth taking. The area is pretty safe during the day. At night, as in any other city, you need to be more careful. As far as the hotel, it is an old hotel, decently maintained, the rooms are spacious and they have everything you need. Yes, the mattress was hard but after touring Mexico for 17 days, I realized it is the norm. My room did not have a great view, although I paid for what they call a "superior" room. I am not sure if I regret it or not, cause the pool area gets noisy with children in the afternoon. My fare included the continental breakfast, which I tried one morning. It is not bad (ask for a fruit plate instead of the juice), but for only a few more pesos, you can have a "Mexican breakfast" or a buffet breakfast on Sunday (many Mexican traditional dishes are served). To describe the hotel staff I would say: some of them are "rather friendly and smile", while others are "correct" and simply do their jobs. They work at their own pace, which sometimes we perceive as "slow" compared to American standards. I consider it "correct". Why should we eat in a rush? Overall, the experience was very good. The price is unbeatable for the location and the service they provide you. I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismig23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your comments about of the Hotel, this are very important for us.
I thank your preference and I expect to see you again in your next visit ti this beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Mendoza is an older hotel with character which has been well maintained. The suites are spacious and face the street; other rooms face the courtyard or have an added sitting area. The beds are very hard, as are many in Mexico. The breakfast served in their restaurant was very good, but service can be slow. One of our group had paid for the breakfast included option, which was not worth it. It only included only fruit or juice and bread and coffee. Better to go with the a la carte. It is very convenient to walk to museums, the theater, the cathedral, the governor's palace and the mercado libertad.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeRoanoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your comments about the service of the Hotel.
Your comments are very important for us, to improve our service.
I expect to see you again in your next visit to this beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We're from nearby Ajijic and stayed here on a Saturday night so we could catch a Sunday performance of Ballet Folklorico at Teatro Degollado with my sister, who was visiting. Perfect location, with easy walk to the theater, 1/2 block away. Also a great location for strolling the historic area in general. Temple of Saint Mary of Grace church is right next door, and served as the main church for Guadalajara from 1549 to 1618 - worth a visit if it's open. We had a nice view of the Guadalajara Cathedral spires from our room window on the 3rd floor. If you go up to the roof terrace, there are nice views of other churches and historic buildings as well.

Our room was #309, which was close to the elevator, but required going down a couple of steps or narrow ramp from the elevator. The room (suite) had lots of space, with two queen beds and a sitting area with table and chairs, plus a sofa. Beds were firm and comfortable, although the sheets were a little rough. Room A/C worked well, but we would have welcomed a fan to stir the air. There was one medium-size window in the room with black-out drapes... not a lot of light, but plenty of light fixtures in the room. The closet safe wasn't functional, so if that's an issue for you, be sure to inquire when checking in or making reservations. Bathroom was small but nice, with sitting area at the end of the tub for showers, etc. Toiletries, hair dryer, iron & ironing board are provided. The toilet in our room flushed VERY slowly, but did the job even under heavy load. Lots of tile, granite and marble provided a feeling of elegance. Everything was pretty clean but worn. That's to be expected in such an old building!

Breakfast for two was included with the room, but only a continental breakfast, so we opted to pay a few pesos more for the full hot buffet breakfast, which was quite nice... recommended. 5-6 hot items, plus toast, cereal and LOTS of fruit. The orange juice was wonderful. Not sure if they have the full breakfast every morning, or just on Sunday. It was fairly busy by the time we left (around 9:15), so you might want to go early if you wish to avoid a crowd. Even though there were three of us in the room and our reservation included an extra person charge, we only received vouchers for two breakfasts, so the third was full price.

Hotel staff were all very pleasant. Many spoke English, which was helpful. Secure, inside valet parking is available just past the hotel main entry (1-way street in front). Overall, a very good visit and we'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, be sure to inquire since this is an old building with some "adjustments" that might be difficult to negotiate.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chernabog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your comments about the service of the Hotel.
Your comments are very important for us, to improve our service.
I thank your preference and expect to see you again in your next visit ti this beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews