We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get much better”
Review of Casa Venezuela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalajara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Venezuela
Ranked #8 of 74 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2013

An elegant home away from home, drenched in Mexican folk art. Superb location in Colonia Americana, intimate surroundings (only 3 guestrooms), gorgeous breakfast by Francisco that fulfilled our every whim. Most memorable, and unique, was George, whose superb taste in the decorative arts and 20 years in the hotel business infuse the home and the overall experience with a level of sensitivity and consideration to guests impossible to find even in hotels where the staff greatly outnumbers the guests. His attention to every detail---both hardware and software--deserves the highest recognition. George's introduction to us of a favorite crafts dealer in Tonala became a fabulous adventure with great prizes at the end of the rainbow. Inspired by the house's resident mutt, lively & gentle Nahual (always ready to share his coveted rubber taco with a stranger), we sought out copies of ancient stoneware dogs. More plusses: Numerous nearby cafes, restaurants, bars, nocturnal dancing in the street gardens, 25 minute walk to the Cathedral and the Centro Historico. Located in a university quarter filled with classical/colonial and modern architectural wonders, including homes by Luis Barragan. Most important in the end: George made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mantou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Casa Venezuela is the perfect, affordable place to stay when you visit guadalajara. Each room has its own mexican decor, comfortable beds and pillows and each has its own bathroom! George and Gabrielle could not be more helpful. George's english and gabrielle's spanish got us in and out of many situations. It was like having our own personal tour guide. And on top of everything else, breakfast was delicious, not only granola and yogurt but many more choices; enchiladas, french toast, fresh squeezed orange juice and the most delicious cup of coffee! And the B&B is in a great neighborhood, near many cafes, restaurants and shops and walking distance to the bank. I look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The upstairs room has a queen size bed and a separate room with a twin bed. This worked out great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narragansett4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I visited the Casa Venezuela during a 5 day vacation to Guadalajara. As a first time traveler to Mexico I wasn't sure what to expect, and the Casa Venezuela served as an excellent home base to rest from the day's adventures and plan the next day.

The owner, George, was able to give us excellent directions and tips for traveling the city. The home was consistently clean and quiet, with lovely furnishings. The building featured filtered water. Each day we were offered an amazing home made breakfast, although I usually stuck to the yogurt and fruit.

I would highly recommend the Casa Venezuela to any English speaking visitors who wish to have a comfortable home base while exploring Guadalajara.

Room Tip: The upstairs room with two beds is actually more like 2 separate rooms, connected by a thin door. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My wife and I went to Guadalajara to help out at an Orphanage near by. We found "Casa Venezuela" on trip advisor and we are glad we did! This is by far the best B&B we have ever been to. It is beautifully decorated and well taken care of. Bedrooms are great, bedding is superb, restrooms are clean and you always have all necessary toiletries.

George is a fantastic host. He's very welcoming and always makes sure you are comfortable and has everything you need. He went above and beyond. We wanted to do a little bit of site seeing during our free time while we were there and George gave us great ideas and places to go see. We always felt very welcomed during our stay.

Francisco is not only an awesome chef but an awesome personas well. We enjoyed his company as well as his food. George and Francisco asked us what we would like for breakfast and we simply requested a surprise mexican breakfast everyday. We were there for a week and had amazing breakfasts every single day. The meals did not only taste great but were always beautifully displayed.

My wife and I will be returning to Guadalajara soon to bring supplies to the orphanage and we will be staying here again FOR SURE! It is a beautiful B&B in a beautiful location. We told all our friends and family that if they go to Guadalajara they have to stay here. We think anyone visiting Guadalajara should stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure recently of spending 3 glorious nights at Casa Venezuela, an oasis of paradise in the colonial part of Guadalajara and definitely the best area for a B&B. George is a delightful host, and Francisco, the gourmet chef is not only is a great chef, but incredibly helpful and welcoming as well.

The B&B is beautifully decorated with an extraordinary garden on the back patio. It is all wonderfully inviting. Our accommodations were lovely, clean & spacious. And, this may sound silly but the shower has great water pressure AND hot water -- something we found out is a rarity having stayed in a nearby city earlier in the week! Sometimes it is the little things that count. :-)

Anyway, I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed everything about Casa Venezuela and will -- actually already have -- recommend it to all of our friends and family because they are guaranteed a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, but I would recommend The Studio on the ground floor because it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamborgini3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have stayed at Casa Venezuela two times -- extended visits for weeks at a time. The place is beautiful, the meals are AMAZING, and George & Gabriel (the owners) and Francisco (the gourmet chef) are wonderful hosts! The rooms are decorated in traditional Mexican style with excellent and tasteful accents. You'll also love the outdoor patios -- one in the front and the other in back. Incredible!

The three hosts know the city inside and out: they can and will help you get tickets to shows you want to see, tours you wish to take, whatever you desire. They'll arrange drivers and services with no expectations or fees -- it's inclusive in the service and it's just how they are -- first rate. They also know the best restaurants -- from fine dining to stunning (and safe) food you can buy on the street for a true Mexican experience.

But what separates the place and makes it the best hotel of any kind I've stayed around the world -- service. I've seen them both George and Francisco for other guests and experienced it myself. Nothing is too small or large and they are ALWAYS smiling and sincere! And, on a recent visit, an American friend of mine arrived in Mexico feeling ill. We could not go out for dinner and Gabriel overheard my friend say that he'd like some chicken soup. Within minutes Gabriel was out the door -- he got all the ingredients to make homemade chicken soup for my friend's dinner. It was an incredible meal! When my friend told Gabriel: "a can of soup would have been more than I expected," Gabriel laughed and said: "No, no cans in Casa Venezuela!" (And, just to note: Casa Venezuela charged nothing for the homemade soup -- it's just the kind of hosts and home George, Gabriel, and Francisco offer guests.)

Casa Venezuela is located centrally for tourists: you're a 15-minute (safe!) walk to the city's historic center and 10-minutes (safe!) walk to the trendy Chipultepec area. You're surrounded by restaurants, galleries, cafes, and shops! If you come to Guadalajara, stay here!

Room Tip: Try the front room with the king-size bed. You have your own entrance without having to go inside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

George Zookey, the owner, and his partner, Gabriel, did a great job, as did their cook, Francisco. We had not only a terrific room and great breakfasts, but George provided excellent information about the city and region, and he gave us access to a top notch driver-guide. A visit to a city of 7 million usually requires substantial legwork, but none was required in our case; it was provided with the room! In six days we were able to see much of Guadalajara and nearby environs (e.g., Lake Chapala) at our leisure, and we dined at top notch restaurants. For a great visit with a personal touch, you can't beat the Casa Venezuela.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank chattye s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 mi away
La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B
La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B
#1 of 74 in Guadalajara
250 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#9 of 130 in Guadalajara
996 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Hotel and Suites
Country Hotel and Suites
#43 of 130 in Guadalajara
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#21 of 130 in Guadalajara
232 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#49 of 130 in Guadalajara
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Venezuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Venezuela

Address: Calle Venezuela 459 | Colonia Americana, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range: £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Venezuela , a Bed & Breakfast in a century old house in the Colonia Americana section of Guadalajara, close to the historic center, many restaurants, night clubs, a short cab ride to many of the cities attractions. We offer comfortable rooms all with private bath, full breakfast, luxurious linens, comp cocktail each evening, all rooms have TV, DVD players, smoking permitted on any of our three patios. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing