We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem. This will be my first choice next visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I was blown away. The photos don't do this place justice. It's truly a great value and a beautiful and comfortable hotel. The pool on the roof is nice, the rooms are well appointed, and the staff are more than helpful. I wish there was a hot tub, but aside from that, happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trilobite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Booked my stay at Hotel Morales through Hotels.com: excellent deal.
Hotel is excellent, first class. Large comfortable rooms with all amenities including hair dryer in the bathroom and iron and ironing board available too.
Great location; all the historic sites are within easy walking distance.
Try the Sopa Azteca in the restaurant...tastey!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miltonito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Despite my doubts, I accepted to stay in Hotel Morales.

Let me tell you, I enjoyed it so much.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the hotel location is the best. You can take a walk in Guadalajara downtown, go to the cathedral, have a great lunch... there are a lot of places to go near the hotel or if you want to go somewhere else you can take a taxi so easily.

The building itself is very interesting, it has lots of details on its walls, lots of stories to tell. The manager invited us (my wife and me) to follow him for a tour through the hotel. Hotel employees are very kind.

Definitively, if I go back to Guadalajara I would like to stay in Hotel Morales again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MemoSaenzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The warm, friendly staff and very clean room made for a great stay in a great city. The Morales is a gently updated old school hotel with 2 courtyards right in the middle of the historic center. I walked everywhere at all hours, no problems. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was typical and adequate, but I ended up going to La Chata down the street instead every morning. After touring, I would come back to music in the lobby: very nice. Highly recommend a stay here. Thanks, Consuela and your team!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rangerboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were going to stay here due to the good reviews it has this hotel on the Social Networks, but when we arrive at 11 PM we found out that our reservation was not there and that it has been cancelled without notifying us by email or phone or the reservation site. The reason the Credit Card was not approved to charge the first night. This is of course somehow understandable, but for precaution we called the night before to confirm the reservation where the Hotel Staff confirmed the Reservation and the availability. So, what happened?? why they didn't told us that the Card was rejected? Who's responsible?

On our arrival, the front desk girl (Consuelo) told us this and that basically it was not her problem (and better luck next time). So, at 11 PM on an unknown city after 7 hours’ drive we were out on the street and the hotel staff couldn't care less...

Hopefully, the manager (Ana) was not as short-minded and unfriendly as the front desk girl. The manager helped us find a close hotel nearby with the same tariff per night and gave us a coupon to have free breakfast on this hotel the next day.

Thanks to the manager I'm not qualifying the Hotel as Terrible but as a Poor (it can't be Average). They should review internally the preparation of their staff for this kind of situations and notify the guests of changes on their reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juanvzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel Morales is very grand, and also very warm/homey. I had never been to Mexico before, so I wanted to stay somewhere with history vs. a newer tower hotel is that is similar to what you might find in any large city. I'm glad I chose Hotel Morales. Manuel, the concierge, helped set up a shuttle from the airport to the hotel the night I arrived, plus provided me with many dinner options within walking distance. This was all done via email even before I left, making some things already prepared before my arrival.

I asked for a quiet room, and took all the previous reviewers' advice: I asked for a high floor, away from the lift, away from traffic, and away from the nearby bar/disco. I ended up with a King suite on the top floor that had a window to a pretty interior courtyard, plus a small window to the city from the bathroom. This window had many panes, and when latched shut, completely blocked out any noise from outside. I did occasionally hear the bell chimes from the nearby historical clock tower, but it didn't wake me up each time since it wasn't loud. The clock tower may be the only downside of staying in the colonial downtown area. Traffic noise was silent at night since they shut down the streets after midnight.

I walked most places, since I was assured it was safe, and even told where to go/what to see by the very nice and extremely helpful Bell Captain named Jose. He called some nearby hotels for me one night to find out which had the highest public terraza to visit so I could get a photo from an upper floor of the newer tower hotels (although, I found out after the photo op that I prefer Hotel Morales' own rooftop terrace because you feel more connected to the action on level 5 vs. seeing dots from level 30 in the new towers).

I felt perfectly safe walking to the ATM at the bank across the street, to the drug store for some supplies, to the nearby squares with live music and cafes, etc. The whole of downtown core seemed very safe overall. Jose said as long as you are back by 12am, you're fine out walking alone.

Jose actually got me out of possible swindle from a cab driver that tried to charge me for a "round trip" (AKA double the price) one time. Yo sólo hablo un poco de Español, so I could not always understand the cab drivers. However, I took many cabs, and all were fine, but this one. The driver was still nice enough even once he realized Jose was translating for me, and gave me back the excess money. It could have been a misunderstanding, but Jose and I both thought he was trying to take advantage of my limited Español. All other cab trips were fine, and I was careful to ensure that my cab fare was pre-negotiated from the hotel staff or restaurant hostess from then on.

The room was great. The shower (counter to some of the reviews) had near instant-on hot water, and yes, if you turn both taps to full on, you will get a pressure wash. I found a quarter-turn on both knobs was perfect. It was a shower room, with 4 walls and it's own door with etched glass decoration. Truly, it was one of my favorite house or hotel showers I've even been in. The floor and walls were a pretty blue stone tile throughout, even inside the toilet room (water closet), and by the vanity. That was all separated by a pretty dark wood door and partition which connected to the bedroom. The housekeeping left handwritten thank-you notes in both English and Espanol each day when I left a tip (which was neat), and while I did see a couple long hairs around the room (like on the bedding/towels) on the first night I arrived, it was spotless every night thereafter. Oh, and the A/C is powered by a neat remote control, and worked wonderfully the whole time.

I agree about the outdated bedding mentioned by other reviews. I didn't mind the firm mattress, but I did have to request a softer pillow after a couple nights (which was promptly given to me after I mentioned that casually to Jose one evening when he asked how everything was and if I needed anything).

The 2 provided bottles of water each night were sufficient to drink and use for tooth brushing if you want. TIP: You will go through your bottled water faster than your mouthwash, and Listerine does a good job of rinsing your toothbrush if you're concerned about the tap water.

The bar was on the small side, but really neat, and the barman Julian was very friendly, and also spoke English, as did Jose, Manuel, and many of the registration staff. I only ate at the restaurant for breakfast on the last day there, and it was awesome. Get the "Northerner Breakfast". Breakfast had live piano music, while dinner time and happy hour had a great live Mariachi trio.

I could write more about the beautiful lobbies, artwork, koi pond and other details, but instead, will just attach a lot of photos to fill in the rest of the story. :)

Room Tip: 408 is not dark, has a interior courtyard window, and a small city window, is not loud from the stre...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B4P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel has lots of character. Historic building sympathetically restored into a comfortable place to stay. Location right in the heart of historic district of Guadalajara. Also a safe haven from any Mariachi.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank whittn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#26 of 129 in Guadalajara
372 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#9 of 129 in Guadalajara
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#27 of 129 in Guadalajara
506 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#5 of 129 in Guadalajara
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Address: Avenida Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#5 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#11 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range: £46 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Spa, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing