We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sweet home but better”
Review of Casa Vilasanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Vilasanta
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home sweet home but better”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Casa Vilasanta is the most beautiful and comfortable places I've stayed at. The central common area allows guests to visit and become friends. The entire property is decorated and kept just a beautiful as can be. It is centrally located and a quick walk to downtown shopping and cathedral areas. I'm a white female and felt safe walking all over town by myself during the day. I took the subway and buses by myself as well. Hostel staff are super friendly and always happy to help.

A slightly negative note: some of the rooms sare pretty dark and our bathroom has mold on the ceiling.

An open, fully stocked large kitchen, allows you to cook your own meals. Laundry facilities upstairs.
This would be a fantastic place to live while going to school as many others were doing. A person could easily call this home and I'm sorry we had to leave after only a few days.

Room Tip: They're all beautiful but if noise would bother you, ask for an upstairs room at the far end. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    29
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
31
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Though not the cheapest deal in terms of dormitory bed (among other cities in Mexico), the dormitory bed provides standalone bathroom and room cleaning service everyday. The wifi is also strong. Please note that there is no breakfast provided in the deal.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chihang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This review is long overdue, (we stayed in March 2011) but I still remember being impressed. Loved the character of the this place. From outside it's jus door along a white wall, but inside its colorful and warm. We arrived early morning from a red eye flight, and they let us check in right away, to get some sleep for a few hours before meeting our friends. We were only 2 people, reserved one bed, but they gave us a large room with one queen and one twin bed on the first floor right at the entrance, high ceiling and ensuite bathroom. Room and bathroom itself was adequate, but the sitting area outside is what impressed us the most. Our friends had a room upstairs, much smaller but way more modern looking, newer and updated I suppose, opposite of our room, but not complaining, it was just interesting to see two different styles, one old and original to the building, and the other appearing to be newer addition, both nice and adequate, considering we only paid $20 a night for our room. But since our room was located on the first floor near the entrance, im assuming theirs was much more quiet. i slept with earplugs but still heard noises in the AM. Nice area on rooftop. There was also a kitchen and nice dining area, we never used but just walked by to check it out. there was drinking water available in a cooler when we stayed. Overall would definitely stay here again when visiting Our friends in Guadalajara

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLIFE00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

this casa is great, a nie teras on the roof, well organised kithen, big fridges to store your things, wide rooms with TV, aircondition and everything, internet everywhere.
and very friendly and helpful stuff. to walk 10 min froms downtown
this is the perfect place fo visiting guadalajara, a city that is worth to visit.

Room Tip: chose the room upstairs, they are during the day more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basel_Number_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over the Christmas holiday and had a great stay. We arrived in the city at 7am in the morning and made our way to the hostel to drop our bags off, to be told that we could already check in to our rooms. This was a very pleasant surprise as we were tired after an overnight coach trip. From then on the stay was perfect. Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, powerful shower and kitchen facilities to make our own food if we wished.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a fantastic time there! The stuff is really very helpfull and friendly, they making your stay easy. Great kitchen, good rooms, fantastic chillout area and a "rooftop" terrasse with even sunbeds... You can wash there, have Wifi and TV's. The rooms are nice and clean! Great place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyMusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Casa Vilasanta is a Cozy Hostal centrally located in the center of Guadalajara and within walking distance to many of the sites the city has to offer.I found that each guest was treated with the utmost respect and courtesy; From the time you check in to the time you check out the staff always greeted you with a warm smile and prompt attention to fix any issues.

Rooms: The rooms were Bright,spacious,basically furnished with a comfortable bed,desk/drawers. Cleaned on a daily basis and sheets were changed every 2 to 3 days. Towels were provided and a lock for valuables if you didnt have a lock of you own. Bathroom with Hot water shower (most of the time). Wifi was available in most rooms for free.
The only con I can think of is that rooms did not have phones ( If thats important to you).

Common Areas: a Big airy Living room with Free amenities such as a Cable TV couches,chairs,tables with plenty of options to sit down and eat, read, write, Free Wifi, 3 computers internet enabled, Kitchen for cooking, Fridge to store food, Use of Laundry machines, Rooftop sun deck.Its great place to hang out with other travelers. The atmosphere was quite pleasant and had a wide variety of guest of all ages/nationalities. Casa Vilasantas seems cater to most types of basic travelers.

The location is quite good with plenty of options to sightsee,dine,buses,taxis,subway and it felt safe at all hours. In my opinion Casa Vilasanta is one of the best budget options in Guadalajara with amazing staff and a Home away from Home feeling.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jc22ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.7 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.2 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#21 of 128 in Guadalajara
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#14 of 128 in Guadalajara
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#29 of 128 in Guadalajara
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vilasanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vilasanta

Property: Casa Vilasanta
Address: Calle Rayon Street 170, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Casa Vilasanta 1.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Casa Vilasanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing