We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for this centrally located, quiet, clean, friendly hotel.”
Review of Olga Querida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olga Querida
Ranked #5 of 74 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

After travelling around Mexico for 3 months, Guadalajara was my last stop before flying home. At this point I had experienced everything from four star resorts on the Pacific coast to grungy backpacker hostels with shared bathrooms. In terms of centrally located hotels in large Mexican cities, this place is a gem! I was warmly welcomed by the owner Alejandro (his grandmother was Olga). He and his staff were very informative and he helped organized a tequila tour at very good value - much cheaper than the ones offered in the tourist kiosks and lots of fun. I stayed in a private room off the courtyard but they also have a very bright dorm room available at a very good price.
It is a very safe place, with a staff member on hand 24 hours a day. Also great location - you can walk anywhere easily: the markets, central squares, shops, pedestrian malls, restaurants, etc. etc.
I highly recommend Olga Querida and will definitely stay there on my next trip through Guadalajara!

Room Tip: The best rooms are probably the two rooms off the private courtyard where you can sit and read but f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSHMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

I found this hotel on trip advisor and I am so happy we stayed there. We spent 4 nights including the new year. The room we had had a decent amount of space, a balcony, and a great bathroom. The internet worked everywhere we were in the house. The location is good...close enough to everything but fa enough so you can a quite night of sleep. The family that owns it are Mexican but have lived in the US as well. Everyone, including the children can speak English but if you prefer to practice Spanish they will help encourage you. We we invited to celebrate new years eve with the family which included diner and all of the traditions. It was great incite into their life and we felt like family by the time we left as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The original owner was Olga hence the name; the hotelliers are Mexicans who have lived in USA with other family in Canada, bilingual family, gave us an extraordinary Xmas eve as we were invited to join their family for dinner, fun, gabbing, etc. WONDERFUL children, bright bilingual fun and helpful. Location was great for carrying out shopping, sightseeing, eating in the historic centre of Guadalajara. And even our dog Tex was quite happy and well received. Loved the art work on the walls (originals not knock-off) and the quaint courtyard. Use of kitchen was really a blessing. Many thanks to kids and Erika for helping me translate some work for a committee. A gem of a place!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the double bed on the ground floor that is not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogers1651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Staying at Olga Querida was like staying at long lost friends or with family. They were so helpful and charming and made us feel at home. So much so that we have got plans to come back and stay!
Rooms are clean, spacious and well decorated, the location is only 10 mins walk from the historical centre of Guadalajara and 3 mins from the nearest subway station.
Best place we have stayed at in terms of welcome and hospitality! Recommended!

Room Tip: The best room was the one at the back of the patio on the first floor with a balcony and its own pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icollot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We went in this hostal during las fiestas patrias. It is very well located. Everything is new because the hostal has just open. The family is very nice and kind and can give you good informations to visit the town. There was a misunderstanding on the reservation but they accept us and add immediatly a bed in our room.
Breakfast was a bit light but ok.
We really enjoyed to stay there, we felt like at home.
Nice quiet patio inside.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludovic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed for a few days and loved everything about it. nice rooms for a reasonable price. The dorms are absolutely the best looking dorms I have seen.
Run by a english speaking family that are ready 24 hours everyday to help and assist you even after you have checked out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedePedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lidia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
#92 of 130 in Guadalajara
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#48 of 130 in Guadalajara
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#11 of 130 in Guadalajara
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Alebrijes Hotel
Casa Alebrijes Hotel
#2 of 74 in Guadalajara
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaMy Hostel CasaZalaoui
CasaMy Hostel CasaZalaoui
#6 of 74 in Guadalajara
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Canario
Casa Canario
#23 of 74 in Guadalajara
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olga Querida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olga Querida

Address: Calle Pavo 277 | entre M. Blanco y P. Sanchez, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico (Formerly Olga Querida B&B Hostal)
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range: £7 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Olga Querida 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice, neat and safe accommodation, located in the best downtown area.At Olga Querida Lodge you´ll stay in a beautiful 1937`s house. All spaces are illuminated by its central patio. Excellent bilingual service, continental breakfast, the best mattresses and linens on its type, maximum pressure showers with hot water 24/7. Enjoy a family atmosphere and stay close to museums, markets, plazas, hospitals, language schools, 24/7 supermarkets , universities and the cultural life of Guadalajara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Olga Querida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing