We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware...”
Review of Hotel Demetria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Demetria
Ranked #31 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel Demetria is the classic example of what can go wrong with a boutique hotel... is nothing else but the lack of standards and real comfort and convenience.
Sorry if I offend someone but his is place is great only for the unexperienced ones. At glance everything looks great but in deep the mistakes arises:
1. The door to the terrace was not soundproof and lacked the lock... I felt unsafe and spend the most noisiest nights at any hotel.
2. AC never worked, only cooling but the weather was cold enough, I needed heat!.
3. The maid service is totally inconsistent, some days they leave bath amenities and some not.
4. The service seems to be polite and professional but when a problem emerge they lack of solving skills.
5. Of course the fare is totally out of what you get back.

The restaurant is good but pricey for the city standards but that deserves another review.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

The staff is amazingly nice and they'll try to accomodate you as much as they can (except chilling at their beautiful pool after 8pm) the hotel is absolutely beautiful, for both the restaurant, the pool and the sauna's/gym. However, be warned, each room is different and unique, if you can get a room facing the pool side, the better; I'd suggest asking the staff to let you see a few options.

I've stayed by booking through hoteltonight for business and pleasure. It is my favorite boutique hotel in Mexico so far.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool area are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andresbarreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

At first glance this place is very interesting. Minimalist and modern lobby, lots of glass and open space and interesting art work. The novelty ends there. We had an Urban Suite, supposedly. According to the website the Urban Suite has a Bath Tub and a King size bed. The first room we were taken too had neither, a double bed at best. The room was an interesting concept; however not very functional, especially for one who may appreciate a bit of privacy. The Bathroom had a whole wall that was frosted glass, the other side of that wall is elevator lobby where EVERYONE walks by. Though the glass was frosted it's still pretty easy to see anything on the other side. The "headboard" for the bed is a glass box which has a toilet in onside and shower in the other, not much for bathroom privacy, especially in the toilet area. The large window by the bed look directly out onto another rooms large terrace, again not much for privacy.

In addition to the odd design elements which are not very functional, there is no closet, a double bed, and the room was a mixture of many patch work maintenance jobs with mismatched paint everywhere. I include pictures in my review. We called reception and they found a room with a King size bed available, still no tub but at least it was a larger bed. This room was better; however, still highly lacking in the details that make a hotel luxury like this is supposed to be. The pillows (With no pillow protectors) were so cheap that you put you hand on then and it literally goes right through tot he bottom. There were lots of random loose wires and cables about (The wall sconces had the wiring running up the outside of the wall, absolutely no windows in the room, which is painted dark blue with black carpet and the TV stopped working halfway though the night. It got to the point where is was actually farcical.

The design at first glance is very interesting and is a great show piece; however, it is not at all comfortable or functional and no where near worth what the prices are.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, they are all different and I can only assume some are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Demetria in March. It was wonderful. The architecture of the building is very interesting. The staff was extremely attentive. The restaurant had great ambiance, food and drinks! Super helpful at planning itineraries, dinner options and tours.
The rooms are a little dark but they even offered to bring me a vanity with lights around it, I opted to do my makeup with a hand mirror out on the balcony

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMACHunt_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I travel all the time, since I direct a traveling film festival in Mexico. We hosted most of our guests for the Ambulante Film Festival at the Demetria hotel in Guadalajara. I was incredibly surprised at how actively engaged the hotel is with the surrounding community, and how supportive of the local cultural/art scene. The hotel itself is a delightful immersive experience for architects, designers, artists, and related enthusiasts. Beds are some of the most comfortable to sleep in, and the overall room distribution is well thought out (bathrooms are particularly interesting). I almost did not want to leave the hotel. It also has a few hidden treasures, including an outstanding selection of books available for sale at the bookshop at a very reasonable price (mostly art,design and architecture, difficult to find elsewhere), top fashion store from local designers Julia and Renata, and excellent food (the tuna tartare, fish with asparagus, and fish with mole are highly recommended). Overall service was impeccable and the location is ideal. Perhaps my only critical comment is that rooms are a bit too dark (although that could be a blessing for some of us). Do not hesitate when looking for a place to stay in Guadalajara --go straight to Demetria.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elenafortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
demetriahotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Demetria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

elenafortes:

Thank you very much for the kind comments that you made.

We´ll be hoping to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

One fine, good luxury hotel in Guadalajara, they deliver it in a big way!!!... from service, to comfort, to quality, to architecture, to design, to staff attitude, to cleanliness, to originality, to location, they have it all for the most experienced & demanding traveler, YOU NAME IT!!!...

Room Tip: Each room seems to have its own unique feature!!!...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y2kmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
demetriahotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Demetria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

y2kmx:

Thank you very much for the kind comments that you made. We are very happy to assist you at all times.

We hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent one night at this contemporary hotel, well located in central Guadalajara. Our room was small, and the bathrooms a little too modern for our taste, form over function. However we are in our late 60's...our adult children would have loved it. We enjoyed the restaurant, service was excellent and the food delicious and interesting. The library bookstore has an excellent choice of art books and is worth a visit. The swimming pool is small but very attractive and has a good view from an upper floor. Altogether a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street. This hotel is best suited for people in the arts, fashion. urban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirandaAjijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Westin Guadalajara
The Westin Guadalajara
#11 of 130 in Guadalajara
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Fayette
Casa Fayette
#32 of 130 in Guadalajara
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Real Guadalajara
Quinta Real Guadalajara
#30 of 130 in Guadalajara
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#9 of 130 in Guadalajara
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#7 of 130 in Guadalajara
361 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aloft Guadalajara
Aloft Guadalajara
#36 of 130 in Guadalajara
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Demetria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Demetria

Address: Avenida La Paz 2219 | Lafayette, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range: £78 - £623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Demetria 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Demetria main objective is to change the image of Guadalajara City as well as positioning Lafayette as one of the most exclusive areas in terms of architecture, real estate, cultural and art related developments. This project presents a vision on a new lifestyle, its essence presents the opportunity to attract the most demanding and select clientele to experience a world of highly exclusive service y benefits, as the result of great design and sophistication. This space is created by an atmosphere and meeting points accordingly in order to satisfy the highest standards when it comes to quality and service. An avant-garde concept becomes a clearly remarkable aspect of the personality of the hotel and its surroundings, making it a very unique place from the other city hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Demetria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing