We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aranzazu ECO(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fenix(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Universo S.A.(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Hotel Porto Alegre(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perla Central Hotel(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,877)
Filter reviews
1,877 results
Traveller rating
1,149
558
95
42
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,149
558
95
42
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimperial suiterooftop poolmodern conveniencesla gordaold world charmwithin walking distancebeautiful buildingthird floorfew blockscentral locationstreet noisehotel restaurantfree internetdefinitely stay here againwonderful hotelbreakfast buffetrooms are large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
682 - 687 of 1,877 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our second visit to Guadalajara within two years and we decided to stay at the beautiful Hotel Morales again. The staff is wonderful, always cheery and friendly. We ordered in-room dining service several times, and the food is great. The hotel is located within the colonial, historic district and walking distance from many historic attractions. We love this hotel and would consider coming back again. It is in a safe area of downtown, historic Guadalajara. The only negative during this year's stay was our room's A/C unit, it leaked constantly while on where it became a safety hazard (big puddles of water in the middle of the night as the A/C is located over the door to the bathroom). The service staff came several times during our stay to "fix" the unit but we still had trouble with it. The toilet leaked water every time it was flushed. Be aware that this is an older hotel - very charming, beautiful, clean, safe, and in a convenient location with a great service staff. We were on 2nd floor in an Imperial Suite facing the street level and did not experience any noise problems during the night.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the WiFi key so that you can access internet from your room, if you need it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bellabookworm8x8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay.

Hope you can give us the pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Guadalajara.

Kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great location in Historic Guadalajara. Amazing Hotel architecture, Casona style. Free Valet parking, and parking is close to impossible to find, Great service, very comfortable rooms, amazingly hot and strong water pressure in bathrooms(is in issue in some hotels in Mexico), and great Breakfast buffet (chef cooks custom egg dishes on request) about 10 for adults and 5-6 for kids.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oats55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel, I'm so glad to know
that you could enjoy our service, location and comfort.

Hope to see you soon.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a beautiful surprise! My colleague recommended that we stay at Hotel Morales, during a conference, and it was perfect. Very comfortable room, stunning hotel, gracious hosts, and well located near many historical sites. I am also grateful for the sound-proof window in the bathroom, as the hotel is also near some pretty loud clubs. Wish that I had more time to enjoy the pool and spa. I will definitely stay here again if I have the chance to go back to Guadalajara.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the classic indoor courtyards.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kimberley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel, I'm so glad to know
that you could enjoy our service, location and comfort, we appreciate your comments as they are helpful to improve our services.

And like you say, hope to see you soon.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

When my mom and I traveled to Guadalajara in February 2012 for a quinceanera, we stayed in the North of the city to be closer to our friends. For our visit in May 2013, we decided to stay at the Hotel Morales in the centre of the city, and it was worth it!

We arrived late at night and checked in quickly. Our room had 12-foot high ceilings, solid hardwood floors, a large armoire, some chairs and side tables, and two double beds (which were very comfortable) with elegant bedding! The bathroom was very large and modern, with clean, hot water (which was a major upgrade from our hotel in Mexico City the week before). Our window faced into the closed inner courtyard of the hotel, so we had no noise from the road outside. If we opened the window, we could faintly hear the fountain or the gentleman who played the grand piano in the morning on the ground floor.

Included with the price of the hotel was free wifi and the signal was good enough to reach in the room, but was stronger in the common areas. There was a modern tv, with the Latino music channels I like, a safety-deposit box, and a very good air conditioner!

On the roof is the large pool and access to the gym. There was also a shaded area, which I appreciated, as I can't sit in the Mexican summer sun too long without frying. The view from there is fantastic.

Located right in the centre of town, we were only a few blocks to the Catedral de Guadalajara, or San Juan de Dios. There was an abundance of restaurants in the area, so we ate somewhere different every meal. The area can be a little dodgy after the sun goes down, so in the evenings, we'd return to our hotel to watch the live mariachi band in the lobby and enjoy a few cold drinks. We always felt safe and secure in the hotel.

This hotel exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be staying here the next time we're in Guadalajara!

If you liked this review, please let me know by giving me a 'helpful' vote. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kaeli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comment. Our staff works hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay. I am glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your time in Gdl. I truly appreciate your comment.

Hope on your next visit to Guadalajara we can be your first choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wow, what a beautiful place! I stayed with my girlfriend for a weekend in this beautiful restored hotel: the entrance is breathtaking, perfectly maintained and gives a very welcome feeling. Rooms are large with all amenities needed: bathroom with jacuzzi, flatscreen, great bed and a lot of space. We loved the open space outside the room as well. Within 5 minutes you walk to the cathedral, teatro Degollado and all other central sites you want to visit. The hotel also helps on getting safe transportation by taxi. Breakfast was nothing special but does the trick: you can also go to one of the many eateries Guadalajara offers.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gijs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel, I'm so glad to know
that you could enjoy our service, location and comfort, we appreciate your comments as they are helpful to improve our services.

Hope to see you soon
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews