We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine historic place with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hosteria Del Frayle
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fine historic place with character”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Walked in without a reservation (was not high season, mind you) and I got a huge room facing the main pedestrian street in front. Felt like I was staying in a historic monastery or something, very unique place. Facing the street did result in a fair bit of noise but being a rainy winter off-season couple of days, there wasn't a lot of partying going on anyway.

It's an old property and looks and feels old (including in the rooms), and this aged character can be both a plus but in other ways a negative.

But if you can get one of the big main rooms facing the front street, it really is a unique place with character and a perfectly fine choice in which to enjoy this amazing town.

Room Tip: Facing the street are larger with more character; Rooms on the inside or back are smaller but quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mezaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    51
    50
    18
    18
See reviews for
33
56
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I must give Senor No credit for changing our small, dark interior room for a larger one at the top of the hotel. It had a balcony opening on to an interior courtyard which was an adequate source of daylight in an otherwise dark room. The housekeeping staff was great except they couldn't make up the room any other way than standard--and that wasn't what we wanted. Anything we asked for at the front desk, Senor No would deny us. It wasn't pleasant. The woman who worked the desk was very nice but her English and my Spanish weren't up to the task. Our room was at the back of the hotel, high up so that the noise from across the street wasn't a problem. What was a problem was the high school graduating class trip booked into the htoel, lots and lots of teenage shrieking and yelling. Senor No would not do anything about it. I finally told the students that if they continued to be noisy, I would call the police. They completely quited down. Noisy teenagers are not a problem when their noise is outdoors. The hotel is in a perfect location at the heart of downtown. The restaurant attached to the hotel is the best.

Room Tip: Remember if you get a room at the back of the hotel, you may have to cross the open courtyard in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIDSKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltillo, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

It is a clean OLD hotel with different rooms sizes. We stayed at the 113 (2nd floor) and it was clean but old and small.

The hot water took 10 minutes to get to the shower, besides the waste, it is not comfortable to wait that much to take a shower.

Stay here if you want to spend all day walking around town, want to be close to the action but not in the middle (the bar in front was noisy but wasn't terrible in my room).

Don't stay here if you want a romantic weekend.. you won't get it. It is a good place to sleep, take a shower and get back to the street.

The price was reasonble as we stayed on the peak season, $1000 pesos / night (Independence Day, September the 15th). All the hotels in the downtown area, should be similar, as the buildings are very old and the restorations are minimal, mainly on the front and public areas.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband & I pulled in on our motorcycle, we were hot and tired, the hotel could not have been more helpful. The cost, 700 pesos, was more than we wanted to pay but the location was perfect.
As with alot of the older hotels in Mexico, getting to the rooms can be a bit of maze and lots of stairs. We had the staff show us several rooms before making our choice. The room was huge, the bed was fine. The bathroom was OK, we were grateful there was a window in the bathroom.
Considering how old the hotel is, it could use a some freshening up. I would have liked to have given a higher rating for cleanliness but without the hotel doing a reno I don't think it's possible. The cleaning staff did a great job considering what they have to work with.
The location could not be any better.
Before travelling to any cities I always check the reviews on TripAdivsor and I read reviews taking about the noise, so I was sure not to get a room facing the main street. Our room was in the back of the hotel and noise was not an issue at all.
Thank you to all that post reviews, it makes our travels just that much easier.
We will return to this beautiful city but because of the cost of this hotel we would not return as there are much better deals, especially on walk ups.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same price so ask to see several rooms before making a choice. There are some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights,the room was shabby the carpet filthy.The bathroom was tiny with poor water flow.The noise from bars including a karaoke bar directly opposite the hotel was terrible and went on till 4am.If you have an interior facing room the bar noise is bad plus you can hear people coming and going and the staff on reception. The only good thing about it was the location, I DO NOT recommend this hotel and would never go back.

Room Tip: there aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guanajuato hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We decamped from the Posada Santa Fe to this place in search of something not so over priced or noisy. This was it. It's in a great location, just down the street from a main square and the beautiful theatre. It was nothing super flash, but suited us fine. We had a tour around the place since there were few other people staying and each room is quite different from the rest. Some were fully interior and would not be that nice, whereas others were lovely. Our frends stayed in one which opened to an interior courtyard - a perfect place for us all to sit while their child was asleep inside. There were some other common areas (nothing fancy - just a chair or three and a table) around the hotel too which were great to have a quiet moment with a book. There's a nightclub across the road so if you are bothered by noise avoid the otherwise gorgeous looking rooms above the front door - our rooms were back a bit and we were fine.

While the hotel did have some character, the rooms were nothing special. No air conditioning, but they did bring fans and it did not end up being too hot. No fridge either. The bathrooms were rustic, but fine. There is a restaurant downstairs where we enjoyed a drink and some live jazz, but didn't eat there. The menu looked good though. There are loads and loads of food places nearby so you won't go hungry. They did arrange for our car to be parked at a local parking building, this worked for us.

We enjoyed this place because it offered what we thought was good value for money in central Guanajuato (800 pesos per room per night) and would go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Very, very quiet, since the adobe walls are reportedly five feet thick, the Hosteria del Frayle has modest rooms clustered around courtyards and lightwells. Built as the Casa de Moneda in 1693, the bathrooms are obviously add-ons, but perfectly functional. Staff is friendly, though little English is spoken, so some basic Spanish is helpful. The attraction to this hotel stems from its location about 50 steps from the main plaza, a tree-shaded triangle with restaurants on two sides and the Teatro Juarez and a church on the other. Behind the Teatro is a funicular railway that leads to a mirador above the town. The view is breath-taking. Try going up in the late afternoon and then again in the morning for different photo opportunities. Caution: Your taxi driver will have to drop you behind the Teatro since Sopena is a pedestrian street. It's about a hundred metre walk to the hotel and there is no elevator, so you may have to haul your luggage up many stairs. The hotel has a restaurant, but there are dozens within walk distance. Virtually everything of interest is within easy walk distance. An amazing city straight out of the 17th century.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Magica Hotel
Casa Magica Hotel
#26 of 55 in Guanajuato
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 55 in Guanajuato
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real Guanajuato
Hotel Real Guanajuato
#30 of 55 in Guanajuato
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meson Del Rosario
Meson Del Rosario
#21 of 55 in Guanajuato
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Del Frayle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Del Frayle

Property: Hosteria Del Frayle
Address: Sopena 3, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Del Frayle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hosteria Del Frayle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Frayle Guanajuato
Hosteria Del Frayle Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing