We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location beautiful design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Del Carmen Concept Hotel
Ranked #49 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location beautiful design”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Probably the most comfortable bed I've slept on in Mexico. The room was very pretty. The shower was awesome. Your right on a beautiful little plaza. A little noisy at night but that comes with the good location. It didn't keep me up at night. I kind of wish they had room. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
22
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is very nice, clean and artsy. The staff are great - very friendly and helpful. It is a very small boutique hotel and it no longer has a kitchen - so no food or drinks. The bed in the Friedeberg suite is awesome! Everything in the suite was awesome. The hotel is centraly located and near everything yet not actually in the center (so that was nice) and safe. It was a great home away from home, romantic and modern. You can hear the noise from the outside, but it is wasn't terrible, until the bar from across the plaza decided to blare music until the early hours of the morning. It is not the hotel's fault, fortunately, we were so tired - we slept well anyway. I can't wait to go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms across the interior courtyard are quieter than those facing the outside plaza. However, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pachecovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights. Loved it! Such a great value for such a beautifully appointed hotel. Each of the twelve rooms is named for a famous Mexican artist, so there's lots of quirky design unique to each room, but it managed to be very practical, too. Great beds, nice cafe on leafy square and beautiful courtyard with 'living wall' of plants and nifty retractable ceiling. A great retreat from a noisy, dusty city. Only comment is that its a loud city, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This very small boutique hotel is gorgeous! There are only 7 rooms, each one inspired by a Mexican artist, and thus designed and decorated accordingly. We stayed at the Tamayo suite which is amazing. It holds a huge copper bath tub that seems surreal. The building itself is majestic, allocated in the “El Carmen” barrio; the management saved the building from years of deterioration.

The location is also excellent! It is blocks away from Guadalajara’s downtown. You can easily walk to the cathedral and Teatro Degollado; yet you don’t feel like you are in the very busy downtown area. Just outside of the hotel, there is this small Mexican plaza; which lets you capture the true Mexican spirit. After all you are a couple of minutes away from Expo Guadalajara, Minerva and other important venues in Guadalajara. You can take taxi cabs to Tlaquepaque or Tequila (front desk staff was very helpful with these arrangements).

I loved the personalized service, I literally felt at home. I believe that this boutique hotel is the perfect romantic get-away in Guadalajara, so chic, so modern, so tasty!!!

Room Tip: The Tamayo Suite is astounding!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pollescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel during the Pan American Games. Rooms are "themed" and very small. Electronics are nice. The interior vertical garden is a play on the ones you find around the Marais District in Paris. Had to remind the maid to replace both dirty towels and the hotel clerks were utterly unable to process basic electronic transactions; be sure to double check your accounts. The interiors are very stylish and the hotel bar/restaurant is very popular. The location is outstanding. A bit overpriced for the level of service. I guess that is what makes it fashionable and chic. Could be a nice hotel if the service issues were properly addressed.

Room Tip: Best rooms are in the corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SidRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
1.2 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#29 of 128 in Guadalajara
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
333 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clarum 101
Clarum 101
#38 of 128 in Guadalajara
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#31 of 128 in Guadalajara
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Carmen Concept Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Carmen Concept Hotel

Property: Del Carmen Concept Hotel
Address: Calle Jacobo Galvez 45 | Zona Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Del Carmen Concept Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Del Carmen Concept Hotel, situated in a restored 19th century neo-classical hacienda is a luxury boutique hotel offering a new concept in accommodation; transporting us to the elegant hotels of the belle époque, whilst integrating advanced technology and the avant-garde design of the 21st century. Dedicated to the Surrealist art movement in Mexico, each suite has been exquisitely designed to pay homage to the most representative artists of the era: Tamayo, Varo, Cuevas, Gerzso, Carrington, Friedeberg, Soriano, Coronel & Vlady. A magical place that allows us to escape from reality… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Del Carmen Concept Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing