We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hostel for Guadalajara!”
Review of Blue Pepper Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Pepper Hostel
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I have had the opportunity to spend a few days in the Blue Pepper hostel and I can say that it was a very good experience.
The place is very clean, nice and there is a friendly atmosphere.
You can cook whatever you want thanks to the fully equiped kitchen, the common areas include flat screen television, billard, books, movies and access to the internet for a very good price !! The rooms are good and the stay includes an international breakfast !
The staff is really nice and helpful, if you need any information about what places to visit, where to go out and how to go you can ask without a problem.

In a few words : a very good place to stop by if you are visiting Guadalajara !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Our fully equiped kitchen is waiting for you any time that you want to return to Guadalajara! We hope that everything is going well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

A true "hostel" experience. The Owner did a great job of capturing the true essence of what a hostel is and should be.

I am currently traveling all of central America and therefore have stayed at numerous hostels. Some worth not even mentioning. On merit, I want to take this time to praise blue pepper. Here are some points to consider when staying at any hostel and how blue pepper hostel has satisfied these points.

1. Proximity to public transportation- just a walk down the street and you catch the bus to down town. 6 pesos and 10mns later and you're there.

2. Proximity to super market- a 7mn walk and your are at the big DISCOUNT store for food and all other needs.

3. Proximity to night life and restaurants- a walk down the street from the hostel and you can start your selection of restaurants or bars.

4. Breakfast is included??!- yes blue pepper impressed me by going far beyond what the typical hostels call breakfast. Here they serve a buffet style breakfast with cereal, fruit, eggs, enchiladas, beans, toast...

4.common area- its boasts a large outdoor patio and indoor living room. Great ambiance for meeting new people or enough space if you want privacy.

5. Customer service- I am big on this and when you travel as much as I do, this point becomes more and more important. The staff is very attentive and appreciative of its guests. They have shown to go out of their way to make you feel at home.

6. Kitchen- fully equipped!!

7. Cleanliness- 5 out 5. Someone cleans every day. Her name is Vicky :)

8. Entertainment- plasma tv, play station, board games, books, movies, computer, pool table, basketball court,

9. neighborhood/ safe, secure, yet vibrant and youthful

This was my home for almost a month and it certianly felt like it!!!

A great value for you dollar!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments Daniel. We are always striving to provide the best customer service while we continue to improve our facilities. We sincerely hope that everything is going well for you, and that you choose to stay with us whenever you are in Guadalajara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Blue Pepper is a great place to meet new friends. Everything about the hostel is geared toward bringing the guests together. From their long cafeteria style eating patio area, to the couch and pool table and the shared kitchen, there are many opportunities to hang out.

The dorm rooms are very basic: bunk beds, wood lockers for your things, but it seems even this forces guests out of their rooms and into the common area.

My only complaint about the hostel is the showers. I don't mind sharing bathrooms, but it would be nice to have a place to set your things. Also, three shower stalls in one tiny bathroom....I probably won't shower with strangers...

I loved the staff who were very knowledgeable about the area and helped me find cheap public transportation. The atmosphere is very chill. A good place to hangout, read, and relax after a day of exploring the city. Tours to Tequila, Tlaquepaque and Chabala could be booked from the hostel as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering_rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks. We always strive to make our guests feel like family. we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Confortable and reasonable price
Center located and very kind
It would be nice and easy access to stop by and short stay.
I have been there with my friend.
We were trying to find youthhostel.
Because we did not want to spend 100 dollars each for just 1night
We wanted to spend that money for something not for the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnOtto2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thanks for your kind comments. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stayed in two hostels in Guadalajara and Blue Pepper was by far the best. The building is nice and modern on the inside. Great outside patio area for eating, drinking and relaxing. Beds are comfy enough. The owner Alex is great and knows his stuff about Guadalajara for clubbing, food and transport. I didnt do any but they also organise tours for you. Has a pool table, PS3, movies and cable TV. Good variety breakfast and a big kitchen for cooking your own stuff. As others have said bit far out from Centro but theres a heap of frequent buses nearby and its close to the trendy Avenida Chapultepec which has great bars, cafes and restaurantrs. If I´m in Guadalajara again I´ll be staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comradeotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thanks for your kind review. We hope that you come back to Guadalajara some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I was among the first customers and staff was great, offering us a clubbing night.
rooms are comfortable and clean, the bathroom was comfortable and clean too. the breakfast was very rich and good. the hostel is quite far from the city center: 20-30 minutes by walking, but we didn't search for buses. anyway it's next to the boulevard chapultepec, the heart of guadalajara's party. I advice it absolutely!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axelmartilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluePepperHostel, General Manager at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Grazie mille for sharing your comments, lots of greetings and see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I spend nearly a week there. I was so much fun. Both the guest and the employees was really nice, and there was a nice community feeling at Blue Pepper. I joined the arranged tour with them, it was a nice way to see more of beautiful Mexico.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajaKirketerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluePepperHostel, General Manager at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

We are really happy you enjoyed the tour and your stay at Blue Pepper Hostel and we wish you the best in your traveling experience.

Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte
#1 of 96 in Guadalajara
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Nacional
Hostal Nacional
#2 of 96 in Guadalajara
76 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hostel Guadalajara Centro
Hostel Guadalajara Centro
#8 of 96 in Guadalajara
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hostel Lit
Hostel Lit
#14 of 96 in Guadalajara
94 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostal de Maria
Hostal de Maria
#7 of 96 in Guadalajara
49 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Roof Backpackers
The Roof Backpackers
#12 of 96 in Guadalajara
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pepper Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pepper Hostel

Address: Calle Alfredo R. Plascencia 78, Guadalajara 44600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Guadalajara
Price Range: £7 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Pepper Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Pepper Hostel was created to make sure travelers and people around the world could find a safe, clean, and cool place to rest in Guadalajara, meet fellow backpackers and experience the real Mexican culture so they can get the best of their time in this amazing city, a place that has so much to offer. More than just a regular hostel, we work with a philosophy of interaction between our guests and the staff working here. We have learn over the years that are not the "places" but the "faces" that can make a traveler's experience something unique and different form any other adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Pepper Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing