We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“late review”
Review of Tequila Express

Tequila Express
Book In Advance
More Info
US$209.00*
and up
Day Trip to Tequila with Jose Cuervo Express Train
Ranked #5 of 29 Tours in Guadalajara
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small luxury train travels the hilly landscape between Guadalajara and Tequila.Hello Friend welcome at the Best Tour of Tequila with our Mariachi, tequila and our National Sport La Charreria.With de Code PROM21 You Get a discount.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“late review”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was just looking at my Mexico pictures and this was my favorite day. From the time you board the train and the Mariachi band starts playing to the show at the agave fields and buffet, on the way back I finally had a shot of tequila before that I was drinking tequila coolers. The price 7 years ago was $100.00 .I considered it worth every penny. Sorry for the late review

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboop2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    35
    17
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tequil-iscious”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We opted NOT to take the train this time, so we could take a lugubrious pace and save our taste buds. It is an hour to an hour and a half depending on the driver and which road you take into it via an auto/driver.
We went to three different Tequila Houses to scope them out, prior to choosing one
That will be a separate review.
This is more to describe that the Train at departure at 9:00AM with arrival back to Guadalajara at closer to 8:00 PM. So, a long day, and depending who is in your group, and how much they imbibe, the civility factor can be painful. If you are on a budget, this may be the way to go, but they do get you coming and going.
Once was enough for us

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tommaso A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo Vallarta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great no brainer day trip!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Many options to visit Tequila for tours...vans etc. The Train was a great experience! A little pricey: $100 USD per person. Book online. But, it is all inclusive! Mixed tequila drinks on the train or tastings of various tequilas on the train. Mariachis before, during and after. Good Mexican buffet...tacos and salad bar. Again, unlimited beverage options. The highlight however, is a tour of the Casa Herradura distillery. Very educational and interactive tour of the facilities and Tequila making process. The guides will ensure you are matched with an English speaking tour guide if you desire. There is a bit of a cattle call element to the transportation aspect as there were 5 cars fully loaded...so, patience is a virtue . Other than that; relax imbibe and enjoy the ride! Full day trip...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best drinking tour”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

amazing tour, definitely a must in Guadalajara. we took the train from Jose Cuervo, fully recommended, they provide all day tequila of the best quality and give you a lesson on tasting and knowing how to properly drink it.

The tour of the process is very interesting and after you get a great show of local dances and good food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tati_C0l0mbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterport, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and Well Worth the Trip !”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Plan all day for your tour ! It was great - between the bands, the entertaining tour guides, as much tequila as you wanted. The tour of the facility was very informative and well done and organized well. After that was a buffet with more "refreshments" as well as entertainment for a couple of hours. Then it was back on the train for more entertainment and refreshments. Highly recommend !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnRonco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tequila Express also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Tequila Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing