We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Portobelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portobelo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

In my opinion, this hotel is average but nothing special. It is well located; you can walk to the historic center and there is an underground station just outside the hotel as well as cafes, internet cafes, bars and restaurants close by. The room was clean and spacious but you could easily hear the noises/voices through the walls. I did not find the staff too friendly (and this was not a question of language barrier as I speak Spanish). Yes, they answered my queries but rather reluctantly. The next time in Guadalajara, I will try and find something a bit more authentic than Portobelo.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amiga_turista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    100
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
72
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Don't Leave anything of value inside your room, because in this hotel some of my personal values got STOLEN and if you ask for the hotel manager (for three whole days I tried to) they'll tell you he's not at work and they won't be held responsible because it says so in a crummy little cardboard by the hotel desk. PORTOBELO PERSONEL STEALS FROM YOUR ROOM.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alejandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

The Portobelo hotel is well appointed and comfortable. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beds are king size and have pillow top mattresses (unusual for Mexico which seems to have the hardest beds in the world!). The staff is friendly and helpful.

We only ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast which was a buffet. It was reasonably priced. The food, while not exceptional, was okay.

We stayed in a room on the back side of the hotel which was very quiet. The only noise that we heard was that of the big screen TV from the neighbouring room.

The hotel is a great value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYC_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Rooms were comfortable, and very clean! There was not much of a restaurant as told, nice bar but not many customers! good location yet stay away from the park across the street. Much drug activity at night, day time some scary characters

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This is a highly serviceable and functional hotel, well located above the main subterranean train interchange, very clean and up to date and good value at 625 pesos a night for a larger-than-average room in this price range. It has a restaurant and bar although we didn't make use of either, preferring to eat in cafes and restaurants both near and far. Unlike other reviewers we didn't find it too noisy, despite being next to a very busy road intersection.

Some tips:

- for breakfast: walk five minutes west along Juarez and you'll reach a square with the Expiación church at one end (worth visiting). In the opposite side of the square you'll find a good value breakfast being served at outside tables in front of the Fenix cafe. High;y recommended. The university's modern art gallery is just behind the church too, and inside a nearby university building called the Paraninfa you'll find an Orozco mural in one of the auditoriums. Sadly it wasn't open when we went as it was out of term time, but it should be possible to see it in term time.
- further afield, do not miss the Hospicio Cabañas which houses a stunning collection of Orozco's works, cannot recommend highly enough. Leave a few hours though as its a big collection.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bo_Duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Reasonable hotel to stay a few nights in Guadlajara but noise from other residents and the flat screens televisions located in walls between the rooms disturbed sleep every night. The bar/restaurant was unimpressive with a very poor selection of food and drink. There was an accessible free car park at rear which was helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labuenavida004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

This relatively new hotel is conveniently located near the GDL subway line which gives easy access to the market (2 stops away). The hotel was clean, comfortable, good price (~US$65/night), with helpful staff.

Stayed February 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank stylurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#13 of 128 in Guadalajara
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Perla Central Hotel
Perla Central Hotel
#45 of 128 in Guadalajara
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#27 of 128 in Guadalajara
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#57 of 128 in Guadalajara
121 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Hotel and Suites
Country Hotel and Suites
#43 of 128 in Guadalajara
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#50 of 128 in Guadalajara
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobelo Hotel

Property: Portobelo Hotel
Address: Avenida Juarez Esq. Federalismo 687, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Portobelo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Portobelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing