We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Price, very clean.”
Review of Hotel Casino Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casino Plaza
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap Price, very clean.”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is my first time in this hotel and I am typing this directly from room 504! Viva Internet!

The Hotel was built in 2004.

First thing, I agree with the comment about the noise in the hallway. I think the doors are made out of (1/32 inch thick wood, so you "can" hear everything that goes on in the hallway -> Everyting. The couple next door came in and out of their room until 4:00 am... I could have killed them! Tonight, i'm putting in my ear plugs or I'm having a few more drinks!! hahaha.

There is a bar close and you can hear the BOOM BOOM at night. It was over around 4ish. Actually, in the centro, there are bars and noise pretty much everywhere..

Beds are comfortably hard and the pillows ok. Overall the place is very clean. The Staff at the reception worthless. If you try to get any information from them - good luck -> even with getting a smile!

Parking is great! Breakfast was so, so..... Location is close to everything. There is even a supermarket (a Soriana) about 4 blocks away on Juarez.

Purchased my room online on aircanada.com (yes yes) and that was the cheapest price I could find after spending bout 4 hours on the internet. (I am an IT). They even beat the prices on here (tripadvisor.com) which GUARANTEES the prices which I am not going to spend time on! I paid 61.50 Canadian all tx and services included - everywhere else was 69 US including all tx and fees. Overall, at this price I will be returning here the next time.

I almost forgot, the TV stinks because the cable is almost nonexistent, I get about 10 channels..... If you are a TV Buff, bring, or purchase cheap at mercado, DVDs. I was here during "cabanuelos" which mean the rain between the change of seasons from winter to spring...

Internet is good, telmex @ 5mp and up at 0.55 like everywhere else in Mexico.

Hope this satisfies your questions! If it weren't raining, I'd be out there doing something else! hahahahah

Good luck in your hotel shopping! :-)

Ben

Room Tip: AC in all rooms. It's a "minisplit" and looks like it works fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benitolagraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    97
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
60
55
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This is a good hotel in Guadalajara. Particularly now, whith the Panamerican Games most other hotels are ridiculously expensive! This one may not be very fancy but is very clean, safe and well maintained. Only lacks a Gym. It is very close to downtoun and has a parking lot.

Room Tip: If the room has a window to the street may be noisy, but there is not much trafic in that street at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranciscoKuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

we arrived at guadalajara airport and took a cab to this hotel.. the cab driver had never heard of it so he had to ask by radio to see where it iwas.. when we got there.. the outside looked really bad.. in a suspect location.. once inside it was a bit better.. rooms are tiny.. not like the pictures in the website.. doesnt have central AC its a wall mounted unit.. and you cant leave it on when you leave the room. it has a card key access so when you leave the room everything shuts off including AC, TV , lights everything.. was told it had free wifi.. well it did but not in my room.. i was too far up it only worked in the lobby... super noisy at night.. there was a soccer team of kids that showed up.. and i about went outside to tell them to be quiet this wast at like 2 am.. also the name is misleading . .there is NO CASINO>. they said it USED to be a casino.. therefore the name... there is even pictures of a casino on the website!!!.. on the positive side the restaurant is very good... good breakfast. very reasonable prices.. adn since i didnt have many pesos i just had the restaurant bills added to my room.. and paid with my debit card.. worked well.. overall this is probably not for everyone.. that section of the city looked dangeous at night.. website is misleading.. it wasnt a horrible stay but also not what i expected.. hotel is cheap but can get a better place for the price...

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ocorral20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel last year when i went to the american consulate to complete my wives visa. The location of the hotel was the best attribute. The rooms were cramped, the beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable. The worst part, however, was the fact that you could hear everything from the hallway, it almost seemed that you had the door open. Nobody wants to wake up at 7 am on vacation and here the cleaning ladies gossiping and pushing their carts in the hallway. you could hear people walking....it completely sucked....to say the least. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DelMarRealEstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The hotel is not in a good location. It is 8-10 blocks from the Cathedral and the historic center of town, and in a run down neighborhood. Upon arrival, I asked for a quiet room and they put us on the street. We need to go down and insist we be placed in a courtyard, and then to get that we had to be on a smoking floor. The staff is not knowledgeable about the surrounding areas, buses, tours, etc. As we are trying to go to sleep there are teenagers running through the hotel screaming and riding the luggage carriers. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolee1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I specifically chose this hotel for it's location and claim to have wireless internet in the rooms, since I had lots of work to do online.
The first room they gave me had no connection at all; and after some persuasion, the router was reset and internet was obtained for 5 minutes, then stopped again. I asked again, they reset it again, and it stopped again after a few minutes. I explained that it was important for me, and reluctantly they moved me to a room on a lower floor that they assured me was fine (different router). Same problem.
The receptionist had nothing to say at all; just looking away when I asked what could be done about it. I requested a refund so that I could move to another place, (I had not used anything at all in the rooms), but she looked sheepishly away and talked about calling a technician later that evening.
I did not get my refund, not did I get any working internet, and spent most of the day in a cafe down the road to get the work done.
If they had even acknowledged the problem it would have helped, but they seemed to find me an inconvenience, rather than trying to help. They could have offered a refund since I had not used the room, and there was plenty of time to get another booking; but they refused.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights. It was no bad at all. The room was clean. Around the hotel, there are 3,4 convenience stores and also bar and tacos shops. It was good.
Only bad things are the breakfast in the hotel (we tried it at the first day) was not so good and a little expensive and there was no refrigerator in the room and no self-laundry in hotel. But everything else is fine. It's about 15-20min work for central. The location is fine.
The hotel call taxi for you when you go to the airport and it's 200 pesos.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitsch-packer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
4.4 mi away
Aurea Hotel and Suites
Aurea Hotel and Suites
#25 of 128 in Guadalajara
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#21 of 128 in Guadalajara
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#30 of 128 in Guadalajara
363 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
#34 of 128 in Guadalajara
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#26 of 128 in Guadalajara
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casino Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casino Plaza

Property: Hotel Casino Plaza
Address: Calle Pedro Moreno Downtown 726, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#14 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#25 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casino Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our facilities are new and pleasant. With all the services four star hotels include and friendly and professional personnel. Located downtown Guadalajara near the two most important avenues of the city, so that in a short time you can arrive to the place you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casino Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing