We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Perla Central Hotel(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aranzazu ECO(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nueva Galicia(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nueva York(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
Universo S.A.(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
36
51
27
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
51
27
10
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I pricelined this hotel in the GDL in March 2013 and wished I could have been elsewhere. The best thing about it was the price (Priceline offered it as an express deal - 3.5 stars for $33 plus tax). That was crazy low so I tried it. After all 3.5 stars is supposed to be very nice.

The room was OK and very clean. Typical tile floor like other older Mexican hotels. The bed was pretty hard. The new flat screen TV was a nice feature. The big problem was the neighborhood. I have visited Guadalajara many times and usually have stayed out near the expo center and the Cuidad del Sol. There, for a bit more money you can stay in a nice neighborhood, near shops and stores and restaurants that are In safe walking distance. By comparison, this hotel was in a very dirty rough part of downtown that I would never consider walking around in, even. During daylight hours. Parking was underneath the hotel, which is very secure, but you have to wait outside in the dark while they notice of and open the door for your car. It was a very sketchy area.

I sat down to have breakfast to find that the kitchen was out of any juice. So I bailed and drove to a McDonalds.

Bottom line: there are a lot of better options in Guadalajara. If you want an old hotel in he center of the city, stay at the Hotel Morales, which is near the cathedral and very nice and charming. If you want modern and nice stay at the Presidente Intercontinental or the Quinta Real. If you want charming and typical, stay at the Mansion del Sol. These are places you will be happy to be during your visit to Guadalajara.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TitanShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

This property was totally renewed and fully refurnished in 2011, including the tile in the rooms. Our beds are orthopedic but we are sorry to hear you found them hard to sleep on. We agree with you, the City of Guadalajara hasn't done its part in keeping this side of downtown as they should, but we can assure you there are no serious security problems around the hotel and it has its charm of a typical big city of Mexico. The parking lot was thought that way so nobody but our guests can access it. We know it may be uncomfortable but it is better that the alternative scenarios if someone can get through. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ideal para ir en pareja, las paredes son muy delgadas y se escucha gemir a las parejas que tengas de vecinos.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews