We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad times at Castillo Santa Cecilia, Guanajuato”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Los Angeles, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad times at Castillo Santa Cecilia, Guanajuato”
Reviewed 2 October 2008

The hotel from outside looks absolutelly fabulous. A medieval castle in beautiful Guanajuato, Mexico.
Once you check in, the problems start.
1) if you choose the top rooms with the best views, you will also discover that there's no elevators . So be ready for a good four flight of stairs.
2) There's no breakfast included. and the breakfast service at the restaurant includes canned milk and day old bread.
3)There's no air conditioning or heating for that matter.
4) Good luck with hot water, which as far as I am concerned works randomly...
5) Be ready for dirty carpets or old furniture,
6) The hotel don't even has business cards in case you need to call them from outside.
7) And when you check-out they even fail to provide you with a receipt...
In another words save your money and check into one of the many nicer (and cheaper) hotels in beautiful downtown Guanajuato.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank gustavoBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    72
    70
    58
    76
See reviews for
142
78
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We stayed 2 nights here early June. Whilst we were travelling to the hotel a relative phoned ahead re the price which we had seen on the internet and it was confirmed. However when we arrived they intended charging rack rate. After much discussion we came to a compromise but more than we were hoping for. The girl on reception was very nice but the decision wasn't up to her.

The room had definitely seen better days. The carpet was old and frayed, the bedding was clean as was the bathroom but the overall feel was just a bit grubby plus a slightly odd smell. As I said it had just seen better days.

Little things too, like not enough towels ever left in the bathroom so had to ask for more, no toiletries on check in, not even soap and absolutely nowhere to hang towels to dry, not even in the bathroom. Bedside light didn't work, nor the safe and drawers not cleaned out between use.

Breakfast in the restaurant was Ok as was the one evening meal we had (but little choice)

All in all a very disappointing stay.

  • Liked — Parking
  • Disliked — Standard of the room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank WellTravelledHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guanajuato hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

It was so neat to be driving along and then all of the sudden there is this big castle! It was very exciting to stay in a place that felt so authentic, almost like out of a storybook. It was fun exploring the grounds and it was fun taking pictures. One of the drawbacks was that it was dark and dank, probably how it felt for people in historical times who were living in castles, so it was cool on the one hand getting the authentic feel, but on the other it would have been nice if we had a better window (ours opened up to a hallway) and maybe some climate control. I wouldn't have minded if it was under $100 U.S. dollars, but since it was higher, my expectations were a little higher. It was still a fun experience and I am glad we got to stay at the castle. We did not dine there, so we don't really know how the service was or the food, but we did explore the grounds and there was a chapel on site and lots of stairs! It was a fun adventure!

  • Liked — It's pretty cool to say that I've stayed in a castle!
  • Disliked — Our room was dark with no view.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2007

I had a wedding at the Hotel on July 14th and must say there are many things to comment on it. First of all, the place is just beautiful and the grounds in perfect shape. According with some people, the administration of the hotel had changed just recently and there are some things already improved. I read previous reviews on this hotel and was concerned especially about the cleanliless and must say we have no problems with it. It seems that carpets, bed and bad clothing had been changed recently and they look in good shape. Main complain was service: Restaurant La Cava at the hotel was soooo slow that we had to get up to get waiter's attention, our check or food waited for long time. Room Service was extremely slow too even for some Quesadillas. The surprise was at the Wedding, which took place at the hotel facilities, as it seems that having the bridal couple behind the Hotel Manager was successfull since the service was impeccable. Hopefully the new administration continues improving on many things because this is a beatiful place to stay at and what the Hotel offers should be equal to their rates.

  • Liked — Great view and grounds
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank china_12Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

In May 2007, we stayed at the Castille Santa Cecilia. It is has a beautiful view of the city and is an interesting place.

There are some drawbacks. If you don’t speak Spanish, there is a communication problem at the front desk. There was never anyone there who spoke any English or who made an effort to find out information for you. The answer was always a shrug and “I don’t know.” (in Spanish , of course)

The hotel and grounds were obviously old, but no one at the hotel could tell you any of the history. We finally found out the age and history of the building and walls at the visitor’s center in downtown Guanajuato. According to the guy at the visitor’s center the walls and buildings were built in the 1600s around the silver mine to protect it from bandits. In the 1940s, it was turned into a hotel. Was that real hard for the hotel staff to remember!

The thing that troubled me the most was the flag display at the entrance gate to the hotel. Flags from many countries were displayed on the castle walls. The flag of the United States was displayed upside down (a distress signal / a plea for help).

I found the people in the area very nice and helpful. It is obvious they are not ignorant. The display of our flag at the hotel was done on purpose and was a dishonor to our flag and country. No manager could ever be found in order for me to complain.

  • Liked — The large, spacious room and decour.
  • Disliked — Lack of information provided by the staff.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DOCHOLLIDAY33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colima, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2007

If you go to Guanajuato dont even think about this hotel. From the outside It may look great, but when you are in you just want to get out ASAP!!
I went to Guanajuato for a Wedding, when we were cheking in we told the front desk lady, quote "We want a room with a beatuiful view"... when we got there, I opend the window and guess what we saw.... A wall just a feet from the window!!!...
We had many more problems, but the worst is tahat i forgot at the hotel a pair of new shoes... Iacalled the hotel to ask them to send me the shoes home. After the deposit I had to call like 8 times so they send me the shoes home... after 3 weeks, the shoes are still at the hotel... and they still have my money in their bank account, their answer is the same every day "today we´ll senfd you the shoes"
STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!

  • Liked — nothing!!
  • Disliked — no words
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ALGUVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman Governorate, Jordan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2004

This hotel is very disappointing, from the smell, to the service to the restaurant, staying here was more of a hassle than a pleasure. We received cake that must have been 2 weeks old on room service. There is no remote control or hair dryer. Even though we had a suite, they would not put a small extra bed for our son in the living area (couches are more like benches). I tried to receive a fax from the states at the hotel for 5 days without success. I was given 5 different numbers from which to receive, none of which worked. The reception staff would not take a message for incoming friends, who had a reservation, which prohibited us from meeting up with our friends for an extra day. The whole experience had potential but failed miserably.

Helpful?
31 Thank salabarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.8 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Real Guanajuato
Camino Real Guanajuato
#39 of 56 in Guanajuato
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Plaza & Convention Center
1.8 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
482 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel

Property: Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
Address: Calle Camino Antiguo a Valenciana 1 | Col San Javier, Guanajuato 36020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Santa Cecilia Guanajuato
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing