We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms lack charm - great location”
Review of Hotel San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Diego
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is located right in the middle of the fun on the Jardin square. We could see the singing minstrels from our balcony! The common areas are pretty nice with colorfully tiled walls and a lovely view from the upper courtyard.

The rooms themselves lack all charm with ugly overhead lights and fluorescent reading lights. There was one very flimsy blanket - and it was freezing! Bathroom was tiny with no shelves or hair dryer. You definitely only want to spend a minimum of time in your room!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeavingSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had hoped to stay at the Hotel San Diego many nights, but left after one night. The AC did not work. The elevator was temperamental. The noise from the streets below kept us awake most of the night. Friendly staff and very good Italian restaurant in the building.
.But ???

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bogeybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The interior rooms are nothing special, actually a bit depressing for my taste as the only have a window onto a hallway that faces a courtyard, thus are dark, but quiet. The exterior rooms facing Jardin de la Union and Templo San Diego have french-style balconies. The staff warned me that they are noisy way into the night (2AM...) but the location is wonderful. Old hotel with old charm, lots of roof terraces, views of the Templo San Diego, Pipila, Jardin de la Union. Professional service, but bring your ear plugs. Left after one night to sleep in a quieter location.

Room Tip: The exterior rooms are nice, large, but very noisy, especially at night. Bring ear plugs. No AC, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaulsVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A friend and I stayed at Hotel San Diego in Guanajuato for a week in April, 2013. I have stayed at this hotel twice before and always enjoyed it. This time the rates were much higher even though Easter week was over. We had adjoining rooms on the corner of the building with balconies overlooking the central plaza( the jardin) , the church and Teatro Juarez. The rooms were adequate with excellent showers. This hotel has an elevator, something uncommon in nearby hotels. The staff could not have been nicer. They were very helpful. At night the noise from nearby bars was annoying. Bring ear plugs or go out and join the fun. The hotel restaurant did not serve breakfast. The weather was great. Guanajuato is a beautiful town. I will stay at this hotel again.

Lynn Walker, West Hollywood, Ca. "hobbleguy"

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are probably less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobbleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were so lucky to happen to be there the night of the World Championship Rally introduction. The party went all night. Noise was deafening but well worth it as we had front row seats from our balcony.. We had dinner in their restaurant and that was possibly the best lamb ribs I have ever had! Rooms were needing a bit of TLC. Beds hard. Rooms were clean.

Room Tip: Call the hotel as you are arriving by car. There is no parking so they will meet you behind the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Very loud surrounding area. Bring ear plugs. Parties and loud music and revving motorcycles right by window. Great location to see city though. Very clean. Comfortable. A hotel with character. Fast wi-fi in main lobby. Shower/bathroom window vent opened right up into public women's restroom in basement of building near garage which was awkward. Free water bottles. Expensive. Nice roof decks to view city and cathedral next door. There's also a ladder you can climb onto the rooftop and see the city lights at night which was neat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This hotel was simple but lovely. Good location and comfortable bed. The water in the shower wasn't as hot as I hoped but I love my showers steaming, burning hot so I think my expectations might have been too high =P

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Romina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#12 of 55 in Guanajuato
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#7 of 55 in Guanajuato
104 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Diego

Address: Calle Jardin de La Union No. 1 | Calle de Alonso, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guanajuato
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guanajuato
Price Range: £39 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic, tourist and commercial center of the city of Guanajuato, opposite the Jardin de la Union and few steps of the Teatro Juarez. With the best view of the city, close to the magic and mysticism with so much culture in the streets and alleys full of history. A place where you can enjoy and rest from the monotony of your routine work and commitments. Come meet us and know that we are your best choice ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Hotel
Hotel San Diego Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing