We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably not going back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Hotel and Suites
Ranked #42 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We just got home from 4 nights at this hotel. We got a good price on the room, and wanted a hotel with a swimming pool. We've stayed at numerous hotels in Mexico and know what is standard for more economical places. This one was overpriced even at the price we paid, for what we got.
The room was very sparsely furnished - a king size bed almost as hard as concrete, one chair, which had horrible stains on it, and the TV cabinet. And another cabinet with 4 hangers. No place to put your suitcases, or to sit besides the bed. Even though the room was large enough, no table or desk. Lighting was pretty bad, too. The A/C worked, but took a longtime to cool the room. A fan would have been nice.
Bathroom was ok except for the water leak from the ceiling. We did have adequate hot water.
The room seriously needed scraping and new paint, and tile instead of the ugly carpet would be better.
The location was fine, we drove and the parking is good. We took the bus downtown one day and that was easy and inexpensive.
We had to ask several times to get an extra pillow, and we do speak Spanish so I know they knew what we wanted.
I MIGHT stay there again for the right price as it was a convenient location for us.

Room Tip: Maybe some have softer beds? Or have more furnishings? Ask to see the room first. We didn't and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sioux4noff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2007

This was a good place to stay for the price. I was in Guadalajara visiting my daughter who is attending the University of Guadaljara for a semester. It's located in Zona Country Club which is a safe, middle to upper class neighborhood, and was about a mile away from where my my daughter was staying with her host family. The hotel is an older property and the rooms were sparsely furnished and not up to date, but clean and well kept, and adequate. The grounds were well maintained and the property has a pretty nice domed pool and patio in the middle of the complex. Wireless internet access was free although the signal was weak at times The air conditioning in my room wasn't that great, but got me through a few humid nights.

The staff was always courteous, kind ,and helpful. In these Mexican family type establisments it's alway good to know a least a little Spanish as it's likely you'll run into a lot of people that don't speak any English. Cab to downtown was about $7 and if you're brave you can take the bus for less than 50 cents. I stayed for a week and had no problems. One drawback is that it's not that close to the center of the city, but it wasn't prohibitively far either. Considering the rising of hotels in Guadalajara I thought this was a good deal, especially for the budget-minded.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ConiCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luisistaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank HectorSammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Country Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lumarino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Country Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mumuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#49 of 130 in Guadalajara
131 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
#25 of 130 in Guadalajara
138 reviews
2.5 mi away
Perla Central Hotel
Perla Central Hotel
#44 of 130 in Guadalajara
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#21 of 130 in Guadalajara
231 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel & Suites Quinta Magna
Hotel & Suites Quinta Magna
#53 of 130 in Guadalajara
81 reviews
2 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#64 of 130 in Guadalajara
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hotel and Suites

Address: Calle Jorge Alvarez Del Castillo Z. 1482 | Colonia Chapultepec Country, Guadalajara 44610, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range: £21 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wider spaces for comfortable stay. We are a four star hotel located in one of the most exclusive residential, commercial and business areas of the city, near the golf course Guadalajara Country Club, just 15 minutes from downtown and 35 minutes from International Airport. Here you can enjoy a pleasant stay and find everything you need at your fingertips. In addition to personal attention, and our staff will assist and orient to make your visit unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing