We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location, Fun Property”
other travellers have booked this property
Spectacular Living Room
Bienvenidos!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Living Room
Bienvenidos!
Cozy Living Room with 5 French doors that open to Plaza San Fernando Plant filled stone staircase to courtyard, kitchen, living room and guest bedroom, and bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Spectacular Living Room
Bienvenidos!
Cozy Living Room with 5 French doors that open to Plaza San Fernando
Plant filled stone staircase to courtyard, kitchen, living room and guest bedroom, and bathroom
Luminous courtyard filled with character and charm
The Peristyle.... a truly magical spot!
Relaxing corner for breakfast or lunch
Enjoying the Peristyle at night with a nice glass of wine
Cozy master bedroom with new super comfortable king size bed. You might never want to get up.
Colonial style master bedroom overlooking a lovely courtyard
Master bedroom with ensuite bathroom. Wake up in the morning to chirping birds & church bells
Sunlit master bathroom filled with plants and gravitas.
Lovely 2nd Bedroom with view to Peristyle
Detail of 2nd Bedroom
Magnificent Roof Top Terrace View with more that 100 plants
Under the Pergola in the Roof Top Terrace
Cheers!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Guanajuato, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Steamboat...
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great Location, Fun Property”
Reviewed 26 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

La Malaguena, situated above Plaza de San Fernando, is a perfect location for walking excursions in Guanajuato by day and festive, cultural events in the plaza by night. The house is unique and interesting, the staff is helpful and informative, and the views from the rooftop terrace are fantastic. Each night we enjoyed margaritas on the terrace while listening to guitarists play and sing with crowds of locals gathered in the plaza and then serenading through the adjacent callejones. Bring ear plugs if you want to sleep before about 11 p.m., but things quiet down quickly after that. La Malaguena offers a unique and authentic lodging experience in Guanajuato.

Date of stay: November 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bedroom configurations
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Reviewed 21 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Date of stay: October 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KristiArm
Tyler, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautiful accomodations, fantastic service!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011

If I get a chance to return to Guanajuato, and I hope that I do, I am staying at La Malaguena, hands down. This is a most incredible house, most wonderful location - central to everything! It was spotlessly clean, absolutely beautifully decorated, and Lorena, who manages the house, served as our (delightful) guide for two straight days! She showed us parts of Gto that we would never have found on our own, special things that insiders know. She took us out into the country side where we ate a restaurant where the Gto families eat on Sundays - wonderful! We went to a pottery shop off the beaten path - what a treat! Etc, etc!

A couple of things you should know about the house: a spiral staircase leads to one of the bedrooms. Not something a person with bad balance wants to attempt. A third bedroom has steps to it that are rather oddly made - slightly smaller than your feet, not something that young children or grown ups with bad balance will want to attempt. There is a bedroom on the main floor that has a bathroom close by, which would be the option for the two groups I have mentioned.

The patio and upper deck are something out of a movie - spectacular.

All in all: If you are going to Gto, you owe it to yourself to stay in this house - you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 26 November 2010 for a stay in October 2010

Date of stay: October 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Date of stay: September 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CMLN
Raleigh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed 23 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010

My wife and I are renting more when we travel these days. We find that we simply have better accommodations that way – larger, quieter, more personality, etc. On our second trip to Guanajuato, we decided to rent instead of a hotel, but we still wanted to be near the city center. I found this property listed on TripAdvisor and booked it for 5 nights. Maria, via email, made the entire rental process easy. The house was exactly where we wanted to be (Plaza San Fernando is both lovely and active with several cafés) and we'd have an entire house for the same price as a hotel. What we didn't expect was the house itself. I can't describe what a gorgeous property this is. The rooftop garden/terrace is worth the stay alone.

Lorena, the property manager, is personable, helpful and always a phone call away. Her English is excellent, so we had every confidence we'd be taken care of if any problem arose.

Note: Although there are three bedrooms, one is more like a day bed area off the living room and under the creaky wooden floors of the master bedroom above. Another is basically a loft (with walls) above the kitchen, so sleepers must go downstairs and through the dining room to get to a bath. Bedroom-wise, the house is perfect for 2 in the master suite and good for 2 more in the loft bedroom. Anyone in the third bedroom had better sleep very soundly. Also, ground to roof, this house covers 3 floors, including a spiral staircase, so anyone who has trouble with stairs should probably stay elsewhere.

We had several friends staying close by and found the house perfect for entertaining a small group.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return.

Date of stay: September 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham NC
Reviewed 7 October 2010 for a stay in August 2010

Date of stay: August 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Architecture and location
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.