We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Trip to Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quick Trip to Mexico”
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Booked into this very new (2011) hotel and was impressed by the lobby and English skills at the desk. Room seems a little beat up for its age but otherwise good. Don't drink the water and to do so you will have to buy some after 2 litres. Hit the Beer Store across the street for great local beer on tap and spicy peanuts at a great price

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOWLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    291
    62
    23
    50
See reviews for
154
143
23
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Excellent service, the breakfast is delicious the staff is very nice in especial the chef coco she is very nice person.
I stayed for 10 days and I loved, the sleeping is very very good, this hotel is very very really good

Room Tip: High floor 8 and up is spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sol2536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Excellent business hotel in GDL, free internet in the rooms unlike its spanish cousin the NH.

The breakfast is amazing, it has a huge and delicious buffet with traditional and international dishes. Great selection of cold cuts and cheeses.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

this summer i went down to guarajara, mexico to visit family and my dad had a meeting in this hotel. i stayed here for 6 nights. me and my mom and dad stayed here my sisters stayed at one of my aunts house because they hate sleeping in hotels lol!!. I liked the hotel its new, modern, colorful :\. this hotel really good service and really good breakfast :). The rooms are clean, modern and purple:\. my was room was on the 8th floor and the hotel was 41 floors. i got a little dissapointed when my room was on the 8th floor but view was atually pretty good. only one thing i didnt like was i had to ride 3 elevators to get to my room. but it a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Yes, I saw solid, good reviews before I booked the hotel, but the real reason for booking was that it is 42 stories in a city that seems to max out at around 12 stories. We drove into Guadalaraja, with a spotty map, but when we asked anyone (truly anyone) they knew the hotel and the streets to get there (my own version of contingency planning). We were as far away as Tonala and got very clear directions right to the hotel...amazing.
On top of that, the front desk service from Pedro was outstanding. The room wasn't quite ready so he brought us to the lounge and concierge to unwind for a short time before coming back to deliver our key.
The room was spacious with a king bed, a sitting area, plenty of room to walk around, a large bathroom and two floor to ceiling windows overlooking the city.
When I return to Guadalajara next year, I'll definitely be booking the Riu. Oh, and secured hotel parking...about $5 a day.

Room Tip: High floor...at least the 15th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed at the Riu Plaza for 3 nights for a conference. The value for money --at the conference rates -- was great. The hotel is new, with large rooms with fantastic views. Very clean and everything worked fine. Large bathrooms that you could play squash in... The violet color design was a bit new agey, but nice and crisp. Service at the desk was good, and the buffet breakfast, conference coffee breaks and meals were excellent. The two main complaints I would have are the elevators (few, small -- leading to long waits), and the reservation service: I had difficulty booking online using the conference code, and then had to follow up by phone. They put me on hold for a 1/2 hr (very costly to me since I was calling from Africa!), eventually promised that it was sorted out, .....but it wasn't, and I ended up with an extra room charged to me that I now have to get reversed. But it wouldn't stop me from going there again if I have the chance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomKatGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I am very disappointed and surely a one time guest in this hotel. I have booked 5 nights of the Deluxe room at 1800 MXN - which surely is no bargain. The room itself is very nice indeed and nothing to complain about.
In case you like very modern lounge like places, this is for you. For me, this hotel is a cool hotel without charm. Moreover, for 1800 MXN I expect the breakfast to be included, rather than an extra of 190 MXN (sure, I am not the detailled reader...).
The service on the other hand is poor. I asked for a toothbrush set since by lugage was delayed. The promise to get one free of charge is all I got. I asked the hotel to give me an update about the suitcase and was promised to get a call back - guess what. The 5th night I wanted to cancel (I had one night away anyway) in order to be closer to the airport for leaving. They insisted on charging the cancellation fees - how poor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fletscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
2.7 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
0.9 mi away
Hilton Guadalajara
Hilton Guadalajara
#18 of 128 in Guadalajara
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Guadalajara
The Westin Guadalajara
#15 of 128 in Guadalajara
482 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.0 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Address: Av. Lopez Mateos, 830 - Fracc. Chapalita | Guadalajara - Jalisco, Guadalajara, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing