We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay for a Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay for a Business Trip”
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

I travel to Guadalajara regularly for business and usually stay here. The rooms are clean, and the staff is friendly and responsive. The rooms could stand to be updated as the beds and the bathrooms are average. This hotel makes up for a lack of comfort with good quality service - the front desk staff is excellent. I have had to use them for several different reasons and they have always been very reliable.

The hotel is walking distance from the convention center. An additional advantage to this hotel is the Flor de Calabaza is a really good restaurant and it is co-located with the hotel. There are plenty of good restaurants in Guadalajara but if you don't want to think about the restaurant much, I would recommend eating here.

Overall I have enjoyed staying at this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cuerno82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValdovinosO, Guest Relations Manager at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We appreciate your feedback. as these help us to improve our services.
The Restaurant Flor de Calabaza" has closed, but we have our restaurant "El Caballito" where we make our dishes with the same traditional flavor "Tapatio" that characterizes us, our food is prepared with fresh products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    361
    118
    32
    24
See reviews for
171
97
29
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed here in December and we got a good deal for room and breakfast.
The room is not fancy, but it's clean. Room design was kinda old, but still in good condition.
Bathtub has an odd shape with the shower curtain is kinda special..making it looks super nice..
They always give us enough supply of drinking water.
Breakfast is amazing!!!!! I love the breakfast buffet. They have Egg corner, mexican food, american food, different kinda juices, and coffees....but what makes it special...the guy who plays the piano...just loved it!!!!!!
Don't normally have a live piano player at breakfast time...normally on a fancy expensive dining restaurant......The food was tasty.....really good....
swimming pool was great...my kids loved it....the gym too
Overall stay....was super good, really worthed for the price....
Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValdovinosO, Guest Relations Manager at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that your stay in our hotel has been satisfactory, we hope to see you on your next visit to this home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

A good 3 star hotel in a nice location. Seems to be very popular with business people . It was clean and the staff were friendly and most spoke English which was very helpful. Beautiful roof top pool area. The breakfasts were great and WIFI is included. Would have been nice to have a balcony or windows that open also would like to have had a fridge in the room. It was quiet, the room was a nice size and very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValdovinosO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thank you for your prefference and comments, We hope to see you in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Pro: very good WiFi internet, spacious rooms, friendly personel and excellent breakfast, very close to starbucks and shopping center
Contra: not very quiet, noise from the street and also from the corridor

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValdovinosO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that your stay in our hotel has been satisfactory, we hope to see you on your next visit to this home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

extremely dissapointed in my choice of this hotel
upon arrival i could immediately see that the decour was very old and outdated then when i opened the door to my room i was almost in tears
i was just aweful
the room was so small the 2 of us had a hard time moving around
its a good budget hotel but no mini bar and 5 channels on the tv
the shower was out of the stone age with the plastic bath insert
justplain ugly
we even upgraded to get a better tv and amenities but that is all one big lie
there aren't any unless you call coffee in the room one
we were just so tired after driving 5 hours in the rain from puerto vallarta that we didn't care that first night
we immediately checked out the next morning
thank god we did...
being on a budget is one thing but the plaza expo is old and outdated and could us e a facelift
the staff was nice except for the boos of reservations
she was crappy and obviously didn't like that fact that my spanish was broken
there are so many other great options besides here
hope you don't make the same mistake we did
even if it is jusy for one night

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here for business, everything from Service to quality was good for a Business Hotel, Very similar to Days Inns, or Hampton Inns. nothing outstanding just OK!
This is not your choice if you want to experience outstanding Mexican Hospitality that Mexico usually well known for. Prices are pretty similar to Westin or RIU properties close by however amenities are not the same.

Room Tip: Executive section on the 4th floor smells like cigarettes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thanks for your feedback, help us to improve day by day our quality service. hope to see you soon on your next visit to this city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The Plaza Expo hotel is one of the few hotels that have security, view (most partial) from every room. We splurged on the deluxe corner room floor to ceiling windows. Very spectacular to see all of Plaza Expo without getting up from your bed. The breakfast was copious and served in a lovely panonamic setting. Minor details prevented me from giving this hotel the full 5 rating: we were denied a 2 hour extension in our room because we had a late flight and told that we could use the hospitality area to shower - this area was not private and my husband had to intercept people coming in while I was showering (and vice versa), the water was cold and there was no hair dryer. We felt like gypsies. The pool on the top floor was quite small but again with lovely is clearly the place to be. If I had paid $100 less for my room a day I would also have given it a 5 but overall the experience was very good.

Room Tip: Tipping goes a long way here the more you tip the more they upgrade their service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YogiJuancarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thanks for your feedback, help us to improve day by day our quality service. hope to see you soon on your next visit to this city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 mi away
Guadalajara Plaza Ejecutivo Lopez Mateos
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Guadalajara/Expo
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#6 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Guadalajara
Hilton Guadalajara
#16 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Guadalajara
The Westin Guadalajara
#11 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guadalajara Plaza Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guadalajara Plaza Expo

Property: Guadalajara Plaza Expo
Address: Av. Mariano Otero 3261 | Col. Verde Valle, Guadalajara 44550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#13 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#15 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guadalajara Plaza Expo 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guadalajara Plaza Expo Business Class Hotel, ideal for leisure or business, located just 50 meters from Expo Guadalajara Convention Center and 3 blocks from Plaza del Sol. Inonovacion, sophistication, intimate atmosphere of classic trends for maximum rest. 172 executive rooms and 32 Deluxe rooms with free wi-fi and those warm touches that make you feel at home. More than a business center, creating a new space productivity and harmony. We serve your project our personalized service and executive assistance. Who said it was just a business trip? enjoy our upper terrace of services free of charge, heated pool with a 360 ° view of the city, gym and jogging track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guadalajara Plaza Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalajara Plaza Expo Hotel Guadalajara
Plaza Expo Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing