We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awesome and memorable trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Alebrijes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 61 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An awesome and memorable trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed at Casa Alebrijes for just 3 nights. I came to Guadalajara from Puerto Vallarta thinking I wouldn't need much time in Guadalajara--boy was I wrong! Guadalajara is WAY better than Puerto Vallarta---just my humble opinion, but now back to the hotel review. I hadn't planned anything--my typical MO when traveling solo. I sent a message on my iPhone while I was taking the Primero Plus bus from PV to Guadalajara and received an immediate response indicating that rooms were available. I showed up at the hotel--it looks very basic and unassuming on the outside, BUT once you walk in it is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! I mean the building has a colonial style architecture with HUGE ceilings and open airways throughout. There are rooms separate from the main hotel in the back that are a bit cheaper, I elected to stay in room 2 I believe which had a HUGE tiled walk in shower and 2 sinks, this gorgeous cloud-painted mural on the ceiling. I slept so peaceful listening to the water fountain outside. The room was IMMACULATELY CLEAN and comfortable. As I mentioned I am not much of a planner, when I showed up the owner---John--was extremely helpful as providing some tips about the city, where to go for food, things to see. John even had everything identified on a map--I mean very organized with coordinating numbers of where restaurants, nightclubs, historical attractions, and everything else was located within the city. There was a continental breakfast that was served each day with fresh fruit, cereal, and most importantly for me: COFFEE! There are several places around the hotel if you wanted something more substantial like huevos rancheros! I can't say enough good things about Casa Alebrijes or Guadalajara--I was totally NOT expecting to fall in love with Guadalajara and I did! I have traveled quite a bit in Africa and Europe and was IMPRESSED with Guadalajara. If you need a safe, clean, AWESOME hotel then check out Casa Alebrijes! I am sitting here in San Francisco, CA. writing this review while it is fresh in mind and already planning my next trip back to Guadalajara---next time flying direct to Guadalajara!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2 and it was QUIET! The other rooms in the main hotel and equivalent, I think the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jabberjawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
47
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This a very nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and my room was perfectly clean. The location is also convenient. I really liked the decoration of the room and the rest of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again next time I visit Guadalajara.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneGlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I had a wonderful and very relaxing six nights at this very quiet, very discreet and nondescript hotel nestled unassumingly in the middle of the Centro District within walking distance to just about everything. The host/owner, John, will help you with any questions, concerns or needs. The staff is very attentive (and adorably cute!). Parking is a bit inconvenient if you come and go a lot in your car, however I have no complaints whatsoever. I will return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ydnarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAlebrijesHotel, Owner at Casa Alebrijes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. I agree that the outside of the hotel is discreet and nondescript but the inside is an elegant oasis. Most guests do not bring vehicles and most guests that bring vehicles do not use them while here because it is often more convenient to walk or use taxis and public transportation. My employees and I help guests put their vehicles in and out of the garage and I also have access to a secure parking lot around the corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Love this place !! The staff guys are kind and take care of us really good i felt like home. Thnx for a pleasant weekend. Hope to be back soon. Its a great location walking distance from lots of interesting places to visit and have fun

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardobrehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed at Casa Alebrijes for 3 nights in late January 2013 and had an excellent experience. The hotel is conveniently located near the center of the city, close to the main cathedral, major museums and plazas. The hotel occupies an older building that was recently fully renovated and tastefully decorated with local crafts and artwork (including, of course, many of its namesake alebrijes). The reception area is located off a lovely glassed-in courtyard. My room was off the courtyard and it was very spacious and comfortable. The owner is an American guy who is very friendly and helpful. He took the time to sit down with me and point out good restaurants and bars in the neighborhood and beyond, as well as the best museums and other cultural attractions. John was very friendly and accommodating. Price were reasonable for the quality of the hotel. My only complaint is that the hotel is located in a part of town that is a tad rough. I never felt in any danger, but it wasn't always pleasant to walk on the streets around the hotel, which are narrow and a bit dirty. But in five minutes you are in the heart of the city, so it's not a bigd heal.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brassai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAlebrijesHotel, Owner at Casa Alebrijes Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
I appreciate the kind comments and am glad this guest enjoyed his stay. I never feel in danger but would be much happier if the streets and sidewalks were cleaner. We keep the area around the hotel as clean as possible but you will surely see some litter as you walk. The streets are narrow because they (and the buildings) were built prior to motorized vehicles. In summary, I agree with the guest’s comments and have concluded that it is part of the adventure and charm of living in or visiting Mexico but when you enter the hotel you can always expect cleanliness and modern amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I do like this hotel, has clean and big rooms, stayed first and second floor in both rooms. Internet works fine. John the person who is on charge was nice and can help you out with restaurants or clubs , he even speak Spanish. Me gusta mucho este hotel tiene cuartos limpios y grandes , tiene internet accesible. John la persona que esta acargo del hotel te puede ayudar con restarurantes o clubs. I recommed this place. Si recomiendo este lugar.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jehnson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

There's not a lot to add except that this is a place I'd return to any time in GDL. Beautiful interior design and furniture, strong internet service, lots of attention to detail, good location for downtown walking, light but tasty breakfast, reasonable prices and a hospitable and knowledgeable innkeeper make me happy that I found this place. I have no negatives to report.

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be a bad room in the house. The second floor gives you a good overview of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jontul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
1.4 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#26 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#10 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#20 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Alebrijes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Alebrijes Hotel

Property: Casa Alebrijes Hotel
Address: Calle Libertad 1016 | Centro Historico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Alebrijes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Alebrijes is a boutique hotel for gay men and women and friends located in the Historic Center and just two blocks from the center of the gay nightlife area that has some twenty-five gay bars and discotheques within walking distance – Guadalajara is known as the San Francisco of Mexico.The hotel has two floors with 2 suites for 1-4 persons and 7 rooms for 1 or 2 persons. The first floor has a garden patio with a fabulous fountain. The second floor has a balcony overlooking the garden patio and fountain. This late 19th century home was carefully and beautifully restored in a traditional style to provide modern conveniences while respecting the existing architecture. The 15 foot high ceilings and 2 foot thick adobe walls provide a unique hospitality experience. Relax on the balcony or garden patio and enjoy the sight and sound of the Mexican style fountain. Eat your continental breakfast in the dining room while sharing experiences with other guests or at private tables on the balcony. Guadalajara has a wonderful climate all year and you will enjoy the open air areas of the hotel. Internet, luxury mattress, laptop size safe, continental breakfast, and parking included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Alebrijes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing