We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, too bad they overcharged our bill and refuse to change it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Good location, decent place, but BEWARE, they asked us to PRE-PAY and then OVERCHARGED us on check out.
Stay at your own risk.
Apparently my review isn't long enough so this is taking up space, the important part is this hotel is ripping people off- maybe not everyone, but we have travelled all over the world without getting scammed like we did at Hotel Morales

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ouroboros1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilinila, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences during your stay in our hotel, about the overcharge we normally make a open voucher at your check inn and this one has to be close at the end. if you have the prove from your bank of this overcharge please lets us know by email at: concierge@hotelmorales.com.mx, so we can take care of this situaction, normally this charge is going to desapear after a few days from your bank beacuse is only freeze.

We appreciate your comments as they are helpful to improve our services.

Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in Guadalajara.
This hotel that takes you back in time...Great architect and design.Very helpful stuff and very clean.
The gym is small but useful , and the swimming pool area is great.
The hotel is located at the edge of the historical district. It is good walking distance to almost everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was a great hotel in Guadalajara! It's right on the edge of the historical district and good walking distance to everything. The room I stayed in was a little dark (no window) and dimly lit, which was great for sleeping but not for in-room activities, like eating, reading, or organizing. If you're just going to use the place as a crash pad, though, then that really doesn't matter. I recommend the breakfast buffet -- it was very good value for the price, and had excellent authentic Mexican food (as well as an omelette station)!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bumble_Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our family selected and stayed at this property 4 nights (occupying 4 rooms) over the New Years' holiday based on TripAdvisor reviews. While most reviewers rate this hotel quite highly, it's currently just not worthy of the high praise. Yes- this hotel is somewhat of an architectural "gem", but you've got to provide some "basics" to your guests to ensure their comfort, and earn the praise. Initially, we were placed in small, poorly designed rooms that surrounded one of the hotel's internal courtyards. While there were windows that faced the court-yard, little (if any) light entered the small rooms leaving the feeling of a dungeon-like atmosphere in your room 24 hours/day. Add to that- the fact that ALL table/ceiling lamps seemed to have only 25-40 watt bulbs- making it VERY difficult to see what you were needing to do (shave, apply make-up, select clothing for the day, etc.). Taking showers was a miserable experience. The water temperature was tepid at best, leaving you shivering through the entire shower. The hotel staff stated that you needed to let the water run for 15 minutes before it would get comfortably warm; but this strategy never made a difference in water temperature (and what reputable/responsible hotel can afford / would want to waste all of that water?!?). We asked for a room change after the first night, and were moved to another section of the hotel with nicer, larger rooms, and exterior windows. Unfortunately, you're still dealing with table/ceiling lamps with 25-40 watt bulbs, and tepid water for showering! Breakfasts and dinner in the hotels' restaurant were fine- just wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking for a good restaurant in this area of Guadalajara. The location of the restaurant was on the edge of the main lobby, through which a cold wind constantly blew. This made for an uncomfortably-cold dining experience, yet the hotel staff refused to simply close the hotel's lobby entrance doors to correct the situation. Hotel/restaurant staff were either very friendly, or "dismissive" to the point where you were left feeling quite uncomfortable and unwanted. With the hotel's renovation 8 years ago, numerous exterior spot-lights were installed around the building to highlight the exterior architecture. Unfortunately most of these lights were either burnt-out or non-functional. Likewise, numerous wall-sconces in internal public areas were bunt out, and I don't think any table lamps in public areas functioned (believe me- you needed all the "artificial" light possible in many areas of this hotel!) While numerous reviews complain of the "street noise" outside of the hotel, we didn't experience the problem- nor, to be fair, it really isn't in the hotel's control. However, for a hotel that had a major renovation (lasting two years) just 8 years ago, this property doesn't meet the basic standards for a good (or better) hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you check-out the room you've been assigned before you accept the room, and if it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lookp002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are really clean, the staff is really helpful and the food is excellent. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown and you can walk to most of the tourist attractions from here, by staying here we saved money on taxis and public transportation.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caminanteconilatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We LOVED this place. We were allowed to check in very early (THANK YOU!) and we were so happy about so many offerings:
1. heated pool on roof
2. kind cleaning staff
3. hot showers
4. comfortable bed
5. unlike other reviewers, our room was well lit, and it was interior - it is an old colonial building, turn on the light if you need light - or go OUTSIDE
6. nice towels and sheets - even wash-cloths which is a bonus in other hotels of this price
7. safe
8. GREAT location
9 super deal
10 QUIET

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

After reading TripAdvisor reviews and viewing the photos on the hotel’s website, I was looking forward to our stay at Hotel Morales in Guadalajara. Because our flight involved a red-eye arriving early in the morning, I called the front desk the day before to see if we could check in to our room even if we arrived as early as 8am. I was delighted to hear “no problema”.

We arrived somewhere around 9am, bone-weary after a sleepless overnight flight followed by two hours of standing in line at Customs at the airport. After checking in, we were shown to our room. I was appalled. We must have been assigned one of the worst rooms in the hotel. It was an interior room without any windows (I doubt this would even be legal in the U.S.). The only (dim) light was provided by a nearby airshaft. The room was right next to the elevator. Because of the hotel’s quarry tile floors, we heard the loud click-click of every suitcase departing the elevator. The room was directly above the lobby. We also heard, quite distinctly, the clanking of the plates in the restaurant, the plinking of the piano player in the lounge, and the general hubbub of sounds accompanying any hotel lobby. Acoustics were such that the sounds seemed amplified in our room. I was also told that there was no wifi in the room, despite the hotel’s advertising. I should also note that a “suite” in the U.S. means that there is a separate living room and bedroom. A “suite” at the Hotel Morales is merely a basic hotel room and bath.

I asked for another room, but was told there was nothing else available until other people started checking out. Although I was exhausted, it took a long time to fall asleep due to all the noise.

Later that afternoon, I was offered a choice of two rooms: another interior room in a quieter location with wi-fi, or a third-floor room with a window on the lobby side of the hotel without wi-fi. We chose the room with a window. I couldn’t stand the thought of being in a windowless room for five days.

There was some confusion among hotel staff about whether our room had wi-fi or not. The hotel clerk said it didn’t and handed us a DSL cord. The bellhop said it did. Eventually, after learning that the password was all upper-case letters, we discovered that we did indeed have wi-fi in our room.

The Hotel Morales is lovely, with a colonial appearance and furnishings. All of the hotel staff were unfailing polite and helpful. We especially appreciated Manuel at the concierge desk. Our second room was large enough, and was attractive. The restaurant, morning piano player, and evening mariachis were all very nice. Only a few blocks from Plaza de las Armas, the location is extremely convenient. The price, at $75USD per night, was certainly reasonable.

However, the Hotel Morales is located kitty-corner from a large plaza where all the bus lines meet and taxis congregate. Even with windows closed and A/C running, we heard the sounds of buses and traffic all night. To make matters worse, car alarms are blaring all day and all night, interfering with sleep. One night (it may have been pre-Epiphany celebrations), we heard what sounded like gunshots three times. In addition, the water in the shower was only barely lukewarm, even with the hot water handle set as high as it can go. For these reasons, I’d choose another hotel the next time I visit Guadalajara.

Room Tip: The "La Reina" side of the hotel has quieter rooms (away from the lobby) and more attracti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SML-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#27 of 131 in Guadalajara
379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#9 of 131 in Guadalajara
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#1 of 131 in Guadalajara
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#13 of 131 in Guadalajara
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
4.3 mi away
La Mansion del Sol
La Mansion del Sol
#22 of 131 in Guadalajara
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Address: Avenida Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#11 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range: £42 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Spa, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing