We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place if you don't mind noise”
Review of Casa Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Mexicana
Ranked #39 of 78 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The location is great and the staff very nice. Our little appartment/ suite was extremly hot. Worst of all : it was impossible to sleep before 3 AM because of the live music in the bar next door! Check the bar's program before you book!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finebouche11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Casa Mexicana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2011

Casa Mexicana is a sunny, friendly, safe hotel on a busy corner close to the center of Guanajuato. I stayed there for two weeks while attending Spanish classes at Escuela Mexicana, a five-minute walk away. My spacious room came with a big delicious breakfast in the restaurant downstairs, where In the evening it's great to relax with a margarita or a cold beer and watch the street life go by. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. Roberto, the manager, speaks some English, but everyone else speaks only Spanish, so take a dictionary if you need one. Also, there are stairs to climb -- I stayed on the third floor -- and if this presents a problem Casa Mexicana may not be for you.

Room Tip: Book ahead for a room with private bath.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RioRita33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I went to GTO to visit friends that are teaching English at the University. 4 of us stayed at Casa Mexicana. I am germ phobic so tried to put on a brave face. It was not needed. The place was very clean and well decorated. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment. I believe it was $80 a night (I had a tough time converting money and don't speak Spanish at all!). They had a water filter in the kitchen (water jug with plastic spout) but we saved on buying bottled water all the time. The room came with free breakfast every morning, coffee and about 8 things on the menu to choose from (omelets, pancakes etc). The location was close to everything. We took a Spanish cooking class at the University, went to the museum, shopping and one evening went to the symphony. We were there Thanksgiving week so it was jeans, walking boots, sweater and scarf both at night and during the day...although 1 day I was in shorts.

The only negative is that water pressure is non-existent, some bathrooms you have to but the toilet tissue in a basket near the toilet and next door there is a techno club next door that goes until 3am. Earplugs are a must! Also if you come earlier in the morning, the office didn't open until 8am so I had to wait in the open air lobby for 2 hours before I could check in. I would suggest specifically having somewhere there waiting for you or dropping off your bags and going to a nearby cafe for coffee and a bagel.

But I do recommend this place due to its proximity to everything and cleanliness. Also there was free wifi so I had my iPad and I was set.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Casa Mexicana is well located around the corner from teatro Cervantes and only a short walk from the central plazas and cafes. It is very clean and nicely decorated, however the communication is lacking. I was originally told that both a room with private bath and a shared one were available. When I got there I was told there was only a shared one (not a big deal as I was the only guest on that floor, I think) but it was clean and had lots of hot water. Also their website shows a kitchen and lovely rooftop patio. I was told there was no kitchen not even anywhere to make coffee. Also the rooftop was in total disarray as they are renovating and painting. But the price was great....only 150 pesos..and this was during Santa Semana! Casa Mexican also runs a language school and the other guests I met were taking courses. This seems to be their main focus right now.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escuela M, Community Manager at Casa Mexicana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jenaro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escuela M, Community Manager at Casa Mexicana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beatebratschek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escuela M, Community Manager at Casa Mexicana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 78 in Guanajuato
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Dante Hostel
Casa de Dante Hostel
#1 of 66 in Guanajuato
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bonanza Posada
Real Bonanza Posada
#38 of 78 in Guanajuato
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hospedaje Casa los Manzanos
Hospedaje Casa los Manzanos
#15 of 78 in Guanajuato
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Son de los Santos
Al Son de los Santos
#12 of 78 in Guanajuato
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casona de las Aves
Casona de las Aves
#46 of 78 in Guanajuato
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana

Address: Avenida Sostenes Rocha # 28, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range: £35 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing