We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is NOT a typical B&B”
Review of Casa Venezuela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalajara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Venezuela
Ranked #8 of 61 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Van
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“this is NOT a typical B&B”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

End of May 2011 we visted Guadalajara for 3 days (2 nights) and stayed at Casa Venezuela.

Everything we expected from a highly (trip advisor) rated B&B - great location, clean, safe, but what we didn't expect was the great lengths our gracious host (George) would go to ensure our stay was exceptional. Torta's for breakfast (yum yum), advising us on things to see and do including the hottest night club, travel arrangements to Puerto Vallarta, and the list goes on.

Thank for a great visit !!! Totally recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baboon812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
40
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We visited Mexico a few months ago and our tour was more than just being satisfying. On return we were refreshed and relieved. Hotel is great with its exemplary hospitality made possible by a pool of trained staff. We had more than expected. Would like to visit again but things are not fine these days in Mexico I believe.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_dday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south america
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Cannot be beat for STYLE and ATTENTION.

From arrival to departure we were totally spoilt. Our every whim was met with efficient concern. George, the proprietor, could not do enough for us, and ensured that our visit was totally enjoyable and memorable. Indeed, it was the BEST B&B experience we have ever had, and we have had many.

The house, or HOME, as we have come to view it, is splendid, with stained glass windows delivering colorful morning shimmering shadows from the upper floor to the lower. Our room and large bathroom was cute and comfortable. Additionally there are spacious outdoor seating areas in which to relax and guests are almost given the run of the house. All areas are complimented with art and artifacts from the region.

Francisco, the chef, prepared breakfasts broaching on the MAGNIFICENT, combining his gourmet approach with only the FRESHEST ingredients, to produce some of the best breakfast dishes we have ever consumed, all served in a dining room with daily decoratively changed crockery and cutlery and linen napkins, with every day presenting a different visual. Is it surpising that we want to kidnap him and also Nawal, Casa Venezuela's resident guard dog!!!!

For us, it has become a home away from home. It is, without question, the best B&B we have ever encountered.

Our stay at Casa Venezuela was FLAWLESS and we intend to return, and SOON.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I returned yesterday from GDL - spending the last 5 days at Casa Venezuela. George, the host, and Francisco, the gourmet cook, could not have made our visit any more relaxing. They provide a lot more than a bed and breakfast - they know the city inside and out and can recommend shopping, eating, historical and entertainment venues. They will walk you to bus stops, day spas and coffee shops. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the food is always delicious. I was sick the last two days of my visit and could not have been taken care of any better by George and Francisco. I miss them already and can't wait to recommend Casa Venezuela to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The staff at Casa Venezuela was amazingly attentive. We were the only guests there when we checked in and were offered a welcome cocktail, allowed to pick the room of our choice and given a snack. We were beginning to worry they were going to charge us for all of these extras at the end, but of course were not.
Francisco even walked us to some sights we wanted to see. The location is in a quiet, yet safe area. The rooms were clean, well decorated and unique. We met some wonderful people there, including staff and other guests at the breakfast table. We will definitely be staying there again next time we are in GDL!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britthunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

This is a great place to stay when venturing to Guadalajara to explore Tequila country. George has gone to great job making this beautiful house a fantastic B & B in the middle of a very metropolitan city. His staff are fabulous, specially Francisco who cooks a mean breakky and was gracious in taking us to the local markets to sample the local produce and immerse ourselves in the mexican culture. George can organise anything for you, including a driver/van, restaurant reservations, etc. After a hard day of Tequila exploring, nothing beats coming home and sitting in the outdoor courtyard to relax and sample your brought product. This place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

As warm and comfortable as a B & B can get. The fact there is ony 3 rooms means you can immediatley become friends with Groege the owner. He is charming, graciuos, charismatic and most of all hospitable. The house itself is amazing. It is beautiful and has an amazing courtyard that makes you feel your a million miles away from the hustle of the city. There are a couple of great restaurants close by and only 4 blocks away from a major street that has lots of restaurants. Highly recommend it those who are looking for a home from home while in Guadalajara.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwenCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 129 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#11 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#30 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#20 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Venezuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Venezuela

Property: Casa Venezuela
Address: Calle Venezuela 459 | Colonia Americana, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Venezuela , a Bed & Breakfast in a century old house in the Colonia Americana section of Guadalajara, close to the historic center, many restaurants, night clubs, a short cab ride to many of the cities attractions. We offer comfortable rooms all with private bath, full breakfast, luxurious linens, comp cocktail each evening, all rooms have TV, DVD players, smoking permitted on any of our three patios. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing