We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana
Ranked #8 of 73 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful inn”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

What can I say was the best of casa estrella? -- has to be the warmth of the staff and their commitment to make one feel at home. A close second was the physical beauty of the inn - -the breathtaking view and the quality of the accommodation.

We took our bichon frise puppy Lexi with us -- and she received extra special treatment from all.

Room Tip: we stayed in the large room on the lower level by the swimming pool (the san bernabe suite) -- it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walter1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
74
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Casa Estrella is a stunning, small hotel overlooking the picturesque town of Guanajuato. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, which made our stay even more enjoyable. Alicia and Angelica make the most amazing Mexican breakfasts (be sure to ask for enchiladas de pollo! or huevos a la mexicana). Janet the general manager made sure everyone was happy and had what they needed at all times. I will be coming back very soon, but on vacation next time! Thanks to all Casa Estrella, including Edith, Adan and Javier.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Estrella for three nights in February 2012. Guanajuato was one of a selection of colonial cities we visited and by the end of the trip, our favourite city.
Villa Estrella is located on a hill and is just a short and inexpensive taxi ride to the city centre. For people who appreciate rooms with views, this B&B certainly delivers. Villa Estrella is an architecturally and structurally impressive building. Although the design and decor are elegant and carefully conceived, the ambience of the hotel is personal and helpful.
The breakfasts typify the hotel's approach to hospitality. They are served in different locations (dining room, living room corner, patio), depending on the number of guests and the weather, and the presentation and food are an appealing mix of Mexican, European and American influences. Everything about the rooms, grounds and service is high end, delivered with professionalism and warmth.
Guanajuato is a visual delight. Located in a steep river valley, it is city of narrow, twisting streets, subterranean tunnels, majestic Baroque churches, pastel painted houses, charming and intimate plazas, cobblestone streets, and museums with stunning, and sometimes grotesque, wall murals that depict the country's history.
Guanajuato is a city for walking and there is plenty to see and savour. When your legs tire, ask Janet (our excellent host) to arrange a driver to take you to a silver mine, pottery studio, hacienda garden and/or the mummy museum.
Guanajuato is a romantic, enchanting and intriguing travel destination and returning to Villa Estrella at the end of the day brings a fitting closure to the pleasure of exploring such a jewel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Casa Estrella is a beautiful 'boutique' hotel without the pretense. It is a beautiful well appointed hotel. The hotel markets itself as a B&B. It's much more than that. The staff was caring, attentive and talented. I'm not a breakfast person. But every morning the chef presented Mexican breakfasts that were fresh, beautiful and oh so delicious. I became a breakfast person every day of my stay!!!

Make sure to stop and meet the Manager Jan. She's a treasure alone, with great advice and suggestions to make your trip fun filled or laid back.

The views are spectacular. The town of Guanajuato is historic and inviting. For the adventurous there are daredevil downhill mountain bike runs. For the less adventuous theirs great shopping.

I came on business but I'll be back for simple joy next time.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views. The Casita is a house unto itself with great views from each bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our 5 day stay at Casa Estrella was truly beyond our expectations. Our enjoyment of Mexico and Guanajuato was greatly enhanced by the beautiful grounds and comfortable living space of this Bed and Breakfast. Our host Janet was gracious. The staff was friendly. The food was delicious. Our living space was comfortable. Janet went far out of her way to arrange guides and give us suggestions for our travels. We felt very safe. The view from Casa Estrella is breathtaking, as it is perched atop a hill overlooking the city. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the house. This is definitely the right place to go for a romantic getaway. My wife loved it and she started out very skeptical about this trip. I will recommend Casa Estrella to all my friends who may be thinking of a trip to Mexico.

Room Tip: Our room started with an S. I don't remember. But it was excellent. Seperate bathroom, bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I were visiting Guanajuato and wanted a hotel a bit outside of town. We chose Casa Estrella because it was in the location we wanted. When we were dropped off we were staggered by the beauty of the home, perched on the hillside with expansive views looking south across the valley and the city. The inn is a lovely home with beautiful furnishings, tile work, and gardens. We were welcomed with warmth by Janet, the manager. Our room was large and bright with a balcony looking out on the view. The city sparkled at night. The staff spoke English and made us feel welcome. We got to know Javier and Aden who were open and generous. The breakfasts were terrific. Amazing inn only 10 minutes from town.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out over the valley and the city and are lovely. The rooms on the left side are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardinVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Being a photographer, I have a good eye for beauty. So once I saw photos of Casa Estrella, I knew this was the place for my wife and I to spend a week relaxing. The Inn is located on a hillside in one of Mexico’s most historic and attractive cities. The city views here were spectacular. We had also planned to spend some time at the Inn during the day so the common rooms were of equal importance as the guest room. The beautifully arranged and well-appointed interior made the living areas equally as appealing as the suite. I spent several afternoons taking pictures of Mexican art throughout the Inn, while planning photo trips in Guanajuato. It was both calming and energizing. Sharon was very welcoming and accommodating, serving 5-star breakfasts each morning. The chilaquiles and fruit buffet were outstanding, as Casa Estrella exceeded all of our expectations. I most ardently recommend it, and just so you know, the photos on the website are nice but it’s better in person.

Room Tip: The Valenciana is hands-down the best suite in the Inn, with a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.7 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
492 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quinta Las Acacias
Quinta Las Acacias
#13 of 56 in Guanajuato
189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
624 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
#22 of 56 in Guanajuato
80 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 73 in Guanajuato
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Estrella de la Valenciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Estrella de la Valenciana

Property: Casa Estrella de la Valenciana
Address: Calle Jalisco # 10, Guanajuato 36260, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Estrella de la Valenciana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana is a hillside Mexican bed and breakfast inn that overlooks the Valenciana mine. Every one of our unique bedrooms has a view of the city and its surrounding mountains. Nestled in the heart of the Central Mexican Highlands - Mexico's "Cradle of Independence," our location is perfect to enjoy the romantic city of Guanajuato, with its underground tunnels and beautiful plazas, as well as day trips to the nearby cities of San Miguel de Allende and Dolores Hidalgo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Estrella de la Valenciana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Estrella De La Valenciana Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing