We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the line hotel, incredible architecture and exceptional service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top of the line hotel, incredible architecture and exceptional service.”
Reviewed 7 September 2009

My stay at hotel Morales was exceptional, the service was GREAT! Location is very accessible to anywhere you want to go, very central, food in restaurant was delicious and very reasonable in price. Hotel pricing was also very reasonable. Can't wait to come back. One thing I didn't like shower head doesn't have much pressure, everything esle PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank One_Cosmo_Martini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    501
    81
    42
    28
See reviews for
433
595
135
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I just have not seen any hotel like that, I gone sevrel times now and if you see the price youre just going to love the place... And this last time I saw some new thing and it looks even better... You have to stay there just to undersand

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hnao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I think this is the best place in this price range within Guadalajara Centro. Hotel San Francisco is comparable. Both are beautiful. It's been beatutifully restored, not renovated, in a traditional 19th century/early 20th century style. Don't be put off by the dark exterior. Inside, you will be wowed as you walk in and see the columns and arches, the neo-classic furniture and the interior courtyard. All of the rooms open onto a balcony that wrap saround interior courtyard on each floor. It's framed in by stone arches and wood beams; a classic look. They've installed ornamental lighting that gives it a fantastic look at night. The service in this hotel for my stay was wonderful. I don't have a complaint. They were patient as I tried using my Spanish and had no problem switching to English when words failed me. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, again done in a traditional Mexican colonial style. There's a safe with an electric lock in each room. It was big enough to fit my laptop and other things at the same time. Iron, ironing board and hair dryer are all provided. TV, too. No alarm clock in my room, though. There were only two towels, two hand towels and two wash clothes in the bathroom but I was just one person so I didn't need more. I'm sure the staff would provide more if needed. They provide two 600ml bottles of water each day in the room as well as toiletries. There were a few imperfections, a shower head that ocassionally sprayed wildly and water leaked out through the shower door in my room leaving a little puddle on the bathroom floor. But hey, if you travel to Mexico regularly, you know that nothing is perfect. It's pretty typical for construction work and finishing work to have imperfections here. No big deal really. The room was spacious. Mine had two full size beds and a table with two chairs in the foyer area. A nice arch separated the bed area from the foyer. You'll need to bring a network cable with you if you want to use the internet in your room. The wireless signal is meant for use in the lobby and it doesn't work for the upper floors. It would be nice if they had a cable in each room.

The hotel is in walking distance from every thing you'd want to see in Gudalajara Centro. It was just a six block walk to my language school, IMAC, which is a popular place to learn both English and Spanish. Also, the #647 bus stops one block away. You'll want to take that bus for a 15-20 minute ride to Tlaquepaque. The shopping and restaurants are great there. Go in the late afternoon and stay through the evening. The bus costs just 5 pesos, lass than 50 cents. A taxi will cost you around 50 pesos. The nightlife in Tlaquepaque is better than Guadalajara, more centralized and better atmosphere in the restaurants/bars.

A nice surprise was perhaps the best traditional Mexican band I had ever heard playing in the lobby lounge/bar on Wednesday and Thursday nights. Very well trained musicians and singers. If you pay cash, you get a 10 percent discount. My room wound up costing me about $70 American per night. Don't worry about taking that much cash out of a cash machine. Guadalajara is a very safe city compared to other parts of Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooklynite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a meeting as well. You couldn't ask for better!!! The photos on their website do accurately represent the place.

The hotel is a masterpiece of historic architecture, the rooms are modern, spacious, very clean and comfortable. Service is fantastic. Lots of staff so you won't wait for anything. Always helpful even with out of the ordinary requests, and most desk and lobby personnel speak English.

Their website doesn't mention parking, but there is valet parking in a lot next door so I always got the car quickly.

Some rooms have outside view windows, others only have an inside view. Lovely rooftop patio open 24/7, with a nice view of the city. 1 elevator but it's pretty fast, and the stairs are right next to it.

WiFi in lobby, restauant and roof patio; and broadband in each room--bring your own cord as they sell cords for 100 Pesos. Though you are likely to get at least some WiFi signal in the rooms.

Our meeting was a success, they setup the room just as desired.

Tip: the airconditioning in the rooms go off after you leave the room--you have to stick your keycard in a slot while in the room; but if the room is too hot, ask for an extra key to keep in the slot when you go out.

Prices are very reasonable for the class of hotel and it's just 3 blocks to the Cathedral. Prices excellent for meeting rooms too.

Restaurant food was very good, with a nice breakfast buffet. Good lunch and dinner food too, and it's open to about 10 or 11pm.

Skip the Hilton and similar which are miles from the historical center and get just as good service here. (Well you won't see the scantily-clad Hilton waitresses at the Morales!)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seat29F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

The hotel is a magnificent example of colonial architecture, and it has been meticulously restored...in fact the restoration is still in progress, but doesn't interfere with guests' comfort. My room (408) was in the back of the hotel and quiet, as I requested; the bed extremely comfortable. The food in the restaurant is above average. The staff is friendly and very, very helpful. And the location is ideal--just a few blocks south of the cathedral and plaza, in the heart of the historic district and within walking distance of many historic buildings and the subway.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Taveled with my family and stayed at this hotel, it was recommended to me by one of my co-workers. The place was lovely! Beautiful décor, the staff was great. The price was very good. The restaurant and entertainment was a plus! Location is awesome! It’s in the middle of everything, you can basically walk everywhere. Not to mention that it is also in a very safe area. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinnastickyNote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Everything about this hotel was fantastic. We arrived pretty early in the morning, and since our room wasn't ready yet we left our bags with the front desk. When we returned at about 11am when they told us, the rooms unfortunately weren't yet ready- however, the maids took us up to two rooms they were cleaning and we got to pick which one we wanted. Our room looked out onto the front of the building- and it was fantastic- definitely try to get one of those. The street itself was super noisy, but the windows were made of some insanely effective glass and you couldn't hear anything. There could be an 18-car pileup below the room, but you might as well be on the moon because you wouldn't hear it. There's also a rooftop terrace with some nice views- i think they use it for events, but try to go up and take a peek. For how nice the hotel was, i was amazed how inexpensive the room was- about USD65 if you pay with cash. I've paid a lot more at some places in Mexico for a heck of a lot less! The only downside is that the breakfast buffet isn't included in the room rate (and it's a bit pricey!). But skip the hotel and have breakfast at Chai (about 4 blocks away). Also, the business center has 2 computers with fast internet access, but no printer. What kind of business center doesn't have a printer? So in order to print out my boarding pass for our departing flight, I had to scour the streets for an internet cafe open at 8am. But apart from the absence of a printer, everything else about our stay was fantastic. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Guadalajara.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briguy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#32 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#13 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
0.2 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#30 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 129 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Property: Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Address: Avenida Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#9 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#11 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Spa, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing