We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safari and zoo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zoologico Guadalajara

Zoologico Guadalajara
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.40*
and up
Guadalajara Zoo All-Inclusive Admission Ticket
Ranked #6 of 175 things to do in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This large zoo contains over 2,000 animals and is located in a beautiful ravine.
Isafjordur, Iceland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Safari and zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My boyfriend and I spent one day the weekend around Valentines Day. He was living pretty close to the zoo so it was easy to get there. There are busses that take you almost right to the zoo. We bought the safari ride as well as just a normal day pass and we really enjoyed it. We got to feed girrafes and they have a lot of animals. Everything is very organized and the staff was great! You need to have good shoes and a lot of water, that day was really hot and we walked around for hours.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BSCMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    360
    83
    25
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
485 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“North end of town but not too far out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

One has to figure out which ticket to buy and what part of the zoo you want to see on what day. I would suggest getting a cheap ticket and looking at all you can on that ticket then do the "extra" stuff on another day. My favorite part of this zoo is going down to the ravine and just sitting. Take a 20 minute time out and see the view.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We ended up here by mistake, our cab driver did not understand our limited Spanish but we are so happy it played out like this. The Zoo was very clean and the staff was pretty friendly. The cost of admission is very reasonable. We road the Sky Zoo, Which is basically just a chair lift from one end to the other. The complex was huge, so the sky zoo is a great option. Would return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank caseycochran19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a fun zoo for the kids. It is not the best zoo I have seen, but for the location it is well worth the trip out to see it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Porfinio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you are a zoo lover, this is one of the best you'll ever visit. The animals have more space than most zoos and the variety is vast.

Prepare to spend the day there. The prices are very accommodating for what you get. Even the food is more than acceptable at the outlets. My favourite has always been the little restaurant by the beautiful gorge, where there is plenty of seats.

The zoo is covered with trees so there is plenty of shade in the summer. Be prepared to walk a lot through the wide paths. I've been many times by myself and with my kids, it's very buggy/push chair friendly.

The shows are also great. They concentrate on local wildlife so, many animals you have never seen. It will be in Spanish but there's a lot of visual and tactile activities to compensate if you don't speak much of the lingo.

If you go with teenagers, there's always the amusement park next door, where you can send your little devils to run their batteries out while you stroll along the grounds or their "safari", which is barely average (if I had to give them criticism.

All in all, a fantastic day out if you're in Guadalajara for longer than a week.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexOrozco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zoologico Guadalajara also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Zoologico Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing